Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The freshest music to come out forever
Fantastic soundscapes and innovation to blow your mind. This guy is at the forefront of new beats. And he used to go to my school, I remember he played this cool jazz piece (really tricky) on a double bass. Musical genius and genius cheekiness
Published on 12 Jan 2000

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vyjyvuyyy
A friend of mine once referred to the opening track of this album as sounding like "Japanese game show music", and, despite a few months of protesting, I think I finally see what he means. Similar to a poorly constructed margherita pizza, you need to scrape off the excess cheese on Hard Normal Daddy to get to the truly crispy and delicious stuff. "Fat Controller" is so,...
Published on 8 Jan 2008 by 77


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The freshest music to come out forever, 12 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard Normal Daddy (Audio CD)
Fantastic soundscapes and innovation to blow your mind. This guy is at the forefront of new beats. And he used to go to my school, I remember he played this cool jazz piece (really tricky) on a double bass. Musical genius and genius cheekiness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars did somebody say genius?, 18 Oct 2003
This review is from: Hard Normal Daddy (Audio CD)
If you have ANY spare money, then please go and buy this album as soon as possible. Tom Jenkinson is fast proving himself to one highly gifted artist. There's no point trying to label this music. Drum and bass, electronica, ambient? Yes, it's all that, but so much more. It's designed to lift the roof off what you can normally expect to hear from music. At times it sounds reminiscent of Aphex Twin's Brando, at others like some crazed orgy of jazz-techno porn! Absolute genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Jenkinson in real form., 9 Feb 2003
This review is from: Hard Normal Daddy (Audio CD)
This simply is Squarepushers, aka Tom Jenkinson's finest work. It is by far his most consistent album, and is filled with grade A songs, the first one "Coopers World" really does take you to another world after a few listens. It has a great jazzy style and is pure pleasure for your ears. The way Squarepusher can change the beats to fit the changing tunes is fantastic, you just want to shake his hand. Next comes "Beep Street", which is possibly my favourite song on the album, it gets straight into it with some great percussion, and then a wicked bassline hits in. At that point, you know you've bought something special!! Its not over yet however, about 2 minutes in, Tom Jenkinson puts the icing on the cake as he introduces some more drum beats over the top. Pure f**king genius. Unfortunately, I had already downloaded this particular song, so I couldn't enjoy it in its full beauty! "Rustic Raver" is another cracker, a more furious beat, but when the 'tune' hits in about 40 seconds in, it picks up and is a must listen to for fans of more faster experimental squarepusher such as "Boneville Occident." I could go on, describing all the songs from this masterpeice, but I dont want to ruin the suprise for you. Three words: BUY THIS NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars vyjyvuyyy, 8 Jan 2008
This review is from: Hard Normal Daddy (Audio CD)
A friend of mine once referred to the opening track of this album as sounding like "Japanese game show music", and, despite a few months of protesting, I think I finally see what he means. Similar to a poorly constructed margherita pizza, you need to scrape off the excess cheese on Hard Normal Daddy to get to the truly crispy and delicious stuff. "Fat Controller" is so, so heavy though; I reckon I'll have that track played at my funeral.

Oh, and as a disclaimer, I'm a big fan of Go Plastic, which I believe to be Tom's peak.

Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hard Normal Daddy (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely fantastic! Tom Jenkinson's bizzarre blend of rapid, drum n bass jazz comes accross as a mixture of Jamiroquai and Aphex Twin (Another Warp label genius). It is such a shame that this, like most Warp artists are so unknown, although it may quite difficult to listen to due to the sheer speed of it all, there is an underpinning sense of complete accuracy in every beat. An epic journey in every sense of the word. Buy it! What have you got to lose? ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like a cat stuck inside a dustbin., 30 Oct 2003
This review is from: Hard Normal Daddy (Audio CD)
Tom Jenkinson is a gifted artist? Give me a break. Although he may be label mates of Richard James (aka Aphex Twin) that is where the similarity ends. This is one sprawling mess of a CD. In fact Im using it as a coaster underneath my coffee. To return it to the shop and let them inflict it upon some poor soul would be an act of cruelty on my part. Brando, by Aphex Twin set new standards in music, raising the bar to a whole new level. This just lays the bar on the ground. Step over it people. Its pants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hard Normal Daddy
Hard Normal Daddy by Squarepusher (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews