Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time waits for Nobody Freddie we miss you a great collection
i've never felt an impact of when I put this CD in my player i was blown away in the first few seconds of the great pretender then after i came down from cloud nine and the third song came on "time" i just satsilent all the through it [and that's a change for me]i couldn't believe what i was hearing one man's voice that could make you cry. yes this collection has got...
Published on 9 April 2005 by .Richard

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, but not all as intended by their creator!
I suppose this can be classed as Freddie's greatest hits because it contains all the hits from two albums, a musical plus the one-off hits "Great Pretender" and "Love Kills"
BUT, BUT, BUT - BEWARE!!! Most of these songs have been remixed beyond recognition, and generally not to their benefit. Buy "Mr Bad Guy" for a true representation...
Published on 27 Mar 2002 by M. D. Rathbone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs, but not all as intended by their creator!, 27 Mar 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
I suppose this can be classed as Freddie's greatest hits because it contains all the hits from two albums, a musical plus the one-off hits "Great Pretender" and "Love Kills"
BUT, BUT, BUT - BEWARE!!! Most of these songs have been remixed beyond recognition, and generally not to their benefit. Buy "Mr Bad Guy" for a true representation of Freddie solo, and get the more recent "Solo collection" to mop up the rest of his hits, THEN if you still feel the urge come back to this to hear what remains.
Served it's purpose at the time as it was issued as a single CD soon after his death to help satisfy the initial surge of demand for Freddie material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time waits for Nobody Freddie we miss you a great collection, 9 April 2005
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
i've never felt an impact of when I put this CD in my player i was blown away in the first few seconds of the great pretender then after i came down from cloud nine and the third song came on "time" i just satsilent all the through it [and that's a change for me]i couldn't believe what i was hearing one man's voice that could make you cry. yes this collection has got critism for the remixing buy it to keep mercury legacy alive. "oh yes i'm the great pretender" Legends never die
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't not buy it just cos of that,, 31 Jan 2002
By 
Paul Staveley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
Yes, this is not how he intended the songs to sound (well, not most of them anyway) but these versions (almost without exception) sound massively superior to the originals. Take "Foolin' Around" transformed from boring 3 chord nothing-ness into a intricate and interesting song. "Mr Bad Guy" loses it's orchestral symphonic feel and becomes a hard rocking power-house of a song. There are a million new things to hear in all the remixes, and although they're not all better ("Time" is good but no great improvement and "Living On My Own" isn't the best) it's well worth hearing, as the original versions of the song are his vocals covering up the patchy song-writing, but this album is his vocals excelling themselves along with great backing tracks.
Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A TRUE SHOWMAN AND EXTRAORDINARY VOCAL TALENT', 29 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
'Freddie Mercury' was of course the lead-singer for the fabulous group 'Queen' that
set the 'Charts' alight for many years through much of the 70's and 80's.
'Freddie Mercury' did also however record much in the way of solo material from the
mid 80's up to his sad passing 'November 24th 1991 aged just 45.
His great vocal ability reached out to music fans of all-ages world-wide.
I remember his very public disappointment when 'Opera' singer 'Montserrai Caball'e'
didn't come over to the U.K to promote their brilliant effort 'Barcelona' 'Freddie believed
had she done so, the song would have topped the Chart, well, it really was an outstanding
song for sure, it only managed to reach number '8' in the U.K (It did deserve a better fate
in truth)
'Freddie' though pursuing his solo ambitions did of course continue to record and perform
with 'Queen'
On this album it does include several solo successes including - 'The Great Pretender'
(Chart '4' 1987' also charted again after his death) also 'In My Defence' (Chart '8' 1992)
'Barcelona' made a second chart entry after his passing reaching number '2' in 1992.-
'Living on my Own' (Charted at a low number '50' in 1985, re-entering the Chart, again after
his passing reaching the number '1' slot in 1993.
Among the other Hits on-board - 'Time' (Chart '32' 1986) and 'I Was Born To Love You'
(Chart '11' 1985) - There are four other very good tracks on-board that didn't independently
Chart.
This, a great album that portrays the true talent of this legendary artist, surely a consideration
for any collector...........as I do with all my music reviews, I play the album at the time of writing
the review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth buying, 31 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
This must be one of Freddie's best solo albums. A must for any Freddie fan, whatever age. Some of the tracks need to be listened to a few times before you warm to them. A great mix of music for the rhythm, lyrics are in some very heartfelt and all vibrate with Freddie's outlandish character and personality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Great pretend?, 11 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
No mistaking the great Freddy Mercury at his remixed best, but not the way he would have wanted this album produced. It conatains his and the fans favourites including "Living on my own. The Great Pretender, and the unbelievable Barcelona" but if you are thinking about getting this CD, then splash out a little more cash on the Solo album. Lots more of the greats and sounding just the way Freddy Mercury should be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exercises in free love - a fitting epitaph to the great man, 21 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
Terrific album by the man who made Queen tick. People talk about Barcelona and Living on my Own, but for me the song that Fred should be remembered for is Exercises in Free Love. It was something that he believed in, yet in the end it stole his life. It was so unfair. Go and buy this album. I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 8 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
This isn't Fredie Mercury, it is an album created by re-mixers. All the other members of Queen distanced themselves from it. DO NOT LISTEN TO IT! Buy "Solo" instead and hear his songs how he intended them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmm......., 6 May 2006
This review is from: Freddie Mercury Album (Audio CD)
I have owned this now for 12 years......it's a funny old album really. It has it's fair share of awful tunes: "Foolin' Around", "Your Kind of Lover", "Let's Turn It On" and I even dislike the top 10 UK hit "Love Kills". Terrible, tacky, 80s-electro-dance-disco-pop or whatever you wanna call it.

However "Mr. Bad Guy" is enjoyable and the rest are gems. Freddie's cover of "The Great Pretender" eclipses The Platter's original. That pretty much makes Freddie some sort of God in my eyes. The Euro hit "Time" is just a great thoughtful number taken from the musical of the same name. The other song taken from the musical is the even bigger hit "In My Defence", this is a powerhouse track showcasing Freddie's unreal vocal talents. The No More Brothers Mix of 1986's "Living On My Own" took it straight to the top of the charts in 1993 where it truely belonged. This is just one of the all-time classic dance tracks. Looking back now on the '86 original, Freddie had made a track perhaps ahead of it's time.....just took a little while for the rest of us to catch up!!! We all know about "Barcelona", another smash hit. Amazing piece of pop-opera up there with "Bohemian Rhapsody".

For me "Exercises In Free Love" is the reason why people should buy this album. It truely is an jaw dropping piece of music. Freddie shows off his amazing soprano-operatic voice. Freddie was the greatest singer of all time, and this haunting song proves it.

R.I.P. Big Guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ready Freddie!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Start If You Like To Hear Freddies Solo Records All on One Record Then This is This The One To Get ! Listen And You Will See Why ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freddie Mercury Album
Freddie Mercury Album by Freddie Mercury (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews