Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Fresh Today
I've recently purchased this album and its absolutely fantastic. Even though the typical Peter Green lover would except Blues and his incredible vocals just like he did in Fleetwood Mac, this is something that is completely different. It would take a genius to produce this, and its worth buying just for the track 'Bottom's Up' which sounds a lot like Hendrix only with a...
Published on 18 Jun 2010 by Jack Hanly

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative blues / jazz fusion / prog concept album, or extended jam session?
To be honest, it's difficult to tell which with this album. What is there is Green's sometimes powerful, sometimes ethereal guitar playing. There were few like him then, and there are fewer like him now. This is a 1970 album and if you want me to make a comparison, well Green's playing here is more Jimi Hendrix than Robert Johnson. In fact, this is certainly not the...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by Mark Poles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Fresh Today, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Jack Hanly "MuzikMaster" (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
I've recently purchased this album and its absolutely fantastic. Even though the typical Peter Green lover would except Blues and his incredible vocals just like he did in Fleetwood Mac, this is something that is completely different. It would take a genius to produce this, and its worth buying just for the track 'Bottom's Up' which sounds a lot like Hendrix only with a more jazzy feel, especially coming from the rhythm section which is brilliant.

I heard somewhere that Peter Green despised Jazz fusion, but it obviously not a Jazz fusion record, but it does mix alot of genres into one. The best way to describe it is Hendrix mixed with LSD, a lot of Wah Wah stuff and exceptional melodies coming from his guitar in this extended jam album. There are no vocals, but there doesn't need to be, as the guitar playing is out of this world. Its very psychedelic blues rock with a jazzy rhythm section to sum it up.

I agree with the review above, it does kind of take an acquired taste, and definitely an open mind to Peter Green's huge change in direction the Fleetwood Mac stuff but its better to reinvent yourself than repeat yourself as they say. As long as you take the music for Peter Green as a solo act and not Fleetwood Mac, then you'll hopefully love this CD as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mental Breakdown on Acid, 4 Mar 2011
By 
H. Llewelyn "Hugh Llewelyn the Welshman" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
Having been an early Fleetwood Mac fan (and seeing them in the 1969 Bath Festival), I bought this vinyl album when first issued without hearing any tracks. For those expecting an English blues-rock album - forget it. It's like nothing Peter Green did before or since. The album represents that split second when acid-taking results in artistic/musical genius before descending into utter madness. Green seems to be having his nervous breakdown whilst playing his guitar. But the music is sublime. His playing exhibits his usual knack of obtaining maximum feeling from minimum notes - every emotion from frantic excitement to yearning melancholy is displayed. Although the album supposedly represents the life of a tiger or other big cat (which track represents the tiger procreating, I wonder? I have my own views on that), I'm not sure I buy this theory, especially when the whole album was supposedly recorded as one gigantic take subsequently expertly edited. But I concede it could be true as the title track "End of the Game" does sound as if it could be a tiger being hunted and then killed in a climax of Peter Green's screaming guitar (incredible sounds or what?), only to be followed by the dying breaths of a magnificent animal again interpreted through Green's wonderfully sad guitar playing (I may be auditioning for Pseud's Corner, here). The "End of the Game" is definately one of my Desert Island Discs tracks. But if anyone is thinking of buying this who isn't prepared to hear something completely bonkers - forget it. Stick to Brotherhood of Man (sorry about the pomposity there).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An acquired taste..., 23 May 2010
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
I would have to disagree with some of the negative comments left previously about this album. I think the music is overall very powerful and Peter's guitar playing is absolutely magnificent throughout. I would agree that when you first hear the album, it comes as a bit of a shock because most Peter Green fans would associate his music with being slightly less 'off-the-wall'. However, part of the inherent charm of this record is the fact that it is rather manic, in essence due to the consumption of a little champagne laced with LSD. I think if you listen to this album knowing that Peter was suffering a bit mentally and was tripping throughout the sessions, it becomes a far more interesting and overwhelming work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Work of True Genius, 14 Oct 2004
By 
William Donelson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
This extraordinary concept album presents a guitar genius, Peter Green, at the height of his powers. His composition is flawlessly realised by a band comprising himself on guitar, Zoot Money on grand piano, Godfrey MacLean on percussion, Nick Buck on electric keyboards, and Alex Dmochowski on bass guitar.
I first heard a tiny part of the last track on this album as the closing of a radio news programme every day when I was a 17-year old student in Washington DC in the spring of 1970. I searched for three years to discover, in great surprise, that it was the work of one of my already favourite guitarists, Peter Green, founder of Fleetwood Mac.
The album present a big cat, probably a cheetah, in the jungle and veldt of Africa during a day in his life. The cat runs, chases prey, contemplates a still pool of water, a hunter's camp, and settles down to the end of the day, and the end of his life.
If you've never heard this album before, prepare yourself for a transcendent experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Innovative blues / jazz fusion / prog concept album, or extended jam session?, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Mark Poles (Cornwall, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
To be honest, it's difficult to tell which with this album. What is there is Green's sometimes powerful, sometimes ethereal guitar playing. There were few like him then, and there are fewer like him now. This is a 1970 album and if you want me to make a comparison, well Green's playing here is more Jimi Hendrix than Robert Johnson. In fact, this is certainly not the classic blues of an early Fleetwood Mac Green. Like I said, it's difficult to piegon-hole into a particular genre.

Green's mental health problems are well-documented. If you want to play the what if game, then try this:

What if Green had stayed free of schizophrenia and had continued as a blues-rock 'god' all through the seventies? Think how influential Jimmy Page was with Led Zeppelin. Green was of equal stature to Page and from a similar musical background. If anything, as this album attests, Green was the one more likely to be daring and experimental with his music. What if this would have been a taste of things to come for Green in that decade. If so, modern rock would have been very different. Interesting thought isn't it...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREEN GENIUS, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
Thanks once again immediate dispatch from Amazon

Purchased this album when it was originally released and was pleased to purchase it again on CD

This album is a masterpiece the reason being how can the musicians create an album that is based on being in the
jungle

For example your mind conjurs up these images when you hear the music

RAIN STORM
MONKEYS SWINGING THROUGH TREES
THE SUN BREAKING THROUGH THE CLOUDS AFTER A STORM
SNAKE MOVING THROUGH THE SHRUB
LION WALKING THROUGH THE JUNGLE

And the classic 2 lions fighting this may sound ridiculous if you have not heard the track but it is just that, using a wah
pedal Green actually replicates the sound of 2 lions fighting hence the name of the album END OF THE GAME,
and when the fight ends he then conjurs up the sound of a lion walking away after losing the fight. I have seen quite a
few polls on which was the greatest use of a wah pedal this has never been mentioned, but I can assure you in my
opinion this is it.

A really beautiful atmospheric album, completely different from the Fleetwood Mac Green, but very musical in
conjunction with the other musicians

Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
Basically, a jazz - rock fusion jamming session. I could imaging relaxing in the sun at Glastonbury whilst it was paying and really enjoying it, but in my own living room - well its okay if you're in the mood. Some great guitar playing but nothing special overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh well, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Denis A. Browne "Bigga D" (SW London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
Its always a shame to reconnect with an old favourite & find it lacking. This was an early 70's favourite with me & my friends. I'd been a big Peter Green fan since the John Mayall "Hard Road" days. At the time I think we saw it as a bit of a UK experiment in the Santana guitar & percussion style (not sure why now, tho). Basically it sounds like a bunch of guys having a jam in the studio - sure, there's some big name players here apart from Peter Green like Zoot Money & Alex Dmochowski, but the playing's pretty routine. At times there's a real clock-watching feel, as the uninspiring material gets noodled away until there's enough for an album. Peter Green's guitar tone & playing are always a thing of beauty & I guess if you're a Peter Green completist, you'll want to have this. Otherwise its just a very routine late 60's blooze jam in the studio. If I could, I'd probably give this an extra half star for his involvement.

I parted company with my vinyl copy of this many years & a divorce ago, but I've got a gut feeling it didn't quite sound like this. Sounds like a dodgy cd transfer to me - everything seems very squashed up soundwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Reflection of Peter Green At The Time, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
This is more a CD to own as a document, rather than as entertainment. Peter Green was a wonderful guitarist and is now an admirable survivor who should be an example to many. Green's problems have been well documented. This recording catches him on the downward slope, emotionally,but still shows what a wonderful guitarist he was. Perhaps for completists, only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Woof woof!, 3 Sep 2014
By 
P. L. Wightman (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The End Of The Game (Audio CD)
I once owned this on Vinyl and had forgotten how awful it is. Several other reviewers positive reports seduced me into buying it again to complete my Peter Green collection. For completeists only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The End Of The Game
The End Of The Game by Peter Green (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews