Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Under-rated
Rarely mentioned as one of the better Wings albums, this sold more copies than any apart from "Band On The Run", and it's not hard to see why. Certainly, these tracks have aged better than much of the group's back catalogue.
All five members of the 1976 version of the band perform lead vocals on the album. The two Denny Laine vocals, on the brooding...
Published on 24 Jun 2002 by Mr. P. C. Mattock

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Listen Out For the Subtle Tracks Hidden on Here
At the time this came out , Wings were at a commercial peak , I personally preferred their early '70's period , when they were raw, but more exciting . The obvious BIG HITS are here " Silly Love Songs " and " Let 'Em In" , both well known to most listeners. At the time of release I loved the "Hidden Gems" " Beware My Love " a much under rated "rocker", and " San Ferry...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by Glenn Kitteridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Under-rated, 24 Jun 2002
By 
Mr. P. C. Mattock (Pulborough, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
Rarely mentioned as one of the better Wings albums, this sold more copies than any apart from "Band On The Run", and it's not hard to see why. Certainly, these tracks have aged better than much of the group's back catalogue.
All five members of the 1976 version of the band perform lead vocals on the album. The two Denny Laine vocals, on the brooding "The Note You Never Wrote" and the bluesy "Time To Hide" are an unexpected highlight. Less impressive is Joe English's mundane "Must Do Something About It", pure filler, although, strangely, I quite enjoy Linda's quirky "Cook Of The House".
Of the Paul vocals, the two singles are so familiar they need no comment and "She's My Baby" and "San Ferry Anne" are pleasant enough toe-tappers. The two stand-out tracks on the album are the awesome six-minute epic "Beware My Love" and the heart-tugging closing ballad "Warm And Beautiful", which would be amongst the very best ballads the great man has ever written but for the awful (but thankfully brief) instrumental break.
Well worth a listen... and if you're a McCartney fan, why don't you have this already?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, effortless cool, 9 Mar 2002
By 
J. Whitworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
This album has been critisied for being a band effort, but apart from cook of the house, it really works. She's My Baby is one of the best hooks of the 1970s - hear it once, hum it always. Bewarre My Love is THE lost Mccartney classic and Time to Hide is the best non-Mccartney Wings tune. A beautiful album that sums up the overlooked talent that was Mccartney & Wings in the 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Listen Out For the Subtle Tracks Hidden on Here, 25 Feb 2011
By 
Glenn Kitteridge "Glenn K" (Cheshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
At the time this came out , Wings were at a commercial peak , I personally preferred their early '70's period , when they were raw, but more exciting . The obvious BIG HITS are here " Silly Love Songs " and " Let 'Em In" , both well known to most listeners. At the time of release I loved the "Hidden Gems" " Beware My Love " a much under rated "rocker", and " San Ferry Ann ", which is both subtle and unusual . Denny's vocals on " The Note You never Wrote " are excellent . At the time much was made of Paul sharing the vocals , some felt it was very democratic , some thought Paul could sing the songs better himself , opinions differed .
" Wino Junko " by Jimmy McCullough was nowhere as good or as powerful as the previous years " Medicine Jar " , which was excellent !
As a whole , the album has too " filler " to be a Top Wings / Paul McCartney album . After all these years , "Warm and Beautiful " both lyrically and vocally is superb ! How many people know this track ? Its worth the cost of the cd on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Warm And Beautiful, 11 Mar 2005
By 
John Heaton (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
This album was recorded hurriedly whilst in the midst of Wings' triumphant tour of the USA but it hardly shows. In fact there are so many highlights here that this album is basically up there with the best of Wings' albums. Some have argued that Paul should not have allowed other band members to sing such a high quota of the lead vocals. Well, this is pretty petty in my opinion as here we have Denny Laine's superb vocal on a great McCartney lost gem 'The Note You Never Wrote' plus his own classy contribution 'Time To Hide' which with McCartney's high backing vocals is one of the highlights of the album. Not to mention Paul's wonderful bass playing on this track. Even more so on the live version from 'Wings Over America'. How often has Paul played uninhibited and superb bass on someone else's song? 'Come Together', 'Something' and 'Old Brown Shoe' leap to mind, to name but three.
The drummer Joe English's solo spot 'Must Do Something About It' is wonderful. Glorious in its laid back feel. And guitarist Jimmy McCullough's 'Wino Junko' is an impressive follow up to his great track 'Medicine Jar' from the previous album 'Venus And Mars'. In fact letting the others sing lead on several, mostly their own tracks gives this album a sense of band identity which was missing from 'Venus And Mars'. The following album allowed Denny Laine two lead vocals. Again contributing to the overall feel of a group effort (albeit in this case amidst the departure of McCullough and English). Here though we hear Wings at their commercial peak, totally tight as a band and on a tour that was so good that Paul would and will never match it again.
Which brings us to the McCartney tracks. That is if you don't mind me skipping Linda's 'Cook Of The House' which is not too bad, but she has shown herself capable of far greater songs than this on her album 'Wild Prairie', released posthumously. To the point where 'Cook Of The House' is about the weakest track! So to Paul's. Well there IS some pretty disposable stuff here, notably 'San Ferry Ann' and 'She's My Baby', although the latter has some charm, if a little ruined by the awful 'like gravy I keep mopping her up yeah yeah' lyric.
But the remaining McCartney tracks are uniformly brilliant. 'Let 'Em In' especially is up there in the high echelons of McCartney songs. So simple. And so effective. And tuneful of course. Also, I defy anyone to criticize this wonderful lyric. After all Family is about the most important thing in Life and to hear McCartney joyfully welcoming his friends and family to a huge party is timeless in its appeal. 'Silly Love Songs' is similarly joyous and free in its positivity and the track is taken to another level by Paul's inspired, supremely melodic bass line. 'Beware My Love' is truly one of Paul's lost gem classics. And all three of these tracks work wonderfully well in concert, particularly on that triumphant Wings tour of America in 1976.
Which brings us to the closing number 'Warm And Beautifil'. A sentimental ode if ever there was one. I had this track as the first slow dance at my wedding. Unkind folk may complain about McCullough's slightly off tune solo. But this track is up there with the very best McCartney piano ballads. Paul's song (again) to Linda and his favourite on the album. Rightly so.
So this album captures a wonderful age when Wings were about the biggest band in the entire world. Song for song this may not be the strongest Wings album. But it flows so well and contains more than its fair share of the magic that McCartney is so eminently capable of. Perhaps those two words sum up this entire album in fact.
Warm. And Beautiful. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't matter..., 8 Feb 2006
By 
David Mantripp (Lugano, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
...about the rest.
"San Ferry Ann" is worth the price of the CD. Catchy, haunting, beautiful, a real lost classic.
Not many people seem to have spotted the pun in the title "Ca ne fait rien", which actually gives the key to the lyric, but never mind. Paul was often far more subtle than he is given credit for....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At the speed of sound, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
Somehow missed this when it came out and maybe didn't appreciate the single at the time, but I have it at last, it's one superb album and needs a listen - only comes second to "Band on the run".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds as good today, as when I didn't buy it back in the se, 9 Sep 2000
By 
Mr. A. J. Scott "AntonyJScott" (West Yorks England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
In the dim and distant past, when pocket money didn't run to an album, a music loving boy, bought the single but not the album. Now he's all grown up, his local stores tell him the album is unavailable. Not to fear, Amazon is here. After waiting decades, the waiting was worth it. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 70's pop, 7 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
Wings at the Speed of Sound was Paul's most democratic album allowing each of the band to front a song. It is a great example of 70's pop, not too taxing on the brain cells but thoroughly enjoyable. Let Em In and Silly Love Songs have always struck me as rather commercial but this was an age when being number one in the charts was still deemed important. My favourite tracks are Beware My Love and Time to Hide.
Well worth buying for all Macca fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just an album of two singles, 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
I agree with J Whitworth's review. This album was and continues to be underated. In its day, it was seen as an album of two singles and nothing more. I remember it well. 'Let 'Em In' and 'Silly Love Songs' were excellent singles but the previous reviewer is right - 'Beware My Love' is the lost Macca classic - in fact this track was the b-side of 'Let 'Em In' single! In those days, by 1976, DJs rarely flipped the single unlike the 60s and early 70s; so the song was lost and the album never achieved critical acclaim.

I think things are changing with how Macca's albums are being relistened to. Wings at the Speed of Sound is good. Production and mixing is clean. The remaster is excellent.

In passing, I did hear a comment that 'Let 'Em In' is Macca's attempt to do a Billy Paul 'I Can Help.' I can see why but such a comparison remains a little thin in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice songs, shame about the album, 21 April 2003
This review is from: Wings At The Speed Of Sound (Audio CD)
This album was one of the biggest selling albums of the 70's, amazingly. Released at the peak of Wings' popularity, it featured two very big hit songs that stand as the best thing on here. To say this was a somewhat bland trough that they had fallen into would be unfair as Wings had spent much of 1975 on tour, and this album simply stands as a means to give them more tour material.
Let Em In is a daft yet catchy song in which Paul namechecks most of his family, it has a somewhat hypnotic quality to it. The Note You Never wrote is symptomatic of one of the albums major flaws. Paul in trying to make Wings a "proper" band gave its other band members a vocal slot. This songs is a perfectly good McCartney song that most fans would rather have him sing. That said Denny does a presentable job with it.
Shes my Baby is another catchy pop song that hits all the right notes without actully doing much, but its lyrics are daft as any Paul has written comparing his baby to gravy?
Beware My Love is a fine mid 70's rock song with a searing vocal from Paul, and Jimmy McCulloch's Wino Junko is one of the other band members more presentable efforts.
Silly Love Songs is the best song on the album, a great melodic bass line, and some wonderful harmoic interchanges between Paul and Linda. It was a smash single in 1976 and probably the reason the album sold so well.
Cook Of The House is sung by Linda and has a 30's throwback feel to it. Time To Hide was written by Denny and the pair of songs back to back are neither bad nor good, just album filler.
Must Do Something About It is sung by the drummer Joe Englis, but it could really have done with Pauls intervention. Sann Ferry Anne is yet more filler, but Warm & Beautiful is one of Pauls finest melodies throughout the whole period.
The extra songs on the re-masters arent great, although Sally G is a B-Side that acts as a fine stab at country music, and was recorded in Nashville.
This is an album that is so inoffensive it almost becomes annoying. Its not a bad album, but there is nothing that grabs the listener. Its all catchy pop music, but as far as Pauls talents go it underacheives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wings At The Speed Of Sound
Wings At The Speed Of Sound by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews