Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voice
It's such a shame that Mario Lanza did not believe his voice was the greatest the 20th century had known. He reaches all the notes with ease, he has passion, tenderness and clarity. For me he is the greatest tenor bar none. No-one comes close. He makes me cry.
Published on 29 Jan 2009 by H. Webber

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Mother in law
Bought this cd as my mum in law loves Mario Lanza, she was really pleased with it as she did'nt think I would be able to buy it anymore.
Published 5 months ago by Trudy Cubitt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voice, 29 Jan 2009
By 
H. Webber (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
It's such a shame that Mario Lanza did not believe his voice was the greatest the 20th century had known. He reaches all the notes with ease, he has passion, tenderness and clarity. For me he is the greatest tenor bar none. No-one comes close. He makes me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Lanza - Because and others, 14 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. H. Furness (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is a super and very comprehensive collection of Mario Lanza's best songs - all the favourites seem to be here along with some good information on the sleeve. If you enjoy Lanza, you will enjoy this superb recording.

On the down side, the song list was not detailed on the web site advertisement, which is a great error - so as I particularly wanted "Because" I took a chance ordering it and hoped it would be one of the songs, and it was. With over 20 tracks, all his most memorable songs are there, inc Ave Maria and Be My Love etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album but Amazon's Track Listing is wrong, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is a great album but contains 24 different tracks from those listed in this products description. The album cover photo is correct. The recording quality on this 1994 album is very good when compared to some of Mario Lanza's other albums. Here is the correct track listing:

1 Be My Love, for voice & orchestra
2 Drink, Drink, Drink
3 Act IV. La Donna è Mobile
4 Danny Boy
5 Granada, for voice & orchestra
6 Because You're Mine, for voice & orchestra
7 Ave Maria, for voice & piano
8 Valence for chamber orchestra
9 Loveliest Night of the Year
10 Song of India
11 Parce que (Because), for voice & piano (or orchestra)
12 O sole mio, for voice & piano (or orchestra)
13 Donkey Serenade
14 Act I. Vesti La Giubba
15 Serenade
16 Funiculì Funiculà, for voice & orchestra
17 Golden Days
18 Arrivederci, Roma, song
19 You'll Never Walk Alone, song (from "Carousel")
20 Beloved for voice & piano (or orchestra)
21 Come Prima (For the First Time), song
22 Act III. E Lucevan Le Stelle
23 Santa Lucia
24 I'll Walk with God for voice & piano (or orchestra)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAYBE THE BEST TENOR OF 2OTH. CENTURY, 29 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Judith Lugg "Judith Lugg" (Wolverhampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection

This recording is truly great, showing of the great Lanza's remarkable command of the operatic and more modern genre of singing.

Poor Mario, he was exploited badly by the Holywood star mincing machine and never really believed that he had the luck to have this wonderful voice and a truly marvellous voice it was.

I was about eleven years old, I think (I am now sixty-six) when I first heard him on the radio and remember being totally and wholly fascinated that such a voice could issue from a human throat. He was compared to the great Caruso and his voice was, in fact, mistakenly thought to be Caruso's on more than one occasion.

He chose (or more likely was coerced) to go into films rather than onto the operatic stage and, who knows, if he had taken the other course, he may have lived longer and would have been able to leave us more of his wonderful gift? I do believe that, because Mario was of a naturally robust build, which incidentally made for his better singing, the pressure of Holywood forcing him to diet to look slimmer for his films, caused a lot of his health problems. He actually died from a pulmonary embolism at the very young age of thirty-seven, which could have resulted from his constant dieting having a dilatory effect on his circulation.

I remember when I heard that he had died ( I was fifteen) I felt quite devastated and found it hardly believable. What a tragedy and an unnecessary waste.

The Three Tenors, Pavarotti, Domingo and Carreras have all said that he was their idol when they first came into the operatic world; for these three greats to say this, says a great deal about Mario's heart-breaking voice, doesn't it?

Buy this recording and his others as they are all wonderful and in a lot of cases heart-rending with the sweetness of his articulation and delivery. In my opinion they have never been bettered even by Pavarotti and that's saying a lot in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of Mario's finest collection., 2 Oct 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
A superb collection of some of Mario Lanza's finest recordings. Considering some go back to 1949 - 1958, the recordings to CD are excellent. You'll never walk alone, sung as it was originally intended by the great Mario Lanza. A perfect collection for new comers or fans looking for the best of Mario Lanza. A track for every occassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest Tenor, 20 Nov 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I've bought this for my Dad as a stocking filler for Christmas. He was born in Liverpool in 1940 in what was called Little Italy and grew up listening to Mario as did all that generation.

Mario probably brought opera to America at that time possibly more so than anybody ever has to this day through his movies and music. This cd is a mixture of opera, ballads and then popular music in faultless Italian and English. The single cd that I was sent was not the one as advertised! I have been sent the 1994 release with 24 songs on and here's the list i've made from the booklet enclosed which also gives a quick history of Mario Lanza over a few pages . .

1 Be My Love, for voice & orchestra (from "The Toast of New Orleans")
Nicholas Brodszky / Sammy Cahn
Mario Lanza 3:30

2 Drink, Drink, Drink
Dorothy Donnelly / Sigmund Romberg
Mario Lanza 3:16

3 Rigoletto Act IV. La Donna è Mobile
Giuseppe Verdi
Mario Lanza 2:04

4 Danny Boy
Frederick Edward Weatherly
Mario Lanza 2:57

5 Granada, for voice & orchestra
Dorothy Dodd / Agustín Lara / Isadore de Lara
Mario Lanza 3:56

6 Because You're Mine, for voice & orchestra
Nicholas Brodszky / Sammy Cahn
Mario Lanza 3:31

7 Ave Maria, for voice & piano (after Bach's Prelude No. 1 from the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1)
Charles Gounod / Franz Schubert
Mario Lanza 4:28

8 Valencia for chamber orchestra
Clifford Grey / Sydney Hodkinson / José Padilla
Mario Lanza 2:17

9 The Loveliest Night of the Year (after J. Rosas "Sobre las olas")
Irving Aaronson / Paul Francis Webster
Mario Lanza 3:36

10 Song of India
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Mario Lanza 4:01

11 Parce que (Because), for voice & piano (or orchestra)
Frank Teschemacher / Guy d'Hardelot
Mario Lanza 2:09

12 O sole mio, for voice & piano (or orchestra)
Eduardo di Capua / Giovanni Capurro / Eduardo DeCapua
Mario Lanza 4:22

13 Donkey Serenade
George Forrest / Rudolf Friml / Herbert Stothart / Robert Wright
Mario Lanza 3:04

14 I Pagliacci Act I. Vesti La Giubba
Ruggero Leoncavallo
Mario Lanza 3:35

15 Serenade
Dorothy Donnelly / Sigmund Romberg
Mario Lanza 3:45

16 Funiculì Funiculà, for voice & orchestra (& chorus ad lib)
Luigi Denza / Peppino Turco
Mario Lanza 2:32

17 Golden Days
Dorothy Donnelly / Sigmund Romberg
Mario Lanza 1:29

18 Arrivederci Roma, song
Pietro Garinei / Alessandro Giovannini / Sandro Giovannini / Renato Ranucci / Renato Rascel / Carl Sigman
Mario Lanza 3:17

19 You'll Never Walk Alone, song (from "Carousel")
Oscar Hammerstein II / Richard Rodgers
Mario Lanza 1:57

20 Beloved for voice & piano (or orchestra)
Nicholas Brodszky / Paul Francis Webster
Mario Lanza 3:10

21 Come Prima (For the First Time), song
Mario Panzeri / Sandro Taccani and Vincenzo di Paola / Vincenzo di Paola / Buck Ram / Sando Taccani
Mario Lanza 3:27

22 Tosca Act III. E Lucevan Le Stelle
Giacomo Puccini
Mario Lanza 3:04

23 Santa Lucia
Teodoro Cottrau / Italian Traditional
Mario Lanza 3:02

24 I'll Walk with God for voice & piano (or orchestra)
Nicholas Brodszky / Paul Francis Webster
Mario Lanza 2:51

Although not as advertised, still a great cd which I'm sure he will like :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Lanza, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
What a voice! If you like to listen to powerful voices then look no further than this collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARIO, 25 Sep 2010
By 
A. Taylor (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
What can I say, it's Mario and excellent. The quality of the recording sounds 1st rate and reproduction on my rather basic system is warm and all it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a CD, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The wonderful voice of Mario Lanza brings back precious memories of my dear wife who shared my admiration for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is one of the most enjoyable CDs I have purchased. I love every track and had forgotten what a wonderful singer Mario Lanza was. I totally love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection
Mario Lanza: The Ultimate Collection by Giuseppe Verdi (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews