Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album
What a wonderful album this is. From the twinkling, tingling opening of the title track we move into the fantastically exuberant Rock Show and any worries you might have instantly melt away.
Already you're hooked.
The thoughtful Love in Song 'My heart cries out for love and all that goes with loving' is spookily realised through synths and water-bird trumpets,...
Published on 4 May 2004 by Mr. J. A. Smith

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Venus & Mars is alright tonight
If following Band On The Run up was a daunting task, it certainly doesn't translate on listening to this album. Recorded in New Orleans, there is a certain spirit to many of the songs that was obviously inspired by their surroundings (just as Band On The Run had been inspired by Lagos).
This to my eyes was simply an album made to give wings some quality filler to...
Published on 20 April 2003 by crozzauk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album, 4 May 2004
By 
Mr. J. A. Smith "thetoot" (Blackwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
What a wonderful album this is. From the twinkling, tingling opening of the title track we move into the fantastically exuberant Rock Show and any worries you might have instantly melt away.
Already you're hooked.
The thoughtful Love in Song 'My heart cries out for love and all that goes with loving' is spookily realised through synths and water-bird trumpets, slowly grinding its melody through a vast landscape of sound. It is a track that grows with further listening but that, despite its melody, points to the difference between this album and Band on the Run. The darkness and vastness, the more-mature sound and floating melodies of Venus and Mars to me equate to a dreamy star-filled night, spread outside your bedroom window. Band on the Run is beautiful, but never as defined in its motive (This is possibly why it is also the more accesible, popular album. It can be moulded better to your own imagination. Venus and Mars presents its cosmic-blend and your mind is set off into its spacey blackness. Though there is room for movement, it is movement primarily within this intergalactic world).
You Gave me the Answer is music-hall kitch, but sweetly honest too, even in its parody, and Magneto and Titanium Man is just great. Brilliant. It sounds so fresh now that I can imagine if it was re-released, with some kind of funky comic-cartoon video, it would be a great hit.
Letting go is grinding, guitar rock, and beats down your stereo with a mallet whilst Spirits of Ancient Egypt is another funky, slightly hazey track.
I love Medicine Jar too. Often dismissed because it isn't by McCartney, and because Venus and Mars is only usually bought by McCartney fans (Rather than, say, the general music fan), it is a stonker. A great stomping rhythmn and some great imagery.
Call me back again is an echoey stadium track, McCartney on great form vocally, and rises and rises into a great singalong grandness.
Listen to what the man said, everyone knows, and is the most poppy of any of the tracks here.
Treat her gently is sweet and melodic (Though maybe a little patronising for the elderly, of which Sir Paul is kind of one now though not so lonely) and Crossroads theme grinds us to a halt.
Overall a great album. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wings flying high!, 18 Aug 2007
By 
Donny Rob (Doncaster, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
This is a superb follow up to the much heralded 'Band on the Run' and features the best Wings line up of Paul, Linda, Denny Laine, Jimmy McCulloch and Joe English. The album, full of rich melodies, rockets to life with Venus and Mars and then into Rock Show which captures the excitement of going to a concert in the 70s. Love in Song is a beautiful McCartney song, good enough to appear on any Beatles album. We then have a follow up to The Beatles' Honey Pie in the form of You Gave Me the Answer - a fond look back at the dancebands of the 20s and 30s. Magneto and Titanium Man is an action packed track, inspired by Marvels comics.

The album continues with great numbers, including a vocal by Jimmy McCulloch on Medicine Jar. Listen To What The Man Said hits the heights as a classic 70s pop song and this classic Wings set closes with a knock out version of the Crossroads theme, which was used to close the TV programme to heighten the drama.

Venus and Mars are alright and Wings are too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars McCartneys planets of sound, 13 Oct 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
Venus And Mars is the fourth album Wings released and followed up the critically acclaimed and massively successful "Band On The Run" . Recorded in New Orleans the recording sessions saw the band expand from a three piece to a five piece with the addition of Jimmy McCulloch on lead guitar and Geoff Britton on drums .These two didn't get along though and their enmity led to Britton quitting halfway through the recording having only contributed to three songs . He was replaced by American Joe English so the album could be finished which of course it was , being released on May 27th 1975.
It received a mixed critical reception but some of that was undoubtedly backlash after the lauded "Band On The Run". Venus And Mars , like anything McCartney had a hand in post Beatles nowhere near qualifies as innovative or even especially diverse but it does contain some superb pop/rock songs . First single off the album the sprightly and hugely whistle-ble "Listen To What The Man Said" is exactly the sort of melodious monstrously enjoyable fare McCartney has always excelled at .You can quall at his over-matey manner and his irritating constant use of the Victory sign but he can write tremendous songs. Which makes awful awkward rawk fare as errr "Rock Song" even more baffling. Especially as it's book ended with the fragile, lovely but curt title track and the gossamer light "Love In Song". No word will do to describe "Magneto And Titanium Man" but bouncy , maybe effervescent , a fact that will alienate many but it's another peerless emollient McCartney moment. As is "You Gave Me The Answer" which even with its quaint vaudevillian air is superlatively melodious and enjoyable.
The album does have some variety too with the bluesy brassy strains of "Letting Go " , the jerky rhythms and spectral keyboards of "Spirits Of Ancient Egypt" ( Sung by Denny Laine) up against the distorted wha wha boogie of "Medicine Jar" ( written by Jimmy McCulloch and Colin Allen with vocals by McCulloch) and the New Orleans influenced swamp blues of "Call Me Back Again". Best of all is the way that "Listen To What The Man Said" segues into the divine ballad "Treat Her Gently (Lonely Old People)"a song which showcases McCartney's under rated vocals . Maybe too sentimental for some I suppose but the melody is just exquisite .
I think its safe to ignore the closing "Crossroads Theme" and the extra track s recorded at the same sessions and used as B-sides are two forgettable instrumentals -"Zoo Gang"(B side to "Band On The Run") and "Lunch Box/Odd Sox" ( B-side to "Coming Up" in 1980 with another track whose name escapes me) ."My Carnival " B -side to "Spies Like Us" in 1985 is more interesting , a typically up-beat and vibrant song but with an off the cuff live feel.
Along with the oft mentioned "Band On the Run" , "McCartney 2" and "Tug Of War" this is my favourite post Beatle McCartney album .A confident classy collection of pop and rock with just enough stylistic and assimilated verve to stop it getting stale or too cloying. Watching him on TV sometimes you want to slap him , or at least I do, but I repeat he writes tremendous songs. And for that I'd forgive him just about anything .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Underated, 4 Sep 2000
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
Evertone seems to slate everything Paul McCartney did post-Beatles. Why? It seems the people who do this have probably not listened to his solo and Wings stuff much. This album, along with Band On The Run, Ram, and McCartney prove them wrong. Ok, It's not as good as Band On The Run (not many albums are), however, a lot of the tracks would not be out of place on Beatles albums. For example, 'You Gave Me The Answer', although not the strongest of the album's songs, would not be out of place on the White Album (neither would Ram's "Heart of The Country"); While "Call Me Back Again" would fit into Abbey Road or Let It Be. Other stand-out tracks which are pure McCartney are Venus and Mars (although the Reprise is a bit annoying), the fantastic "Rock Show" and the joyous "Magneto and Titanium Man". If one considers the aim of this album, like most of McCartney's music, which is to produce good fun, enjoyable music it succeeds. It does not try to be profound or clever and fail like some of Lennon's music from the time, and like McCartney's role in the Beatles it is good, lighthearted pop music. If one takes a classical music cross-reference, McCartney is rather like Shostakovich - producing music that was rarely ground-breaking, but that is not to its detriment, as this album is a credit to McCartney. Fortunately nowadays McCartney's post-Beatles music is beginning to be appreciated in an unbiased manner without some shortsighted wannabe 'knowitall' coming out with the 'shot the wrong Beatle' cliché. A good album, not quite deserving 4 stars, but a good buy for those experimenting in Wings and McCartney music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'AFTER THE 'BEATLES' ---'THE MUSIC JUST KEPT ON COMING', 28 Feb 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'VENUS AND MARS' greatest-hits albums aside this is perhaps my favourite
'Wings' release, of course 'Band on the Run' and 'London Town' are pretty
close contenders.
I First bought this on Vinyl, since the emergence of the CD I've made it a
mission to replace as much of my Vinyl onto this format as it is possible do.
(I've still got all my Vinyl, wouldn't part with it)
'Paul McCartney' is perhaps one of the greatest song-writers over the past 50
years, a period that of course included the many numbers written with fellow
music-legend 'John Lennon'
I wouldn't like to admit just how many Beatles/ Wings/ Paul McCartney solo/
John Lennon/ George Harrison and yes 'Ringo' CD's and Vinyl I have.
This album has many great sounds on board for me, for instance....'Venus
and Mars' drifting into 'Rock Show' 'You Gave Me the Answer' 'Magneto and
Titanium Man' 'Venus and Mars(reprise) 'Spirits of Ancient Egypt' 'Medicine
Jar' 'Listen to what the Man Said' and 'Treat Her Gently(Lonely Old People)
among the many great offerings to be enjoyed.
This for me is quite simply one of the 'All Time Great' albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rebuilding my old collection, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
fantastic to hear this again after so many years. This and "band on the run" were the best wings albums. When Macca still had a voice, good price and arrived well packaged and quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for LP, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
This was a Christmas present bought to replace a scratched copy of the LP version which was well played over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb sounds from the 70s, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venus And Mars (MP3 Download)
the measure of an album's worth is whether and how often one returns to it just out of the desire for uncomplicated, pure pleasure. There were so many albums that sounded like this in the 70s - but they just don't cut it. McCartney's absurd level of invention sets this way above his competitors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wings - Venus and Mars, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venus And Mars (Audio CD)
Came promptly in crisp condition. Wow i have the Album but aint listened to this since i was what maybe 20 which is like 35 years ago. Its as good as i remembered but yes there are a couple of notes i don't recall or should i say recall as being better but maybe that was my youth listening. On the whole worth the money and a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars venus and mars, 31 July 2013
By 
E. C. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Venus And Mars (MP3 Download)
One of the best albums ever. Every track is very listenable.
I still have the vinyl version but downloaded this for my phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Venus And Mars
Venus And Mars by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews