Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2013
overnight sensation is one of the finest albums of motorheads career. one of the top 5.

unfortunately though, it arrived at the very start of a commercial revitalization for the band which left it very much overlooked.

in 1996 motorhead were seemingly rediscovered and a lot of their classic 70's and 80's albums were reissued along with plenty of marketing in kerrang and metal hammer etc.so really didnt stand a chance.

at the same time overnight sensation was in the shops alongside the new issues of ace of spades, overkill, bomber etc.

this is a great album with some really great tunes. a few surprises like harmonica solos, acoustic guitar and the soundtrack song from a horror movie at the time called 'dream master' or something................ well, the song is more memorable than the film.

this album sounds very fresh and raw in comparison to many of the albums in the 2000's which followed and definitely better than many which preceeded it. the songs and production are all excellent here.

if you havent heard this album it is definitely one to pick up asap. if you have it, then leave a review!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
Great album this and one of the most overlooked in Motorhead's back catalogue. Strong all the way through with tracks such as Civil War, Don't Believe A Word, Love Can't Buy You Money, Broken and the title track being some of the best they had recorded since the Bastards album. Quality. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
One of the greatest living British Rock n Roll bands and this 1996 slam in ya face album has not even one single review??!! Oh how lazy you all are!! If you appreciate REAL music and have at least one MOTORHEAD album in your collection then make this album your second MOTORHEAD album and don't stop until you have at least 14 MOTORHEAD albums and then you will know music! This album is played hard and heavy and deserves your ears.Thankyou LEMMY!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
I have been listening to rock since 1984. Although Motörhead was already pretty big back in those days, somehow I'd never gone deep into their work. I was deep into Ozzy, Sabbath, Priest, Maiden, Metallica, Manowar while also hitting new stuff like Tyrant, S.O.D. etc. Motörhead's music, as powerful as it may be, was a bit messy for my taste as in I was not able to seperate bass from guitars from vocals and music seemed to sound too chaotic, if you know what I mean. It was all until I got this album in '96 and heard "I don't believe a word". That song hit me so well that I got the urge to go deeper into Motörhead's earler works, trying to focus and hear a bit beyond the surface. Which I did, and I can assure you that they make GOOD music, as it needs to be done and as it rarely gets done!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
somewhat underlooked by some this is a refreshing, good time rock album filled to the brim with a swagger and a great production behind it and lemmy in good voice for sure. There are some excellent numbers here and its pretty much all filler and little to no filler .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
please with cd and delivery service thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2016
sensation from beginning to The end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Very happy with the cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Tune after tune.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
the very best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99
£7.63

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)