Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the Best?
Paul McCartney first of all in my own humble opinion is one of the Twentieth Centuries greatest Musicians, Songwriters and Entertainers.

Because of this it was always going to be difficult to create a greatest hits package that would do Macca justice. On one CD there just isn't enough room to fill the man's prolific output and some of the choices made on the...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by Brawny Withed

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is the American release and as such, many of the tracks i was looking for are not included.
Uk version gets 5 stars but this is usa version and the track listings vary considerably. Will be looking for the full Uk version in due course.
Published 17 months ago by S. W. Cochrane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All the Best?, 16 Dec 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
Paul McCartney first of all in my own humble opinion is one of the Twentieth Centuries greatest Musicians, Songwriters and Entertainers.

Because of this it was always going to be difficult to create a greatest hits package that would do Macca justice. On one CD there just isn't enough room to fill the man's prolific output and some of the choices made on the disc aren't neccesarily McCartney's best songs (We All Stand Together?). Notable missing songs on this collection are; Juniors Farm, Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey and Helen's Wheels.

This is a good album nevertheless but it is worth getting Paul's other compilation album 'Wingspan' which fills in a lot of the blanks in this collection.

The song list for All the Best is;

Jet
Band on the Run
Coming Up
Ebony & Ivory
Listen to What the Man Said
No More Lonely Nights
Silly Love Songs
Let Em In
C Moon
Pipes of Peace
Live and Let Die
Another Day
Once Upon a Long Time Ago
Say Say Say
My Love
We All Stand Together
Mull Of Kintyre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest British hits collection, 18 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
None of the ex-Beatles achieved the same level of success as solo singers that they had achieved while together but Paul's solo career was very successful by any other standards. Paul recorded mostly ballads but he could rock too, as he showed with songs like Jet and Band on the run.

It is not possible to include all of Paul's hits on a single CD but all the tracks here were British top ten hits. Eleven of them made the UK top three including three number ones (Mull of Kintyre, Pipes of Peace, Ebony and ivory),while others peaked at number two. Uncle Albert / Admiral Halsey topped the American chart but, like Maybe I'm amazed, didn't chart in Britain so isn't included here.

Some UK top ten hits were left out for lack of space, including Mary had a little lamb, With a little luck (a top five UK hit and an American chart-topper), Goodnight tonight, Wonderful Christmastime, Waterfalls and The girl is mine (with Michael Jackson). Also missing are Paul's top twenty UK hits including Give Ireland back to the Irish, Helen wheels, Junior's farm and Take it away.

So it would have been easy to fill a double CD with Paul's hits but his more recent compilation, Wingspan (a double CD) missed that opportunity, instead containing one hits CD and one CD of mostly album tracks with a few hits. Nevertheless, the hits selection on Wingspan is different and the most obvious omissions from this set can be found there.

Of the tracks that are here, my favourites are Mull of Kintyre (complete with bagpipes), No more lonely nights (a superb ballad), Let 'em in, Pipes of peace, My love, Another day and his duet with Stevie Wonder, Ebony and ivory. Also worthy of note are Say say say (with Michael Jackson), Silly love songs (possibly an attack on those who criticize Paul for doing mostly ballads?), Band on the run and the James Bond theme, Live and let die.

Considering the many great tracks that have been omitted, some people will be disappointed at the inclusion of We all stand together (complete with frog chorus) but although it's not one of my favourites here, its place is justified - it was a British top three hit, after all, so a lot of people DO like it - and it's not meant to be taken seriously anyway.

Originally released in 1987, this compilation provides an excellent overview of Paul's solo music. Although he has made some interesting music since 1987 (even including classical music), it is the music he made prior to 1987 (especially with the Beatles) that ensures his place in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'LEGENDARY ARTIST' 'GREAT ALBUM', 23 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
'Paul McCartney' has continued to write and record new material for over fifty years
now, of course his career started way back in the early sixties as one of the 'Fab-Four'
when the 'Beatles' split he started out as a solo-artist and charted with 'Another Day'
back in 71' a number two-hit, this was followed up by a lower-order entry sung with
his wife 'Linda'
He then formed the group 'Wings' having constant chart success for around seven years,
before going solo again which has continued up to the present day.
Surprisingly since the parting of the ways of the 'Beatles' despite the popularity of both
his solo and 'Wing's' releases 'Paul' has only actually achieved four number one's down
the years, though of course having countless Chart -Entries, the number ones were -
'Mull of Kintyre' - 'Wings' (1977) 'Ebony and Ivory' performed with 'Stevie Wonder' (1982)
'Pipes of Peace' -Solo (1983) and in a collaboration of artists 'Ferry 'Cross The Mersey'
back in 89' the latter not included on this album.
Among some of the many great songs included on this 17-Track CD -- 'Jet' 'Band on the
Run' 'No More Lonely Nights' 'Silly Love Songs' 'Let'em In' 'Live and Let Die' 'We All
Stand Together' (The Frog Song) and 'Say Say Say' sung with 'M.J' among the track list.
This an album that includes many of 'The Wings' favourites along with several of his solo
successes down the years.
'Paul McCartney' -Prolific Songwriter' 'Extraordinary Entertainer' 'Music Legend'
This album giving an example of 'Paul's' amazing post - 'Beatles' career, certainly an
essential collector's item, especially if you've followed his music down the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most of the best (1971-1987), 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
A fairly good compilation is marred, for me, by several omissions (indeed the track listing for the US version is different to the UK version). 'Maybe I'm Amazed' and 'With A Little Luck' should definitely have been included along with 'Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsey' ~ also little gems like 'Waterfalls' should have been included.

Several tracks on this album are, in my opinion, lightweight ~ step forward 'Coming Up' (a very silly romp), 'We All Stand Together' (a novelty record) and 'Ebony And Ivory' (painfully PC). Luckily, all the classic 1970s songs are included - 'Another Day', 'Band On The Run', 'Jet', 'Live And Let Die' and 'My Love'. ['Mull Of Kintyre' is good but I've heard it a million times now!!] The 1980s material is less consistent, but, 'No More Lonely Nights' and 'Once Upon A Long Ago' are both superb ballads and worthy of inclusion here. Overall, this is a pleasing nostalgia trip and I think this album is worth buying despite some reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is the American release and as such, many of the tracks i was looking for are not included., 27 July 2013
By 
S. W. Cochrane "simon3010" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All the Best (Audio CD)
Uk version gets 5 stars but this is usa version and the track listings vary considerably. Will be looking for the full Uk version in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
Good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
Bought this second hand so it is brilliant value for money. Paul has made some good songs as a solo artist and this album has his best. I even enjoy the frog chorus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars McCartney magic, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Donald McIntyre (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
On time
well packaged
I had forgotten how much joy is in the words, and the whole album can be listened to without skipping!
I still love Mull of Kintyre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all the best paul mcCartney, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Best ! (Audio CD)
bought for my wife to replace an old vinyl lp she had excellent quality repro of the lp quick delivery never thought I would find this to replace it its never off the cd player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All The Best !
All The Best ! by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews