Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive sixties collection
There were three phases to Manfred Mann's career - the mid sixties with Paul Jones as lead singer, the late sixties with Mike D'Abo as lead singer and the stuff they did after the sixties as Manfred Mann's Earth Band. This compilation covers the first two of those phases and is the best single CD collection of their sixties music.

Back in the sixties, Manfred...
Published on 11 Oct 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Manfred Mann for my Old Man
Bought this for my Husband and he was delighted. Not my cup of tea - I like music from this century! Generally the sound quality is good and it is good value for money.
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by MrsP


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive sixties collection, 11 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
There were three phases to Manfred Mann's career - the mid sixties with Paul Jones as lead singer, the late sixties with Mike D'Abo as lead singer and the stuff they did after the sixties as Manfred Mann's Earth Band. This compilation covers the first two of those phases and is the best single CD collection of their sixties music.

Back in the sixties, Manfred Mann had many hits in Britain although not many of them charted in America. Do wah diddy diddy (first recorded by the Exciters who only had a minor American hit with it) was a number one in both countries.

Their music was generally upbeat good-time music and could be described as a cross between R+B and mainstream pop. Given that, it may seem surprising that they covered several songs by folk-rocker Bob Dylan but the combination worked well and no doubt helped to build Dylan's reputation as a great songwriter. Manfred Mann took Mighty Quinn to the very top of the British charts and had other top ten UK hits with Dylan's songs, including If you gotta go go now and Just like a woman.
Of the other songs, Pretty flamingo was yet another British chart-topper and Oh no not my baby was originally an American hit for the under-appreciated Maxine Brown. Other songs that I particularly like include 54321, Come tomorrow, My name is Jack, Ha ha said the clown, Ragamuffin man and Fox on the run.

There are plenty of Manfred Mann compilations to choose from but this one has all the songs that matter from the sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uh-huh it's the Manfreds!, 1 Mar 2010
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Has all the hits (prior to the Earth Band years) and features both the Paul Jones and Mike D'Abo era Manfreds.
Well played, catchy sixties pop from an underated outfit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF THE OUTSTANDING GROUPS OF THE SIXTIES', 23 April 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
When we look back on the sixties and recall the groups and their music
we often overlook many, the first groups that spring to mind of course
'The Beatles' and 'The Stones'
However there was many groups such as 'Manfred Mann' that had a big
and genuine impact on the charts back then,
They exploded onto the scene in 1964 with '5-4-3-2-1' a great sixties track
that peaked at number '5' between 1964-1969 they actually achieved '15'
Top 30 entries, '13' of which were Top 10 entries three of which topped
the U.K chart, those being 'Do Wah Diddy Diddy' 'Pretty Flamingo' and
'Mighty Quinn'
Some of the other memorable tracks on board include ...'If You Go Gotta Go,
Go Now'...'My Name is Jack'....'I Put a Spell On You'....'Ha!Ha! Said The Clown'
'Hubble Bubble' (Toil and Trouble) and 'Fox on The Run'
There are notably one or two 'Bob Dylan' covers on-board which both charted for the
group including 'Mighty Quinn' and 'Just Like A Woman' both a more than
credible version of the great-song writer's numbers.
There are of course many other of their hits included on this 22-track album.
Of course, with one or two new faces the group became 'Manfred Mann's
Earthband' in the late sixties into the seventies achieving many more Chart-Hits.
This is a great reflection of the groups achievements during the Sixties Era, and
obviously worth adding to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth having!, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Jeff M. Best "J. Best" (Kenilworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
22 great tracks from one of rocks under rated groups. I'd forgotten how many hits there were until after I'd played the preview samples. The variety of songs, melody & styles makes for a great budget CD album.
Go for it - you won't be disappointed!

Jeff B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and they were brilliant, Paul Jones voice sounds just as good as ..., 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I went to see the Manfreds recently, and they were brilliant, Paul Jones voice sounds just as good as it ever was and he is now 72 . I bought the CD as I couldn't get the songs out of my head, it has all there hits on it and is great value for the price, If you loved the group back in the day then you will love this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The great stuff all included. A must have for all MM fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent R&B 1960s workout, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album does pretty much what it says on the tin; 16 of the 22 tracks are Top 40 hit singles (only the instrumental 'Sweet Pea' is absent) with the emphasis very much on the period from 1964 to mid-1966 when Paul Jones was the featured vocalist and 2 of the group's 3 Number One hits arrived ['Do Wah Diddy Diddy' and 'Pretty Flamingo']. When Jones left to pursue solo projects, the little known Mike D'Abo joined the fold for the period mid-1966 to 1969 and the hits kept flowing with 'Mighty Quinn' completing the hat-trick of chart toppers.
If you like R&B flavoured pop music of the 1960s, then I can guarantee that you will like this collection. In order to acquire more of the latter period featuring the 'poppier' vocal style of Mike D'Abo, then I can heartily recommend 'The Very Best of the Fontana Years' - an interesting album which I have reviewed in full elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great album, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I remember all the songs on this album so am able to sing along with it.
I thought this album of their songs had the best selection of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely!!!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was so pleased with this cd. I heard songs that I had forgotten about it brought back some fond memouries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars manfred, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
remember getting my face washed before going back to school when a song about an eskimo was on the radio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Manfred Mann (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews