Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars30
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2010
I've recently purchased this album and its absolutely fantastic. Even though the typical Peter Green lover would except Blues and his incredible vocals just like he did in Fleetwood Mac, this is something that is completely different. It would take a genius to produce this, and its worth buying just for the track 'Bottom's Up' which sounds a lot like Hendrix only with a more jazzy feel, especially coming from the rhythm section which is brilliant.

I heard somewhere that Peter Green despised Jazz fusion, but it obviously not a Jazz fusion record, but it does mix alot of genres into one. The best way to describe it is Hendrix mixed with LSD, a lot of Wah Wah stuff and exceptional melodies coming from his guitar in this extended jam album. There are no vocals, but there doesn't need to be, as the guitar playing is out of this world. Its very psychedelic blues rock with a jazzy rhythm section to sum it up.

I agree with the review above, it does kind of take an acquired taste, and definitely an open mind to Peter Green's huge change in direction the Fleetwood Mac stuff but its better to reinvent yourself than repeat yourself as they say. As long as you take the music for Peter Green as a solo act and not Fleetwood Mac, then you'll hopefully love this CD as I do.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2010
I would have to disagree with some of the negative comments left previously about this album. I think the music is overall very powerful and Peter's guitar playing is absolutely magnificent throughout. I would agree that when you first hear the album, it comes as a bit of a shock because most Peter Green fans would associate his music with being slightly less 'off-the-wall'. However, part of the inherent charm of this record is the fact that it is rather manic, in essence due to the consumption of a little champagne laced with LSD. I think if you listen to this album knowing that Peter was suffering a bit mentally and was tripping throughout the sessions, it becomes a far more interesting and overwhelming work of art.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
Having been an early Fleetwood Mac fan (and seeing them in the 1969 Bath Festival), I bought this vinyl album when first issued without hearing any tracks. For those expecting an English blues-rock album - forget it. It's like nothing Peter Green did before or since. The album represents that split second when acid-taking results in artistic/musical genius before descending into utter madness. Green seems to be having his nervous breakdown whilst playing his guitar. But the music is sublime. His playing exhibits his usual knack of obtaining maximum feeling from minimum notes - every emotion from frantic excitement to yearning melancholy is displayed. Although the album supposedly represents the life of a tiger or other big cat (which track represents the tiger procreating, I wonder? I have my own views on that), I'm not sure I buy this theory, especially when the whole album was supposedly recorded as one gigantic take subsequently expertly edited. But I concede it could be true as the title track "End of the Game" does sound as if it could be a tiger being hunted and then killed in a climax of Peter Green's screaming guitar (incredible sounds or what?), only to be followed by the dying breaths of a magnificent animal again interpreted through Green's wonderfully sad guitar playing (I may be auditioning for Pseud's Corner, here). The "End of the Game" is definately one of my Desert Island Discs tracks. But if anyone is thinking of buying this who isn't prepared to hear something completely bonkers - forget it. Stick to Brotherhood of Man (sorry about the pomposity there).
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2004
This extraordinary concept album presents a guitar genius, Peter Green, at the height of his powers. His composition is flawlessly realised by a band comprising himself on guitar, Zoot Money on grand piano, Godfrey MacLean on percussion, Nick Buck on electric keyboards, and Alex Dmochowski on bass guitar.
I first heard a tiny part of the last track on this album as the closing of a radio news programme every day when I was a 17-year old student in Washington DC in the spring of 1970. I searched for three years to discover, in great surprise, that it was the work of one of my already favourite guitarists, Peter Green, founder of Fleetwood Mac.
The album present a big cat, probably a cheetah, in the jungle and veldt of Africa during a day in his life. The cat runs, chases prey, contemplates a still pool of water, a hunter's camp, and settles down to the end of the day, and the end of his life.
If you've never heard this album before, prepare yourself for a transcendent experience.
0Comment|53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Thanks once again immediate dispatch from Amazon

Purchased this album when it was originally released and was pleased to purchase it again on CD

This album is a masterpiece the reason being how can the musicians create an album that is based on being in the
jungle

For example your mind conjurs up these images when you hear the music

RAIN STORM
MONKEYS SWINGING THROUGH TREES
THE SUN BREAKING THROUGH THE CLOUDS AFTER A STORM
SNAKE MOVING THROUGH THE SHRUB
LION WALKING THROUGH THE JUNGLE

And the classic 2 lions fighting this may sound ridiculous if you have not heard the track but it is just that, using a wah
pedal Green actually replicates the sound of 2 lions fighting hence the name of the album END OF THE GAME,
and when the fight ends he then conjurs up the sound of a lion walking away after losing the fight. I have seen quite a
few polls on which was the greatest use of a wah pedal this has never been mentioned, but I can assure you in my
opinion this is it.

A really beautiful atmospheric album, completely different from the Fleetwood Mac Green, but very musical in
conjunction with the other musicians

Superb
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Basically, a jazz - rock fusion jamming session. I could imaging relaxing in the sun at Glastonbury whilst it was paying and really enjoying it, but in my own living room - well its okay if you're in the mood. Some great guitar playing but nothing special overall.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
To be honest, it's difficult to tell which with this album. What is there is Green's sometimes powerful, sometimes ethereal guitar playing. There were few like him then, and there are fewer like him now. This is a 1970 album and if you want me to make a comparison, well Green's playing here is more Jimi Hendrix than Robert Johnson. In fact, this is certainly not the classic blues of an early Fleetwood Mac Green. Like I said, it's difficult to piegon-hole into a particular genre.

Green's mental health problems are well-documented. If you want to play the what if game, then try this:

What if Green had stayed free of schizophrenia and had continued as a blues-rock 'god' all through the seventies? Think how influential Jimmy Page was with Led Zeppelin. Green was of equal stature to Page and from a similar musical background. If anything, as this album attests, Green was the one more likely to be daring and experimental with his music. What if this would have been a taste of things to come for Green in that decade. If so, modern rock would have been very different. Interesting thought isn't it...?
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
This is more a CD to own as a document, rather than as entertainment. Peter Green was a wonderful guitarist and is now an admirable survivor who should be an example to many. Green's problems have been well documented. This recording catches him on the downward slope, emotionally,but still shows what a wonderful guitarist he was. Perhaps for completists, only.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
My supposition was that this session was made by present of wrath.Each track on the album is instrumental.Other musicians are:Zoot Money-piano,Nick Bucks-keys,Alex Dmochowski-bass and Godfrey Mclean-drums,percussion.Produced by Martin Birch.His music is very important in my life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
I once owned this on Vinyl and had forgotten how awful it is. Several other reviewers positive reports seduced me into buying it again to complete my Peter Green collection. For completeists only.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)