Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I bought this album back when it first came out, nine years ago, and back then, it was one of my absolute favorite albums.
Other records may have overtaken "Kiss Alive III" in that respect since, but it is still a very good rock n' roll album.
"Alive III" contains mainly newer Kiss material (well, new in 1993, anyway), such as "Creatures Of The Night", "Take It Off", "I Was Made For Lovin' You" and the silly (but entertaining) "I Just Wanna". The sound is great (probably overdubbed like Alive and Alive II!), and Bruce Kulick was always a better guitarist than Ace Frehley.
There are no really weak tracks on "Alive III" - Stanley, Simmons, Kulick and Singer perform rockin' versions of "Rock And Roll All Nite", "Detroit Rock City", "Domino" and "I Love It Loud" - and if you're into rock n'roll with a goodly pinch of pop metal, this is a really excellent choice.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2001
this is another superb live album album alough not as good overall as alive 1 and 2. still some amazing live remditions of lick it up, and detroit rock city and the piro tecnic assisted deuce and creatures of the night.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
KISS - The world greatest rock band have deivered an utterly exhilarating & exhausting live rockfest in Alive 3. The line up with Eric Singer & Bruce Kulick is as tight as it gets and as a result this polished album delivers the raw energy of a Kiss stage show with panache and bags of energy. A great set list from the Revenge era includes a nod to the bands gloriuous make up clad past with Creatures of The Night, Watching You, and of course the anthem to end all anthems, Rock & Roll All Nite.

You wanted the best! You got the best! The hottest band in the world KISS

35 years on & still blowing the roof off...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2006
The title for this review is indeed strange, but there is a reason behind it. Godfather and Godfather II were as superb as films as were Alive and Alive II as albums. Enter no III, which while good, falls a little short.

Record during KISS' Revenge Tour in 1992, the band - now free from the mistakes of the 1980s - were back with a bang. However the live recordings are simply not as good as the first two masterpieces. Many of the tracks sounded better in the studio, Creatures of the Night, I Love it Loud and God Gave Rock and Roll to You in particular. It's still a good listen though with thundering versions of Deuce and Lick it Up and pumped up takes on Detroit Rock City and I Was Made for Lovin' You.

All in all, it's loads of fun and a good, live rock album. Unfortunately most the songs sounded better in the studio, and carrying the heavy burden of the name Alive doesn't help. Good, but not great.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2002
This CD has got be one of the finest CD's available by the greatest band in the world. The new up and coming Alive 4 looks set to beat Alive 3, but for the time being, Alive 3 has got to be my favourite. With songs from both the 70's and 80's it brings the magic of the KISS stage shows to your very own house. With songs like I Love It Loud, Creatures Of The Night and Domino, I thnk it will be hard to beat. I'm just looking foward to the release of the new Alive CD to compare them. Alive 4 seems to be good, but lets not kid ourselves. They are getting old and in turn they are slowing down, so even after the release Alive 3 could still be the best. I strongly recomend this CD even for those people who aren't too sure about KISS. It gives a little insight to the phenomenon that was and is KISS.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 December 2008
Maybe kiss should record all their tours and release live discs,kiss live albums never let you down,sure the may be overdubbed.touched up,who cares almost every band in the world does that,live albums should be over the top extension of the concerts,and thats what alive 3 conveys,pretty good track list although personal favs exciter and i've had enough would have been more than welcome,the singer/kulick partnership now sounding on top form how typical that that having finally delivered 2 fantastic albums in a row everything was about to change!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
this was kiss making a very good live recording during their 1992 tour. It has a few songs from the latest release and lots of older songs (it is one disc and was supposed to be two, those missing tracks could have been used on 'you wanted the best' but sadly weren't , but kiss always plays lots of older songs and a few new ones. THey aim to please their fans live. unlike many artists I have seen who play 90% new material and a few older songs. which is just lame. The recordings sounds excellent and to me this is what I saw live that year. kiss is that good live and that's a fact. you can get this one the live boxset of course or if you must own this as a seperate unit get this one. In fact I am going to see them live in denver again in 2012. They won't disapoint me , they never have live.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
The ultimate party band, of the metal kind,this is a sizzling aray of Kiss hits ;played at their natural home in stadium venue where the party and music explodes in one gloriously uplifting throng ; i smiled like a cheshire at every funfilled moment and there is millions of them in the outpouring of rock nroll zest contained in this opus;hey man its truly out there dude like raise those fists and shout ,the sun comes out when this one hits the deck ,let it roll ,let it roll thank God for Kiss!!Metalicus Maximus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2001
For me this is the best Kiss live album. The band are much tighter, and have far superior musicians in Kulick and Singer to Frehley and Criss. Faultless performances by all concerned, and with a tracklisting to suit fans of any Kiss era.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
Like all the KISS live albums this was touched up in the studio and this times it shows. (Some songs were recorded at soundcheck in the grand tradition of KISS.) There are times when Paul's raps are so obviously overdubbed on looped crowd noise it's almost laughable. Note the complete lack of reaction from the crowd at the start of Forever, one of their biggest singles in recent years. And every pick scrape sounds like a 747 coming in to land. Massive and perfect. The only thing that suggest live album is that some of the background vocals are a bit off as is evident on God gave rock and roll to you II and Take it off (European vesion only).
The collection of songs is good though, a nice blend of old and new. And the downright scary/heavy version of I was made for lovin' you alone is worth the price of admission. Just don't make the mistake of thinking of it in terms of a live album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)