Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Paul's Best Albums and One of His Best Songs
I'm old enough to remember the rave reviews when 'Flowers in the Dirt' came out, and it still deserves them. As on 'Press To Play', collaboration with another talented songwriter made Paul reach higher, and the most obvious of all of these is the bitchy duet with Elvis Costello, 'You Want Her Too'. For me, that's one of Paul's best solo songs ever, up there with 'Maybe...
Published 19 months ago by Alex Wilcock

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MACCA & COSTELLO - PUTTING ON A BRAVE FACE
Paul McCartney's solo career has always been a patchy affair - for every Band On The Run there was a Wild Life - and some of his biggest hits have been the most saccarine and ropey songs (Ebony & Ivory, Pipes Of Peace, Frog chorus). Critically the 80's were'nt great for Macca. The hits kept coming but the quality of the albums and singles took a severe nosedive.
So...
Published on 28 July 2008 by Mr. Christopher J. Welch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the guv'nors, 23 Sept. 2005
By 
Malcolm Boyle (Sheppey, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flowers In The Dirt (Audio CD)
I've sat on this potential review for years, simply because I never knew if I would tire of this magnificent collection of songs.....but I haven't.
From the energetic My Brave Face right through to Motor Of Love, there simply isn't a bad track on the album, albeit that some are better than others of course.
'Married' stands out for so many reasons, not least of which is Paul's ability to couple a realistic young marital scenario, with raw musical brilliance.
Paul teams up with Elvis Costello to great effect, but rightly defends his own album by utilising the other writer's talents on just three tracks.
As someone who grew up alongside the Beatles, this reviewer is staggered by Paul's energy and enthusiasm.
We love to knock winners in this strange country of ours, but like other legends that will on long after they depart this world (George Michael, Elton John and Sting to name three other British giants), Paul thoroughly deserves his standing as one of THE songwirters of all time.
I look forward to listening to his new album......though it will have to be bloody good to match Flowers In The Dirt. If anyone can reproduce such a masterpiece.....it is Paul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what great service ordered on the Thursday and delivered on Saturday, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Dirt (Audio CD)
what great service ordered on the Thursday and delivered on Saturday. The cd was as stated and I am delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A True Return To Form, 16 Oct. 2005
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flowers In The Dirt (Audio CD)
This was a return to form for sure. Easily better than anything since 'Tug Of War' (1982) and an album which showed McCartney effortlessly producing a strong album just when us fans were beginning to worry given the fallow output of the previous 5 or 6 years. This album is miles better than 'Press To Play' which is probably the weakest solo album of them all from Paul if we're honest. And so to the album.
The lead off single 'My Brave Face' is brilliant. McCartney playing great bass for the first time in yonks. The McCartney-Costello partnership producing a great set of lyrics about lost love and how to deal with it. Nine years before this became a reality with the death of Paul's beloved wife Linda. A superb start. 'Roughride' is interesting and OK but the next track 'You Love Her Too' is a great bitter-sweet ballad duet with Elvis Costello. Not on a par with 'Rubber Soul' as one contemporary reviewer said but it is not bad at all! Then we come to 'We Got Married' the next track. It is an extremely powerful song. With a very penetrating and meaningful lyric. John Lennon would have approved. Thank you Mr Gilmour for the wonderful guitar on this track. The nearest we got to Pink Floyd meets McCartney is this track, and I would venture the best song from McCartney since 'Girls' School' (1977). 'Distractions' is charming and effective and I remember how pleased I was at the time that Paul could produce a ballad so moving as this. With hindsight it is not great but clearly superior to most of his post Wings output. But 'Put It There' is utterly and effortlessly charming. And moving. A heartfelt McCartney ballad up there with the best.
Side 2 (vinyl) opens with 'Figure Of Eight' which is great although I admit this one which sounded even better when played Live. The next one 'This One' is very catchy but has not really stood the test of time. 'Don't Be Careless Love' I have tried hard to like but.....failed so far. Weakest track on the album easily. 'How Many People' is OK, inoffensive and quite enjoybale. But rather forgettable if we are honest. 'That Day Is Done' is wonderful. Great singing and very emotional. Almost the highlight of the entire album. The closing song 'Motor Of Love' starts off as being a potential classic of sorts....but soon meanders into boredom. 'Ou Est Le Soleil?' is innovatve....and more enjoyable than 'Check My Machine' (1980) although only on a par with 'Rinse The Raindrops' (2001). In other words...pretty forgettable.
But for the first Side plus 'Figure Of Eight'and 'That Day Is Done', this album deserves its Four Stars! Best album since Tug Of War and he has struggled to match it since although coming pretty close on occasions. He toured the world on the back of this....it needed to be worthy and it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MUSIC I HOPE THAT HE STILL HAS SOME ALBUMS ..., 12 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Dirt (Audio CD)
GREAT MUSIC I HOPE THAT HE STILL HAS SOME ALBUMS IN HIM AS HE IS GETTING ON.WE LOVE HIS MUSIC.ERIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated classic, 24 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Flowers in the Dirt (Audio CD)
It's always been a mystery to me how this album didn't do better. It has some superb songs on it, very well produced and performed, and the McCartney/Costello collaboration really gives the record substance and a bit of bite. 'My Brave Face' is such a clever single, with Costello's lyrical contribution providing the song with more complexity and depth than many later McCartney compositions, and 'This One' is a simpler but delightful effort. 'You Want Her Too' brings back memories of John and Paul trading observations, and 'Distractions' and 'We Got Married' are beautiful songs that show McCartney at his solo best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great, 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Flowers in the Dirt (Audio CD)
as usual from paul McCartney, a great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Dirt (Audio CD)
Bought to replace cassette tape good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Macca's best solo cds., 23 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Dirt (Audio CD)
This cd is a real gem,i have listened to it many times since it came out in 1989 and never tire of it.Quality music indeed.Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MP3 download, 7 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers In The Dirt (MP3 Download)
The album is great, however the process of downloading seemed tortuous and frequently left me wondering if I would lose my money and have no album if I switched off my PC or logged out of Amazon. The installer did not work as expected and the instructions for installation errors were next to useless and did not identify the reason why I could not download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Dirt (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flowers In The Dirt
Flowers In The Dirt by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews