Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Volcano Girls are back!, 5 Oct 2000
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
The follow-up to "American Thighs" is nothing short of spectacular. It starts off with the screaming electric guitars that are Veruca Salt's trademark, and they don't give up. There are no tracks that I would skip, they are all good, but my favourites are Volcano Girls, Don't Make Me Prove It, One Last Time, Shutterbug, and Stoneface. This is pop/rock at it's best, and an essential cd for anyone. One of the top albums of the nineties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsome!, 5 Oct 2000
By 
J. Whatley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
I hate when people give this album bad reviews. It is possibly the best album I have heard. The lyrics aren't particularly deep, but they are good, and Louise's guitar solo's kick ass! The best tracks are 'Volcano Girls' (the seether's Louise!), 'Shutterbug' (I'm right where I always wanted to be), 'One Last Time' (I wind you up then I wait here for the meloncholy) and 'Venus Man Trap' (and there was life before you). Louise's voice perfectly compliments her rockier songs, while Nina's girly voice goes well with the poppier, catchier songs that she performs. I adore this album, and have listened to it almost continuously since I very first bought it. It is a must have. Everyone I have met loves it, from the die hard metal fans to the Britney obsessives. It's amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Make Me Prove It!, 10 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
I own 3 copies of this CD - one for work, the car, and home.

I used to be a DJ in a rock club and own thosands of CDs. This is the greatest CD I own.

In fact, it just might be the greatest CD ever made.

It's a perfect mix of pop-rock. It has catchy hooks, but still manages to rock.

I can listen to it no matter what mood I'm in.

If Nina Gordon and Louise Post had continued to work together they would have conquered the world by now.

BUY THIS CD - It really will make your life better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Make Me Prove It!, 8 April 2000
By 
lavachic@aol.com (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely amazing album - with tracks like "Volcano Girls", "With David Bowie" and "The Morning Sad", you'll be dancing in front of your mirror, but with heart wrenchers like "Loneliness is worse" ("Oh why, don't you wanna be happy with me?" its an album to suit every mood. Maybe lyrically and musically its not the most challenging thing in the world, musically it sounds great, with a great balance and some gorgeous songs. Fantastic, even for people who don't know the band. Think early manics/imogen heap in a food processor, and you're just about there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
Some say this album is over-produced and the guitarsounds are overdone. Well, this may be the case, but Veruca Salt certainly gets away with it. Although the sounds sometimes is extremely heavy, it's also very good. Compared to "American thighs" the sound is heavier. Well Veruca Salt in "Charlie and the chocolate factory" also was loud. There are brilliant bridges in the songs ("Venus man trap" for instance) and the vocals are what you would expect from Veruca Salt: brilliant. The imitation of a steam whistle in "Venus man trap" is awesome and Nina's search for her lipgloss in "Earthcrosser" is the best moment in the history of rock. This is one of the best albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars addictive!, 30 Oct 2008
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
Addictive is the word I'd choose for this album. Eight Arms has always been criticized for its big, BIG production. Thanks to Bob Rock, the flourishes to the songs are almost overpowering. But there's a lot of enjoyment derived from hearing the girls' guitars this clear, this rich. The vocal harmonies are at once, sassier and lusher. In songs like "Stoneface", the bitchiness is appealing and sexy, not to mention kind of bone rattlingly exhilirating. While in the ballad "Loneliness is worse", the vocals are sweeping and Nina Gordon sounds radio ready. The melodies and the hooks stick like gum to a really really hot wall. Eight Arms may not have the lazy, druggy, hazy rage of its predescessor but it's more than a deserving follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
i own thousands of records of all types - blues - punk - pop - beefheart - reggae - etc etc - but how this record escaped most people i just dont know - its one of the greatest records EVER made by ANYBODY !! back in the 90s when released i noted it didnt make any magazines end of year top 50 lists - unbelieveable!

over the last ten years i have played this album more than any other - it ALWAYS sounds great - fantastic power pop songs - what on earth were the 90s pop reviewers thinking of???

its fantastic!!!!

this is THE great lost album of all time

cmon!!!! how can anyone NOT like this???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 24 Nov 2004
By 
B. Beech "xwvp13" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Vaurca Salt for a while now and they have blown me away with this album. The whole 'girl power' thing has really come into it's own with the likes of Girl Riot, the Suffrajets, Melisa Auf Der Mau and so many more.
This really is an album I could listen to for an extremely long time and never get bored of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jump around and sing very loudly, 9 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Eight Arms To Hold You (Audio CD)
Anybody who loves divine vocals over loud guitars should find much to excite in this essential pop rock album from this supremely talented band. Forget so-called greats like the Foo Fighters. This is in a class of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eight Arms to Hold You
Eight Arms to Hold You by Veruca Salt (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews