Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive example of neo-progressive rock, 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wake (Audio CD)
IQ were, with Marillion, Pendragon and Solstice, at the forefront of the neo-progressive revival of the early to mid eighties. This came as a great boost to people like myself who were increasingly fed up with the three minute, massively over-produced synth-pop songs then fashionable, and brought the intricate sensibilities of the best of the seventies prog rock bands up to date. To me, this album represents the finest example of this revival, and develops the sounds of IQ's first album "Tales from the Lush Attic"- this is where Marillion should have gone after "Script For a Jester's Tear". It has monumental keyboards, incredible chord changes and a concept to boot. The re-release of the album on cd with extra tracks is a bonus, and gives an even richer, clearer dimension to this excellent album. Listen to it on headphones and you will see what I mean- it literally blows you away. Go buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGH IQ, 7 Oct 2002
By 
C A Roberts (Walsall, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Wake (Audio CD)
Listening to this album again has bought it all back.As a Marillion fan i'd listen to my local radio station's Rock Show for news on the latest happenings of my fave band.
Suddenly a song came on which made my ears prick up....yep a track from this very album.That was all it took-album was purchased the very next day.Tales From The Lush Attic was snapped up the following weekend.
There's moments on the album where nothing much happens for what seems like a very long time-just a repetative bass line,joined by some swirling keyboards but just as you become lulled into a false sense of security it all happens...it all hits the fan.The crescendo which many of the songs build up to are quite startling.
Whilst the production isn't all that stunning IQ easily make up for the loss with their sheer dexterity.
Other 80's prog acts suffered from poor production...Twelfth Night,Pendragon,Haze......and never really stood out from the crowd.
IQ on this album dazzle and often amaze.Buy it now!
P.S. Can the person who grabbed my IQ t-shirt which i threw towards Fish at Milton Keynes Garden Party please give it back....it cetainly will not fit me now but i'd like to see it again and remind myself of happier days!....young and care-free..... and thin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Prog Masterpiece, 30 April 2007
This review is from: The Wake (Audio CD)
One of the classic prog albums of the 80's, right up there with Script and Fugazi. For those of us at the time somewhat flummoxed by `Kayleigh', here was a vision darker still than Fish's acerbic bedsit musings.

Wake by name and Wake by nature: listening to the album is rather like reading Baudelaire - grand, heavy with imagery, dark and relentless. As the band play out a series of funereal, gothic landscapes, one has the impression of being caught in a surreal nightmare from which there is no waking up, or of being sat on some demonic carousel. As it moves between pretty pastoral passages and psychedelic punk-outs, the music is by turns frenzied, bruised, brutal, and yet with moments of beauty, frailty and compassion. Anguish, world-weariness, claustrophobia and disorientation are everywhere - this is an extended cry from a consciousness weighed down by more than its fair share of gravity: `even the rain won't fall in a straight line'.

Yet there is ecstasy in the pain: redemption is achieved in turning this anguish into beauty. And in the final bars of closing song `Headlong', jaunty by comparison with what has gone before, there is a sense that there is still the possibility of grabbing hope firmly by the horns, and positively skipping into the future.

I'm not the first to observe that the thin, tinny production does let the album down. Nevertheless its sustained dark, stark brilliance does allow you to get past it. The Wake has aged well, and bears repeated listening over two decades later. If the band are reading this, how about re-recording it? Preferably somewhere that doesn't sound like a large biscuit tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powerful prog, 29 Dec 2006
By 
A. Ledwith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wake (Audio CD)
iq's first two albums suffer slightly from bad production but dont let that put you off,this is some of the very best music (prog or otherwise) to come out of the 80's.the two highlights-widows peak and headlong,are timeless masterpieces full of atmosphere and emotion.the rest of the tracks maintain a high standard and no proper music fan should be without this (or any iq cd).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wake (MP3 Download)
Many's the time I've stood in the old Marquee Club and watched IQ play to delighted audiences so this brings back great memories. From the foreboding lead in to Outer Limits through to Dans Le Parc, it's all classic stuff and, for me formed the core of the live set. . Can't see the need for the extra tracks though but I guess the real collecting buffs have to have everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great early insight into an overlooked band, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wake (MP3 Download)
I bought this album based on a previous reviewer and also on watching a couple of Youtube vids and I wasn't disappointed.
There are one of two weak bits (hence the 4 stars not 5) where the guitar is just widdling around aimlessly but track 7 "Headlong" is by far my fave IQ track from the 5 albums I own.
If you like IQ and/or Prog rock in general, and don't have this in your collection I would definitely recommend picking up a copy, it may lead you (like me) to delve even deeper i.e. "Tales from the Lush Attic" was my very next download purchase! Now I need to find the even earlier "Seven Stories into Eight" to see if it has any gems.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic IQ, 22 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wake (MP3 Download)
This is classic IQ, which every fan should own, as it does contain live classics Outer Limits, The Wake, Magic Roundabout, Widows Peak and Headlong - all of which I think are of the same high caliber of musicianship and composition. There is also The 1000 days and Corners, both of which are good, but weaker than the rest, and certainly more dated. All these songs have become better over time in the live setting, and the live dvd's available are certainly worth getting. Peter Nicholls voice has improved overtime, as on this album, his voice is sometimes strained and it sounds like he is trying to imitate other singers, not just Peter Gabriel (but Fish was doing that too). The other reason for the 4 stars rather than 5 star review, is that the production refrlects much that I hated about 1980's production - it's drowned in reverb and chorus. I understand that The Wake is being remastered this year, so this would be worth checking out to see if this has made a difference to the way the songs sound. In a nutshell, 5 classic songs, 2 OK songs from a band on their way up - worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underappreciated neo prog from the 80's, 31 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Wake (Audio CD)
I bought this album mainly out of curiosity for the neo-progressive rock revival from the 80's, being a fan of Marillion and other such great artists from an early age (thanks to my fellow music loving parents). It is rather a good listen, although i find Peter Nicholls voice a little TOO close to Peter Gabriels for comfort in places (Note the first verse of opening track "Outer Limits"). Aside from being a little derivative, coupled with a less than sympathetic production, the music itself is excellent, full of great all round musicianship and some pretty eclectic styles thrown in for good measure (I.E "Corners" and the hard rocking title track). It is a shame that the majority of the bands involved in the scene never quite made it in as big a way as Marillion did, as there really are some hidden gems, and this is no exception. Recommended for serious prog fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its time, 13 May 2009
This review is from: The Wake (Audio CD)
Incredible to think that a work of such complexity and quality could be produced by such a young band with limited resources. Four stars because Corners is perfunctary and The Thousand Days is just dire. Demo bonus tracks are as you would expect. The real bonus is Dans Le Parc...., a long maeandering treat. Buy with absolute confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly The Worst Album I've Ever Bought, 8 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Wake (Audio CD)
One word to begin this review. RUBBISH. I advise you all not to buy this album, buy the ones from after Tim Esau left, (nothing to do with the fact he teaches me music and is standing behind me).
On a serious note now, this band are seriously over rated and there is no signs of the band rehersing before the production of this album.
Some may believe this review is ignorant but we all have a right to view are own opinion.
Lots of Love and Kisses, Toby and Bradley bad Lad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wake
The Wake by IQ (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews