Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Definitive' Edition.........
It's been a great couple of years for us Harley fans. First up was the 'Cavaliers' box set which was the first two CR albums given the 'deluxe' treatment with added demos, BBC Sessions & Concert, then more recently we have had the 'Birmingham' CD & DVD set, again showcasing the first two CR albums, plus a few gems added to the set list, then finally we have this...
Published 3 months ago by Mark Sach

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not what I expected my mistake though
Published 18 days ago by mrs.margaret toop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'Definitive' Edition........., 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's been a great couple of years for us Harley fans. First up was the 'Cavaliers' box set which was the first two CR albums given the 'deluxe' treatment with added demos, BBC Sessions & Concert, then more recently we have had the 'Birmingham' CD & DVD set, again showcasing the first two CR albums, plus a few gems added to the set list, then finally we have this 'definitive' 4 CD version of 'Best Years', the most successful of Steve's albums ever. Regarding the album itself, it has been mastered superbly and sounds stunning in all it's glory for it. It forms CD 1 along with a few 'bonus' tracks. 'Another Journey', which continued a string of excellent 'b' sides that most artists would die for, and something that Steve would continue to do for a few albums more. Then we the single mix of 'Mr Raffles' which I always preferred to the album cut simply because the second verse of the album cut sounded almost too bare with Duncan's piano not as fully fleshed out. I always did love the little synth flourish though that came after he sings 'dream machine' which turned up again during 'Understand' on 'Timeless Flight'. Then we get two alternate versions of two key cuts. A 'rough mix' of 'Come Up & See Me' which features a different lead vocal, a couple of lyrical changes, and quite surprisingly a lovely bit of brass during one of the verses, an idea that was sadly dropped (or mixed very low) as it does add some flavour. Then finally an 'acoustic' version of the title track which I thought may have been just been the acoustic guitar & vocal isolated from the main mix, but no, this is almost a first take demo with lots of lyrical changes and a major couplet reversed. Instead of sing 'tragic' then 'magic' in the chorus he sings them the other way around, which gives a completely different vibe to the whole song.
The second & third CD's comprise the legendary gig from the Hammersmith Odeon on the 14th April 75, and what a corker of a gig this is. To many fans at the time, hearing songs from the first two albums played by this band must have been a major eye opener. Steve is on fine form, though viewing the footage that make's up the DVD on disc four, he is clearly out of his head on the happy baccy. He is grinning like a madman ! The ending of 'Sling It ' is unbelievable. And if you are wondering where the classic 'live' 'b' versions of 'Mad Mad Moonlight' & 'Sebastian' are, well they are here as this is the gig they were taken from.
It's a shame the DVD is a little butchered and only represents a few numbers, but boy is it classic footage. The bowler hat, the mad eyes, everything that makes the man such a brilliant performer is there for all to see. This film was actually a 'B' feature in the cinema at the time if you are wondering where or why it has been edited in this manner. The only clumsy bit is the intro, with a few fan's actually voicing approval that Steve is better than 'Bowie', some chance, and that 'Bowie' is too old and has disappeared ! 'Bowie' was actually on the verge of his groundbreaking 'Berlin' trilogy which by the time he had completed it, Steve was the one who had disappeared ! Some people never know do they ! Lol.
All in all though, this is an excellent package and well worth the money. Just a little afterthought, a journalist friend of mine interviewed Steve last week (June 2014) and he said Steve has plans for a complete show playing this album in full, hopefully together with 'Timeless Flight' (my personal favourite), fittingly the next two albums in the sequence carrying on from his current show which features the first two a la 'Birmingham'. Like the mans surname, 'Nice !'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best music that Steve has done., 12 Aug 2000
By 
ratsgod1@earthlink.net (Colorado Springs, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Years Of Our Lives (Audio CD)
I first heard this album around 1980 and am very pleased to see it is still available after so many years. The depth of emotion that Steve Harley can put into music is well known, and this album is one for the kind. It is at the same time hypnotic and rousing. If you have not heard this one, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back To The Form, 22 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Best Years Of Our Lives (Audio CD)
TBYOOL, recorded with the second incarnation of Cockney Rebel, had a hard act to follow. The previous line up had been awarded a Gold Star for Outstanding New Act of 1974 and their second album, Psychomodo, was a work of brilliance.
This album has a distinctly different flavour than Harley's more folk-flavoured previous works. It leans closer to pop and glam rock, hence the electric violin has been cut back and in its place is electric guitar, played by the excellent Jim Cregan. However, the fantastical lyrics and sneering voice of Harley ensure that his signiature sound is not dulled with these changes.
TBYOOL is a superb album, mixing the more upbeat pop tracks (Mad Mad Moonlight) with the darker songs (Back To The Farm, It Wasn't Me) which peppered The Psychomodo. Whatever you may think of Harley's unusual lyrics (which can all make sense in their own context), he certainly paints his imagery vividly and with the utmost conviction. This third album remains one of his best, even against his two previous works. Even if you are not a fan, you may well appreciate this well-crafted album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Harley Album...CLASS, 8 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Best Years Of Our Lives (Audio CD)
Undoubtedly the most successful Steve Harley (& Cockney Rebel) Album. I recall in 1975 rushing out with all my pocket money to buy the vinyl....the grooves were worn thin due to constant playing! The Best Years.....yip, i guess they were...and Harley was instrumental in making them so. I recall Make Me Smile getting to No.1 in February....such personal joy...."MY GROUP" at No. 1! 30 years on it's still a firm favourite at clubs and on the radio. Best track on the album? not MMS but Mad, Mad, Moonlight! play it loud...sit back and soak up the quality of a line up of some of the best musicians and tracks of the era (and since!).........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Harley's Best Album, 15 May 2004
This review is from: The Best Years Of Our Lives (Audio CD)
I first found out about Steve Harley through the music of T. Rex. Finding Cockney Rebel was a true musical blessing. "Best Years of Our Lives" is the definitive Cockney Rebel album. If you've never heard of the band before, that won't mean much, so let me put things into perspective. Cockney Rebel came onto the UK music scene in the early 70's. Their music could be described as touching on elements of T.Rex, David Bowie, and Roxy Music, but over time they were able to craft their own signature sound. With Cockney Rebel, you got a lot of variety: rock, jazz, opera, and avante garde -- quite a wide style range! They were very big for a time in the UK, but never really made a dent in the USA.
This album contains one of their biggest hits, "Make Me Smile," (which has been covered by a ton of bands and shows up in a bunch of movie soundtracks) but the album as a whole provides the perfect listening experience from beginning to end. My favorite tracks are "Mad, Mad Moonlight," "Best Years of Our Lives," "Make Me Smile," and "Panorama."
Steve Harley is still around and performs several dates a year in the UK. The man can still put on an excellent show and still retains a devoted fan following. If you are a fan of Steve Harley or 70's Glam Rock, do not pass this album up. This is a definite entry on my top ten desert island discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect 70's punk posturing. An (almost) perfect album, 11 Aug 2005
By 
F. Samara (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Years Of Our Lives (Audio CD)
Its the summer of 2005 and this 70's classic sounds FRESH! I couldn't stop playing it and it can still give all the Britpop pretenders of the current era something to aspire to. Yes, it ofcourse has the most famous of the Cockney Rebel songs, the delicious "Come Up and See Me (make me smile)", but there is an edge of irony and a savage pleasure in life that hangs about almost every song on this album. Almost all these tracks show consumate music making skill and would be able to succeed as commercial singles if released in today's less adventurous musical climate. This music SNEERS with its own self-assured brilliance. And that is saying something given the sneering vocals of the lead, Steve Harley at the height of his powers. The tortured and slightly - well, Cockney - accent is almost unique, the vocabulary of the lyrics is poetry - and too clever by half, thus rendering it almost camp (with relish, Mr. Harley drawls the lines on 'Mr Raffles': "I didn't see you had a gun - until you shot that Spanish Dancer!" while castanetas click bizarelly in the background...). Its an acquired taste, but not too hard to acquire, and the overly mannered style sizzles on a hot pan of sexual energy and thwarted male charisma. Listening to this makes you feel a little bit more groovy, baby, yeah, than you ever really thought you could be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Miki D (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Years Of Our Lives (Audio CD)
The Best Years Of Our Lives. Hammersmith Odeon 1975. My first Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel concert and suddenly I had clarity. Life is take the knocks and learn and grow from them. Always keep your humour foremost. Be alert to the failings and weakness of yourself and fellow companions, but keep moving on, not forgetting your past, but appreciating the shape that its caused you to become. This album has all of the above and is as much alive and relevant now as it was then. The Best Years Of Our Lives, they certainly were and they still are. Smile please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cockney Rebel, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best Years Of Our Lives== Had THIS ALBUM AS vinyl back in the seventies , this album brought back memories and sound wise did not disapoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Sep 2014
By 
J. A. Baines - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have original album on vinyl - but never been able to track down the ' Between the Lines' footage. Now I have in one neat package
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simply amazing, transports me back to 75, and yet still has the energy and verve of today's music........WoW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Years Of Our Lives
The Best Years Of Our Lives by Cockney Rebel (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews