Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£38.95+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The 'Band' 'Wings' formed back in 1971 with 'Paul McCartney' wife 'Linda' and former 'Moody Blues' vocalist and guitarist 'Denny Laine'
The three founder members remained in tact throughout the groups 9/10 years whilst many changes occurred with additional members
down the years.
'Paul McCartney' of course a former member of the Fab-Four, key vocalist extraordinarily talented song-writer and multi-talented musician,
who had much influence in the legendary penning of the Lennon/McCartney song-writing era.
'Linda' backing vocals and percussion.
'Wings' for me picked up where the 'Beatles' left off registering a impressive run of Chart-Entries with both Singles and Albums, perhaps
the number that remains in most peoples hearts down the years, 'Mull Of Kintyre' a massive hit both sides of the Atlantic and indeed
one of the top all-time sellers (The song is included on this edition of 'London Town' along with it's B-Side - 'Girls School' I have owned
this album since it's Vinyl-release and it's CD release)
This Album is right up there with one of the best released by the band with songs such as 'With A Little Luck' (Chart '5' 1977 UK a number
'1' in the States and Canada) - the B-Side 'Backwards Traveller' also on-board. - 'London Town' (Chart '60' 1978) along with it's B-Side
'I'm Carrying' - 'I've Had Enough' (Chart '42' 1978 a Top 30 hit in both America and Canada) the B-Side remains one of my favourite 'Wings'
tracks the catchy 'Deliver Your Children' again featured on-board this release.
Among some of the other well known and popular tracks that can be found among the play-list - 'Famous Groupies' 'Name and Address'
and 'Morse Moose And The Grey Goose'
All in all this album, as mentioned earlier is right up there with album releases such as their 'Band on The Run' and 'Venus and Mars'.....
Great Collectable for fans of 'Paul McCartney' down the years.
(I Should point out that the other London Town CD's available are considerably cheaper than this particular edition, I myself bought it
when released probably paying around £13 or so, the only track missing from the other albums available is that they don't have 'Mull Of
Kintyre' on-board....all other tracks are)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 November 2009
Well! What a surprise. This is much better than I remembered from when I bought it on LP "All Those Years Ago". Listening to it 30+ years after its release I'm really happy to report that it's another "must have" McCartney album. It sounds like fun was had making this. I've certainly had fun listening to it!
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2002
You may have heard the title track and "With a little luck" but this album has far more to offer. It definately ranks (in my humble opinion) as one of Wings' best. It's worlds apart from "Band on the run" with it's Irish folk/rock overtones (side two in particular) but by God it moves along nicely all the more for it. To me it lacks the self indulgent flavour of other Wings albums (not a bad thing), but its pure McCartney all the way. Make this album second choice after "Band on the run", then try "Red rose speedway" and "Venus and Mars", and the rest..........
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2005
Here is your review the way it will appear:
----------------------------------------------------------------
I may be a bit biased as this was the first Wings album I got into aged 14 but I will still adamantly defend it. It is not only underated but I believe contains many songs up there with the best in Paul's extensive canon. The title track is no less than a Top 5 contender from the afore mentioned canon. Superb melody, especially the "someone somewhere has to know" line. Who cares if the lyrics are a little strange? Paul's melody supercedes all this and it is simply an incredibly uplifting song. Which has not received the recognition it is utterly deserving. Up there with "Heart Of The Country" (1971) and "One Of These Days" (1980) in this respect. Maybe future generations will be more generous. "Cafe On The Left Bank" is great, particularly when played LOUD. McCartney's bass part an obvious highlight. "I'm Carrying" is simply as beautiful and moving a ballad as virtually ANYTHING he has written. And that, as you know folks, is saying something. "Girlfriend" the great song he gave to Michael Jackson, who inexplicably left out the superb middle eight which was about the highlight of the song. Michael? "I've Had Enough" is a good up tempo rocker but it HAS to be said, lest you think me totally subjective, Paul has done MUCH better than this. "With A Little Luck", the first single from the album and the eagerly awaited follow-up to "Mull Of Kintyre" is beautiful and will always have a soft spot in my book. **** what anyone else says. "Famous Groupies" is admittedly rather forgettable but ENJOYABLE all the same! "Deliver Your Children" and " Children Children" feature Denny Laine on lead vocal but are nice warm, melodic songs which hold up pretty well, not least due to McCartney's vocal harmony, something he excelled at in the Beatles years (also check out Laine's song "Time To Hide" for this, especially on the video of "Wings Over America" : "Rockshow", when will it be be released on DVD....Paul, this is an important live concert!)....anyway, back to this album..."Name And Address" is an enjoyable Elvis impersonation...but "Don't Let It Bring You Down" puts the rest of (what was) Side 2 with the exception of "With A Little Luck" into the ABSOLUTE shade...this is as dreamy and melodic and captivating as McCartney can be, with on this occasion, intelligent and (as always with Paul) optimistic lyrics to boot!! The closer "Morse Moose And The Grey Goose" is a great rocker to close the album, and in this case the lyrics absolutely reflect the imagery and mystery of where the track was recorded...On the High Seas near the Virgin Islands with more than a fair share of Jamaican tobacco no doubt. Even such a high authority as Lennon dismissed McCartney's late 70s work as well as that of Elton and The Stones as the work of "company men"....whatever that means....but I bet John was secretly grooving to this album. It is a marvellous album, made better by the inclusion of "Girls School", surely as good a rocker as ANY McCartney has produced, up there with "Drive My Car" and "Back In The USSR". YES. THAT good. And also "Mull Of Kintytre" which dull people with dull lives insist on dismissing as a throwaway. It is NOT a throwaway. It is, if you will pardon my inescapble subjectivity, a CLASSIC. The world leads songs like this...sentimental maybe...but in this case it is heartfelt and still very moving for me 27 years later. And I'm not Scottish.
44 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2007
The story goes something like this; just after it's release a journalist mentioned the fact that London Town was a weak album. McCartney didn't take this lightly and 'banned'him for a couple of years from interviews and press-conferences. After ten years they met up again and Macca admitted that London Town was indeed sh*t.

They were both wrong.

There IS some filler (as in all Wings/Macca-albums), but even the weak tracks are fun to listen to (Name and Adress, Famous Groupies). The best tracks are either acoustic (Deliver Your Children) or slow (London Town, With a Little Luck). Girlfriend is a nice, soulful track, I've Had Enough is your basic McCartney-rocker.

It sounds like a very relaxed album, most of the instruments played by McCartney and Laine (Wings were a trio again..).
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
History shows that in 1978 Wings were on the downward curve. Within two more years the band was effectively defunct. Only two years previously they were all-conquering. Mr & Mrs Macca then took a year off to drop a sprog and go a-sailing in the Virgin Islands where the early work on London Town was done. By the time of its release the musical landscape had changed. Punk and New-Wave was putting some vim and vigour back into rock'n'roll. With hindsight London Town is the sound of a band breathtakingly out of kilter with the prevailing zeitgeist. As I recall it was initially derided, then largely ignored. That is a shame because there is a great deal to enjoy here. For much of the album Wings were clearly having fun and there is a sense of joyous escapism about `Children Children', `Name & Address' and `Famous Groupies'. But there was no escaping the fact the group had again fractured with the departure of Jimmy and Joe. A very real uncertainty seeps through the performances. "Don't let it bring you down," implores McCartney in one of the standout songs towards the end of the original record. The scorching and metropolitan `Cafe On the Left Bank' notwithstanding much of the best music is in the second half. `With A Little Luck' finds a hesitant McCartney reflecting that it's going to need some good fortune for this whole damn thing to work out. `Deliver Your Children' is one of Wings' best that should have ousted the lamentable `Girlfriend' for a place on the later Wingspan compilation (the latter was written for the Jackson 5 and should definitely have been left to them - it is the low point). `Morse Moose' is unique and superb, part sea-shanty, part wig-out. If you weren't listening in 1978 then there was probably a lot of other great stuff vying for your attention and that is fair enough. But try slipping a little London Town on now, perhaps after some Fleet Foxes, and you may be pleasantly surprised.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
London Town is definitely my favorite Wings album. Why? Well, the songs are great (obviously) and they're made great by powerful and sometimes emotional melodies. One or two songs (e.g. Morse Moose and Grey Goose) are a bit strange, i.e different, but if you listen to them more then once you're probably going to like them. All in all, this album is worth buying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2004
This album is outstanding. Its reputation has been a little up and down over the years, but that's more to do with music fashion than the actual songs which are first rate. The album is melodic, sunny, chilled and essentially sounds like what it is - a stoned millionaire recording an album on a yacht. and if that's not enough - as a bonus track you get Girls' School - one of the best rockers of the decade. London Town is often the forgotten Wings Album (not the big seller that Band on the Run was, not the dog theat Back to the Egg was. Buy it - your life will be better for the experience.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2016
One of the problems with the Beatles as individuals is they didn't have an equal partners to curb their excesses in their new bands. London Town is an exemplar of this. McCartney is one of the finest rock and pop writers alive today, but he does have a tendency to give into his twee urges. The title track is a case in point. It's a good song, marred only by excessively quaint interludes, which I suppose were put in to add colour to a song that really doesn't need them. The highpoint of the album is "With a little luck", which unsurprisingly is the most Beatle-ish song. Sadly the foothills around it have few peaks, with "I've had enough", "Name and address", "Don't let it bring you down" and "Morse Moose and the Grey Goose" being the standout extras to With a Little Luck's sublime excellence. The only question between me and buying this album is, are these few sufficient to overcome the truly awful "Girlfriend", the absolutely execrable "Famous Groupies" and the leaden, uninteresting remainder. I've decided they are. This isn't McCartney at his best, but some of it is really good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2004
In common with many a Macca/Wings album, London Town has about a 60% success rate. When it's good, it's better than almost anyone else. When it's bad it's deplorable.
It starts off strongly with the soft-rock title track, and then goes into the harder-edged Cafe on the Left Bank, which is let down slightly by weak lyrics.
I'm Carrying is the kind of simple, transcendently beautiful acoustic song of which McCartney has produced dozens.
Backwards Traveller is unaccountably fascinating, and in my opinion regrettably short, although it does segue nicely into the appealing instrumental Cuff Link.
Children Children (Denny Laine's, I think) is passable, but no more than that.
Girlfriend is a relaxed, highly melodic falsetto number, an exemplary piece of Macca soft rock.
I've Had Enough is one of those anonymous, uptempo, bluesy workouts of which Macca has recorded far too many.
With A Little Luck is the certifiable Macca classic on this album. It is an astonishing recording that I believe contains the highest density of hooks ever in any pop song. It is beautiful, laid back yet tightly performed, perfectly arranged, especially at the false coda that leads to another two minutes of wonderful music...
... and is followed by an example of McCartney at his worst: Famous Groupies is a sea-shanty monstrosity that should never have seen the light of day.
Deliver Your Children (another one of Denny Laine's?) is okay, though again comes across as a bit anonymous. Perhaps I just haven't given it enough of a chance.
Name and Address: See "I've Had Enough"
Don't Let It Bring You Down is a wonderful, downbeat song, another instance of Macca at his best.
The hard-edged intro to the closer, Morse Moose, gives the impression that a good song is about to start. However, it soon descends into grating whimsy. Like Cafe On the Left Bank, this could have been enjoyable had the lyrics been stronger.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)