Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2002
The Best of Kid creole and the Coconuts...Maybe a slight change in title as it should read the best of the Island records songs that KC brought out..
That aside, this is a classic album with a little bit of everything the band had out between 1980 and 1984, Not just from the KC & TC albums but also from the coconut solo album and Coati's solo album.
The classic likes of "Annie" and "Lifeboat Party" to Coatis'Crazy "Me no Poppi" plus a revamped version of "Don't take my Coconuts"
The only other song not from the early 80's is the Brothers in Rythmn remix of "Wonderful Thing" from 1993 which is thrown in on the end
A classic album and a must for ALL 80's fans..
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2008
This album is where you start if you're a casual fan only. The version of "Don't Take My Coconuts" is simply not as punchy as the version on The Coconuts solo album "Don't Take My Coconuts" (only ever available on CD in Japan). The version of "Maladie D'amour" here is the one that's featured on Kid Creole & The Coconuts debut album "Off The Coast Of Me", (again, not the version featured on The Coconuts solo album). Also, the version of "Me No Pop I" by Coati Mundi is only the single edit ("Que Pasa" is missing). My advice is to check out the Island Records remastered versions of "Off The Coast Of Me", "Fresh Fruit In Foreign Places", "Tropical Gangsters" and "Doppelganger" to get a true taste (and the full length versions) of the unique rhythms of Kid Creole And The Coconuts.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
I decided to order this CD after not hearing their music for years, its great, I would recommend this to anyone who likes lively upbeat music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
A wonderful trip down memory lane. Simple rhythms and harmonies reveal why they were so entertaining. Almost makes you want to go out and buy a zoot suit like Kid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
A fantastic CD for people of the 80's.

As soon as I started playing the well known songs I was back to my youth, headphones on and screeming "Annie I'm not your Daddy" tunelessly out of time to the music.

Even the unknown tunes were good too. Excellent fun, well worth a try.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Most of the 14 tracks (+ 1 pointless remix) included on this 1993 collection are pretty fun (though there are a couple of duds), but one day a more complete 1CD collection will be released covering all of their albums, especially including some of their minor classics from 1984-1990. Annoyingly, the CD sleeve-notes don’t give the years of the songs, but at least these seem to be the original studio recordings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Had heard some tracks so bought this as it had the songs on I remembered. Great price, some of the songs I don't remember but love all usual suspects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Some good old tunes
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
A gift not yet given - but anything Kid Creole does must score well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Brings back so many memories of that time. Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.42
£6.90

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)