Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2007
For this price, you should do yourself a favour and buy two copies in case you lose one of them, it is THAT good.

This double compilation is a fantastic introduction to Marillion, particularly to often overlooked Hogarth era, which is a real shame as there are some true gems in there.

The first cd comprises material from the Fish fronted era, with their most instantly recognisable material. The style is a mix of 70's prog rock and 80's pop, with some truly magical moments.

I didn't really listen to the second cd for a while, as I was so hooked on the Script for a Jester's Tear material, and now I can't stop listening to it. The style changed substantially with Hogarth, leaning to a much more commercial yet high quality pop that still feels and sounds relevant nearly twenty years later.

Buy it!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2000
Superb introduction for newcomers to Marillion, one of Britain's best but sadly most ignored bands of the last twenty years. Many people will have heard Kayleigh somewhere before but, tragically, the same cannot be said of the rest. Buy it and discover the music of one of progressive rock's most accessible bands.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2000
Quite simply the very best Marillion collection out there, and the only one worthy of your money. The idea is simple, yet powerful; One disc features the best work of the bands powerful heyday, featuring the troubled and brilliant Scottish poet Fish. Whilst some of the material sounds slightly quaint these days, the songs still retain the magic from my younger days. The other disc features the more contemporary sounds and songs of the material written with current lead-vocalist, Steve Hogarth. The best voice in pop music. The band has changed it's sound to a substantial degree under the helm of Hogarth (or "H", as he is affectionally known as), yet there is no denying the quite excellent musicianship and emotional lyrics that have always been their trademarks.
Marillion remain the best kept secret in British Rock. Neither rock, nor pop, nor "progressive" and definately not "hip" or "in", their music is simply put rock music of the highest calibre and flavoured with touches of pop, of progressive rocks finest moments and the odd touch of soul and folk.
Still confused? So are most critics whom have never been able to put a sufficient tag on the band, and many rock fans are left bewildered by the band. I can only say that you will be well off by giving this band a chance, and this is as good a place as any.
If you have never heard any of the music, yet are familiar with the name and wonder what this actually sounds like, you will have to try and imagine a blend of Pink Floyd, the Beatles, Yes, Steely Dan, Led Zeppelin and Crowded House. If any of these, or similar bands, are to your taste, I guarantee you a nice few hours in the company of this excellent 2-disc set.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
I do agree that this is a well balanced "best of Marillion", many of their best songs do feature on this album and this is a good buy. There are some amazing songs that are not on this compilation but then with such depth and quality in material, it was always going to be impossible to please everyone. I have the first five Marillion albums from the Fish era Script for a Jesters Tear to Clutching at Straws as well as the first post Fish album Seasons End. They are all unique and are all fantastic. Do your self a favour, buy this compilation but once you have given it a listen you will then want more. Just a tip once you become a Marillion convert, buy the available remastered 2 disk Cd's which have loads of extra tracks (B sides and demo's).
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
I bought this album having only recently discovered Marillion. I'm a big fan of rock and progressive rock and this album hugely appeals to me. I would recommend it to anyone who likes classic rock or is a guitar fan in general. For me, I think disc 2 is the winner here.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2001
One can view The Best of Both Worlds as either an exercise in futility or a chance to become better acquainted with two very different incarnations of Marillion. Split up into the band's two eras, The Best of Both Worlds features 14 Fish-led compositions and 15 tracks from the Mach II lineup featuring former How We Live frontman Steve Hogarth on vocals. Truth be told, disc one features a plethora of spectacular essentials including "Script for Jesters Tear," "Assassing," and the single edits of "Kayleigh" and "Lavender." Revisiting songs like "Warm Wet Circle" and "Forgotten Son," it's easy to understand why this lot was so esteemed by their Euro audience. Oddly enough, and somewhat incomprehensibly, the epic "Fugazy" fails to make an appearance. Of the Hogarth era, the best material is culled from his debut with the band, Season's End and from Afraid of Sunlight. Everything in between is pretty iffy. This collection is obviously a quote-unquote, hit-driven compilation, so consequently, some of the better Hogarth moments like the title track from Season's End or Berlin are omitted. If you've ever been curious about the band, The Best of Both Worlds is a good place to start. For a deeper understanding, spend some time with Script for Jesters Tear, Misplaced Childhood, Clutching at Straws, and Season's End. For beginners only.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
Don't listen to the reviews suggesting that you use the second disc as a coaster, yes marillion with fish were fantastic, but there is plenty to enjoy when Steve Hogarth took his place particularly their first two albums. The first disc has the classics and you can listen again and again...... And again....... And again. Just buy it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Absolutely fantastic! I'm so glad I've got this in my collection as it's one of the best Marillion compilations ever! Sadly,they were never taken seriously which is really unfair as both Fish and Steve Hogarth were masters of their craft,and to be fair to Hogarth, it takes a lot of guts to step into someone else's shoes and make a damned good job of it.....and no review can be done without commenting on the artwork for the album covers! They are absolutely amazing! I really miss Marillion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
if i could only have one album , on a desert island , this would be the one - stunning
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2000
I'm surprised at the review below, where they put that this is the only Marillion record worthy of your money. How can this person say that and then go on to praise the band so much. Sure, this is a fantastic compilation of many of the bands most popular singles. But anybody who likes this would be really missing out if they took this person's advice and did not listen to any of Marillion's albums. By just listening to this CD they miss out on tracks like Chelsea Monday, Bitter Suite, Blind Curve, Going Under, Torch Song plus many brilliant works from the Steve Hogarth era. I thoroughly recommend this excellent CD, but if you like it don't just believe this is all they have done that is worth listening to. What about the superb live album, Made Again? Or the masterpiece album Brave?
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)