Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary Clark : Genius.....Fact!
For those of you who are still enchanted by the likes of 'Marys Prayer' and 'Second Summer Of Love' then this album will delight. The songs are rockier, more guitar edged than previous Danny Wilson outings but the 'melodies' are still there.

Fans of 'The Bible' will be interested to know that Boo Hewerdine has co-written 4 songs for this set. Fellow Danny...
Published on 1 May 2006 by Simon J. Hill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped
I remembered the song off this album, "the First Man on the Sun" and, after a search, found a copy on the Amazon Marketplace that wasn't a silly price.

I have fond memories of Gary Clark's music form the '90s and was hoping that this would bring back some of those memories. There are some great tracks but some less than great. It is not a patch on 10...
Published 9 months ago by Bill P


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary Clark : Genius.....Fact!, 1 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
For those of you who are still enchanted by the likes of 'Marys Prayer' and 'Second Summer Of Love' then this album will delight. The songs are rockier, more guitar edged than previous Danny Wilson outings but the 'melodies' are still there.

Fans of 'The Bible' will be interested to know that Boo Hewerdine has co-written 4 songs for this set. Fellow Danny Wilson compatriots Kit Clark and Ged Grimes are also involved in a small way.

There are 14 songs here including the 'hidden' track 'My Last Cigarette' which should have been called 'My Last Song' as I have not found any new Gary Clark material since! If anyone reading this knows any different then please let me know. 'Tragedy Girl' a good foot stomper wets the appetite to what comes next 'The Dumbest Story' which has all the classic Gary Clark trademarks, an infectious melody and a chorus to die for, a song about teenage love that goes hideously wrong. 'Tom Driver' is the first Hewerdine collaboration along with band members Eric Pressly and Neil MacColl. 'Greedy' is one of my personal favourites of 1995, co-written with Boo it has Gary playing some brilliant guitar in amongst a very atmospheric backdrop.

The rest of the album is as you would expect from Gary Clark as he has also produced the entire project. King L should have received more airplay at the time, the 2 singles that were released 'Life After You' and 'First Man On The Sun' were great melodic tunes that would have been destined for the top twenty if only supported by national radio stations. The only thing I would change is promote the fantastic B-side 'Dreamdays' to be included here and relegate the weakest song 'Don't Believe In Hollywood' to B-side status!!

Buy this album and try and get hold of the 2 single releases, as there are more songs available from arguably one the best songwriters to come out of the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant lyrics, snappy memorable tunes, 20 Sep 2006
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
Gary Clark (later of the Interscope-signed band "Transister"; q.v.) and friends deliver a delightful cornicopia of Scots-tinged folk-rock, early alt-rock, retro-metal, and even some western swing. Brilliant lyrics, snappy memorable tunes, and unpretentious social commentary.

And I think "Don't Believe in Hollywood" is a wonderful tune: bouncy, almost perky music, behind tragic "what happened to my dreams?" lyrics - "Don't believe in anywhere where the sky is always blue . . . "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King L, indeed., 30 April 2003
By 
Alan Calderwood "calderwa" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
Gary Clark is "really rather good". I reckon this beats even the stuff he did with Danny Wilson. With the possible exception of one track, this album is crammed with great singing, playing and writing. Even the hidden bonus track is strong. If you are used to the Danny Wilson style then be aware that this is a harder, more "rock" sound, but it's an album i have returned to repeatedly since it came out. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If That's Being Greedy.....I guess that's what I am, 31 Jan 2010
By 
JimB (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
I've had this album for what seems an eternity now, and it is without doubt one of my all time favourites.
Great lyrics, great tunes. Danny Wilson taken to a different level.
I don't think there is a track that I don't like.
"Greedy" deserves recognition though. It's one of those tracks which should last 10 minutes but sadly doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 10 best albums of the decade, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
One of the best albums I have ever possessed
Simply stunning tracks
Gary Clark is a LA based producer now but what a loss to us
I am sure this album has a cult following and sometimes it's best to keep these gems quiet
I have passed it to a few who rate it very highly
'If thats being greedy....that's what I am'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I had hoped, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
I remembered the song off this album, "the First Man on the Sun" and, after a search, found a copy on the Amazon Marketplace that wasn't a silly price.

I have fond memories of Gary Clark's music form the '90s and was hoping that this would bring back some of those memories. There are some great tracks but some less than great. It is not a patch on 10 Short Songs About Love but good to hear the excellent First Man on the Sun again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the 90s, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Dr. M. H. Tatham (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
I owned this album on cassette from the 90's and it was too good to be left on an outdated medium. From the outset with "Tragedy Girl" this album pulls no punches; open, honest and catchy. Clark spins his usual musically mature style with obscure subject material to make interesting and rewarding listening. Production levels are excellent too, leaving much of the gritty musicality open to the air. There is an uncommonly high proportion of superb tracks here. "Back to loving arms", "Life after you" and "That's how it works" are among the best, but "Greedy" is perhaps one of the greatest pieces of introspection ever put to music, and on its own makes this album worth tracking down. If you like your music on the darker side of self-reflective then pony up and enjoy. My only regret for this album is that so few people have come across it. In fact if a mate hadn't lent me a copy in the early 90's I'd have never heard of it myself. How serendipity can change your life.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great day for album few have come across, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
I only heard of this album because Bob Harris played a couple of tracks on R2, and I wanted to see if the rest was as good. It is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Monster pop album from former Danny Wilson frontman Gary Clark ..., 16 Aug 2014
By 
A. Rutherford (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
Monster pop album from former Danny Wilson frontman Gary Clark, slightly harder edged than his "normal" pop / soul tone - but enormously infectious tunes .

The world needs more of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars king clarke, 7 Dec 2002
This review is from: Great Day for Gravity (Audio CD)
For ayone who enjoyed the sweet melodic and intelligent tunes penned by gary clarke when he fronted Danny Wilson this is a must have. He returns to form with thought provoking lyrics that you can relate to and with that distinctive galswegian voice he just rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Great Day for Gravity
Great Day for Gravity by Laurie R. King (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews