Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive sixties collection
There were three phases to Manfred Mann's career - the mid sixties with Paul Jones as lead singer, the late sixties with Mike D'Abo as lead singer and the stuff they did after the sixties as Manfred Mann's Earth Band. This compilation covers the first two of those phases and is the best single CD collection of their sixties music.

Back in the sixties, Manfred...
Published on 11 Oct. 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok.
It has lost to much in the reproduction.
Published 1 month ago by Walter Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars So Many Hits, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
A. WINFIELD (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I didn't realise how many great hits Manfred Mann had had. This is worth it if you like 60s and 70s classic pop hits/music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 9 Nov. 2012
By 
C. M. Mckenna (Not specified) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A lot of great old songs, which are worth the money. A few near the end that were just terrible, but maybe not to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Manfred Mann, what can I say, very good - it took me back in time - I knew it would that is why I bought. Great songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely!!!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was so pleased with this cd. I heard songs that I had forgotten about it brought back some fond memouries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Paul Jones stuff is miles better..., 26 Oct. 2010
By 
Terrahurtz (Kidlington, Oxon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Manfred Mann are one of very few bands who survived a change of lead singer to be as successful afterwards as they were with the one with whom they made their initial trademark sound. (Paul Jones quit in the mid 60s, to be replaced by Mike D'Abo).
They started off as a beat band (with harmonica frequently prominent) and in their later incarnation, although making some good pop songs (notably Mighty Quinn and 'Semi-detached suburban' they sound blander/much less edgy. Many 60s fans will be familioar woth doo wah diddy diddy, prety flamingo and 54321, which start the CD, but songs such as if you gotta go, go now, the one in the middle and hubble bubble toil and trouble are just as good, if not better.
Well crafted songs though most of the Mike D'Abo era numbers are, on listening I much prefer the jones stuff and wish I'd bought a purely Jones era compilation.
having said that, there's not a duff song on here and good value price too. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars manfred, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
remember getting my face washed before going back to school when a song about an eskimo was on the radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must album., 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I would advise anyone to add this album to their collection because it has a lot of great tracks on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manfred Mann Greatest Hits( CD), 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Manfred Mann was a great group from the 60s it had many songs on it that I knew when was young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Manfred Mann's Greatest Hits, 16 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
My husband is a fan and he wanted this as a present. So all good and sold at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
More memories from the great era of pop music. So many tracks - so many memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 58 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Manfred Mann (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews