Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long forgotten Gem, 13 Mar 2003
By 
Mr. Terence Jones "terencej72" (Glasgow, Scotland, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
Background:- I first heard Hipsway in 1985 when i was 13 through a friend whose older brother knew the band. Formed in 84 by Jonny McElhrone (who later went on to be the main force behind Texas with Sharleen Spiteri)and featuring the fantastic vocals of Graham Skinner.
They acheived noteriety not so much through their singles (The Honeythief, Ask the Lord, The Broken years) but through the song Tinder which featured on a McEwans Lager advert (a series of visually stunning adverts which ran during the mid 80's).
They acheived a cult following and it's no wonder with so many great tracks on the abumn.
Sound :- The band have a bluesy light rock sound reminisent of early Texas songs (no surprise there) which feature stunning vocals. The best songs on the Album are Ask the Lord, The Honey thief, The Broken Years, Tinder, Long White car.
Ask the Lord has to be one of the best written pop songs of the 80's dealing with exploitation of minorities without being an overly pungent political song (unlike Simple Minds' Mandelah day). The rest of the Album has a few remixes (which don't really add anything but flesh out the albumn a bit more which it doesn't need) and some reasonably good tracks.
It's worth buying the album just for the tracks i've mentioned. Their follow-up albumn sadly is not as good.
You could also check out another great Scottish band lost in the same way Hipsway were called Love and Money (a more pop sound) whose albumn Sugarland Express is almost as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kangaroo court................, 15 Dec 2004
By 
bohobozo - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
I was editing my recommendations when this title hit the screen.
HIPSWAY.
Wow - I first played this in the mid80's and for a long period it took pride of place in my collection alongside other favs of the time - Orange Juice and the Smiths.
It is a treasure that I love to dig up now and then and I am always pleasantly surprized how well it sounds.
Reading the reveiws here had me memory lipsyncing the lyrics, grinning like a fool, full of joy and well being.
This carried me through the 80's and for me today to listen to it is an uplifting experience.
It is a truly wonderful set of songs.
A desert island disc.
A treasure island disc.
Dig it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but Goldie, 13 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. Steven Scott "scott1s" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
Perhaps one of the best Glasgow band to never quite make it - along with The Big Dish. This album is timeless. Those of you who remember the Tennents Lager ad with the stone ball rolling through the tunnel will remember the track Tinder.
No beating about here - just buy it OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scottish rock soul, 16 Jun 2005
By 
andy (motherwell scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
skinners voice sounded the scene a sound encluding blue nile ,texas, goodbye mr mackenzie,deacon blue,love and money,hipsway gelled a sound from scotland that was overlooked but had influences from across the atlantic pond and made me take in much more on my headphones even today scratch the surface the follow up to hipsway is a favourite,surely an overlooked classic collectors piece renamed the best of hipsway , goodness the 80s scotland at its best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning., 8 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
I remember getting this on cassette as it came out in the 80's and since then I have purchased it quite a few times but I hadn't had a listen to it at all for about 10 years. Coming back to it you realize what a truly superb album it is, there isn't a single "filler" song on it! I have completely lost count of the hundreds of albums I have listened to and the majority of them to one extent or another have fillers. Some albums I have bought before only have a couple of great songs, this one is perfect.

Another reviewer has quite rightly pointed out that it has aged well, and they're not wrong it hasn't aged much at all, With the amount of turgid drivel about these days I doubt very much that you can revisit an album of 2014 28 years later and it sound as good as this one does.

Highlights for me are "Tinder", "Upon a thread" and my favourite "Set this day apart."

Massively under-rated group and album, this is sheer magic from the 1980's, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's album, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipsway (MP3 Download)
Classic 80's album, has aged well and still has a a great beat. Never understood why Hipsway never received wider acclaim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - brought back loads of memories, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipsway (MP3 Download)
This is a fantastic CD. Used to listen to this in the 90's and it brought back lots of nice memories. Good to drive to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars used cd, 14 May 2013
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
excellent cd in very good condition not the first time ive bought from this site well recommened will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 6 Mar 2013
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
One of the best albums ever made. Takes me back to less hectic times but also stands the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hipsway, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipsway (Audio CD)
a nice blast from the past and who can remember the lager ads that used a couple of the songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5beae34)

This product

Hipsway
Hipsway by Hipsway (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews