Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a ride of a Musical Genius
I had been avoiding Bjork's music over the years, fearing her eccentricity, her weirdness, I'd always felt she was a 'human alien'. It was until a few months ago, while I was looking for cassettes to buy on a record store, I found Debut.

And I thought to myself 'Why not pick up this one?'. So I did [though reluctantly].

Before I bought this album , I...
Published on 26 Oct 2006 by FAZ

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars emotionally cold music?
Thought I would find out what all is Bjork thing was about. I suppose it is quite original and vocally genuine sounding, though a bit over produced with a fair bit of techo sounds mixed in. Kind of weird eclectic dance club music, some of it. So you get nothing warm, emotionally engaging, or melodic, though it does sound like you get something reasonably genuine, from a...
Published 20 months ago by dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beginning of a ride of a Musical Genius, 26 Oct 2006
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
I had been avoiding Bjork's music over the years, fearing her eccentricity, her weirdness, I'd always felt she was a 'human alien'. It was until a few months ago, while I was looking for cassettes to buy on a record store, I found Debut.

And I thought to myself 'Why not pick up this one?'. So I did [though reluctantly].

Before I bought this album , I had known some of the titles. And I was frightened. You know titles like 'Violently Happy' or 'The Anchor Song' used to freak me out [silly, I know]. But that day, I decided to let go of my fear and give this record a try.

And when I bought it..I realised that I was completely wong!

This record, along with Post and Homogenic, ranks up to be one of the best records ever released.

And what surprised me more is that the lyrics, are actually relatable.

The lyrics aren't as 'outer-spacey' or as 'larger than life' than I thought.

Like on 'Come to Me', 'Aeroplane' and 'One Day'. The lyrics are talking about love, about feeling affection, desire, longing for a loved one or 'Crying' and 'Violently Happy' which are about feeling lost and longing towards someone you deeply care about.

So I was blown away.

Let's not forget songs like 'Human Behaviour' with its jungl-ish sound, hard-hitting percussion beat and spicy guitar sounds near the end of the song, it's just breath-taking. And the lyrics are also genius: "If you ever get close to a human/A human behaviour/Be ready, be ready to get confused/There's definitely, definitely no logic/In human behaviour"... Simply a classic.

'Venus as a Boy' and 'Big Time Sensuality' are talking about sexuality and attraction [most notably the former]. Whereas 'There's More to Life than This' can simply be a dance anthem, with its ecstatic beat.

'Like Someone in Love', a cover of an old jazz tune, is performed incredibly and beautifully by Bjork. Only with the accompaniment of harp, Bjork's voice soars low then high, with such emotion and heartfeltness, which makes this song so beautiful, dreamy and hypnotic.

'The Anchor Song', a short song about Bjork's life in Iceland. Here, Bjork is only accompanied by a group of brass players..and it makes this song so unique and reflective...it really captures the sense of loneliness, the solitude of the sea.

And then 'Play Dead' closes the record. Although I believe The Anchor Song would close the album better, this is a great song. Starts by Bjork screaming to the peak of the song, it's just breathtaking.

All that being said, this is absolutely a creative, artsy, innovative record that will surely impress you. It might take some getting used to... but this record is only a beginning of a ride of a Musical Genius,an ever-changing, groundbreaking artist named Bjork. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut as light and depth - from a long term fan., 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
The article below is mistaken. This album is far from nonsense bland pop! Although her later work is perhaps more obviously produced and more expense has been given to samples, the apparent rawness of Debut always leave a sparkle of freshness and youth. The sound is dancy, poppy, brooding at times but there is always her stunning vocals mixed with passion and her lightness and depth of being shine through. An excellent album for chilling out, thinking, getting high - her career was not born here in humble beginnings, she just allows us to see her for what she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 2 Feb 2006
By 
M. Sinclair "Mike" (Crumlin, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
This is a truly amazing album, any fan of Bjork should have this. I've had it years and even when I was ten I was still stunned by her beautiful voice. I love it even more now, I really love the way it is so creative and different. This was a brilliant album to kick off her solo career, and I'm so pleased she's still going now. Some people think Bjork is quite weird, but I think she's cool, and this album proves it. This goes beyond the usual pop music, its something so different and thrilling, it works brilliantly with some slow songs and some upbeat, and all unique. Daring to be so creative has payed off so well as everyone appreciates this so much. This album is also now very high up on so many peoples' lists of favourite albums. She has practicaly created a genre of her own.
"Human Behaviour" never ceases to amaze me, I love the bassline and beat and her voice works with it so well, I loved it even more when I saw the video- also great and very creative. "There's more to life than this" is a good one to dance to, and will be sure to put you in good form. "Like someone in love" is thrilling. The harp and her voice work like electricity. It sends a million shivers down my spine, I love the way she sings with so much feeling, it still amazes me everytime, and I can't get enough of it. "Big time sensuality" is another dancey one, again not ordinary, but with her own stamp on it. Billiant!
"The anchor song" is great as well, some people may be a little disappointed with it, but it really is fantastic. Again changing direction, with brass instruments, like the harp- in "like someone in love" these also compliment her voice. The words of the song are great as well, saying how she loves where she lives, and in a great way, shows her identity. Those who have the album with the bonus song are so lucky. "Play dead" is an extra suprise when you thought there couldn't possibly be anymore, and is a great one to finish off the album. It like her anthem; powerful and so catchy, and needless to say there's the amazing voice.
This album also surely must have inpired herself, and the likes of Moloko and Portishead; a fantastic new style, and one to be proud of. Its about my 6th favourite album, and without a doubt,(apart from radiohead) the album of the nineties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bjorks' Debut is the best debut!, 8 April 2009
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
i have always loved this artist but it is only until recently that i decided to purchase some of her albums...in order that is!

Bjork is one iconic and inspirational woman who defined the sound of the 90's with Debut and the next 2 realeases Post and Homogenic! that Trip Hop,Electronica and Avant Garde style that was indeed so very artistic,original and innovative, in fact Bjork and Madonna literally had THE albums that literally defined my taste while growing up as two individual and strong women, Bjork is a definitive favourite of mine, so very unusual but remains one of the most creative artists out there! One of my ALL TIME favourite artists (alongside Madonna,Marvin Gaye,Sly Stone,Kate Bush,Janelle Monae and Britney Spears).

Debut was released in 1993, a year that saw a growth in pop experimental styles and a very optimistic and futuristic atmospherics in styles, it was a brilliant time to be a 90's kid put it that way! and my tastes weren't ever to follow the trends of what's in exactly but the styles i personally loved, so Erotica by Madonna,Janet Jackson's Debut,Kate Bush's Red Shoes,Michael Jacksons Dangerous and Bjork's Debut it was!

here we have one striking elemental classic after the next, each showing different sides and perspectives of Bjork as herself and is an albums literally one of it's kind! and most definitely one of the most striking and grasping debut albums ever to be brought to attention!

it shows great clarity and vision, and the most pivotal thing...it still remains as sensational as it was released 17 years ago!

a definitive classic, 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should have listened alot sooner than this!, 21 Jun 2008
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Bjork for many years and regarded her as one of the most amazing and original singers in the whole music world. However my intake of her work has been very limited, i have listened to alot of the Sugarcubes and many individual tracks but it has taken me many years to take in a full LP. Well today i had house work to do and my girlfriend recommended that i give this one a listen and how pleased i was to do so. The opener 'Human Behaviour' was incredible and really set off my interest and in no time atall i was scrubbing away in joy at the incredible music i was hearing. Her voice is beyond description and each listen brings a new dimension. As the album progressed i was greeted with many delights that were both ecclectic and exhilirating. It went from House to Jazz to complete alternative lo-fi and then back to House again. With inbetween was her singing in a car park somewhere. You get the idea anyway it was alternative brilliance from start to end. Listen to this LP it will fill you with happiness and help with housework immensley. And before anyone looks at that as a critisism, i am a strange fish who just likes music whatever i do. Highlights included 'Human Behaviour', 'Venus as a Boy', There's More to Life Than This', 'One Day' and the amazing 'Play Dead'.
An absolute modern classic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Debut like no other ..., 29 Dec 2005
By 
G. Bowden "genejezkova" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
Out of all of Björk’s albums, 1993’s "Debut" is most likely used as her calling card by most music critics and fans. Many argue that the Icelandic noisenik has produced better stuff since her first foray into dance music (by my own admission anyway, she most certainly has), but the secret to Debut’s success is its mellow buoyancy, an almost clandestine succession of beats, synths and jazz flourishes held together by the most distinctive voice of the last decade. At once serene and mischievous, with an especially rambunctious vocal front and centre, "Debut" is certainly her most accessible LP with regards to the emotional territory it explores.
Of the more prominent themes on the album, there is observation and integration, no doubt facets of life Björk was animatedly experiencing herself having arrived in London to roost after years spent entrenched in Iceland’s punk scene. Björk, in the throes of first-time experience, is clearly having a ball with this new soundscape of blips, bass and sampling, as evidenced best by her opening mantra, “Human Behaviour”, a song concerning the first impressions of a new world laid before a fledgling soul. “There’s no logic,” she sings, but it doesn’t make it any less “irresistible”. The more dance-oriented flavourings of the CD communicate this effervescent longing effortlessly, key tunes being “Crying” and the singles “Big Time Sensuality” and “Violently Happy”.
Between the dance breaks, however, we find contemplative musings and wistful expressions of love, be it maternal, physical or emotional. As proved by songs later in her career, Björk is an especially engaging singer of all things love precisely because she sings about what and love feels like as opposed to trilling sugary platitudes that roll like sweet nothings from many a singer’s lips. And a lot of this has to do with Björk’s own supersonic delivery. In “Venus As A Boy,” Björk coquettishly sings about her lover in lustful reverence but never once does it suggest porn or taboo like so many singers who try to be sexy. In “Aeroplane”, her longing and exasperation never grates, yet nevertheless remains beguiling to listen to. Her cover of Johnny Burke and Jimmy Van Heusen’s “Like Someone In Love”, aided by a harp and a sparingly used string section, is the closest she gets to over-egging the mix, but thankfully stays just the right side of winsome due to the earnestness and over-emphasis on specific vowels and syllables.
Of course, Björk isn’t alone on this record, as the hand of über-producer Nellee Hooper is unmistakably present throughout. One could easily call this a duet album, with Hooper’s steady hand guiding Björk through the maze of London dance culture. With Hooper’s help, Björk’s palette reaches some interesting places, even providing the singer with the cutest moment of her career in “There’s More To Life Than This”, having her run into the toilets mid-number in a hushed rapture. Key collaborators also enter the fray more than once, particularly a pre-Mercury Prize winning Talvin Singh on hand to add some extra swoon to the proceedings with his customary tabla and strings on the likes of “Come To Me” and “Aeroplane”. It is Hooper and Björk’s show, however, and the two prove to be a natural foil throughout. By the time “The Anchor Song” has played out, a loving paean to her homeland and the only song Björk produced entirely herself, we are left with a moving tribute to what dance music can truly achieve in the right hands.
And, as life-affirming and beatifically poignant as "Debut" often is, it is the same reason that hampers it from being truly astounding. Though the slight and graceful emotional substance of the CD and Björk’s reliance on one producer gives it a completeness that some of Björk’s subsequent works have lacked, one cannot help but feel that something is missing. This is exacerbated on the UK edition of "Debut" with the inclusion of Björk’s barnstorming collaboration with David Arnold, “Play Dead”, tacked onto the end of it. Divine as it is, not only does it stick out a sore thumb, but it also jars with the effortless ebb and flow of the album that precedes it, as well as hint at a drama and resonance Björk, given the chance, could well and truly achieve with her voice. A minor quibble, but thankfully, it doesn’t deter from what a truly great "Debut" album Björk and Nellee have come up with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 90's albums! It's the one and Only Bjork!!, 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
This is a class album. Bjork's debut album is incredible one of the best albums to come out of the 90's. The album contains a number of single releases, when i first listened to this album i was shocked and stunned. The opening track is 'Human Behaviour' which is incredible, along with tracks 'big time sensuality' 'play dead' which is incredible love the orchestra sound and is class. My favorite on the album would be 'like someone in love' which is a great record. Love the acoustic sound, brillant. 'Venus as a boy' is incredible, great song and love the music. Bjork has such a unique voice, maybe some would disagee but you cannt take away her difference in music. 'Anchor Song' is also good, and just every track on the record, if this review wasn't enough then i am disappointed. It's an album of the 90's not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 31 July 2001
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
I first bought Post, so when I purchased Debut, it was with some excitement and trepidation. I remembered such delights as Venus As A Boy, Violently Happy and Play Dead, but I wanted to know what else Bjorks primary offering was about.
And, yes, there are a few tracks which have me reaching for the SKIP button, but to gloss over them with words such as "bland" is just too easy. They all have a purpose on the album, and all contribute to it.
Stand-outs to me are "More To Life Than This", "Violently Happy" and "Play Dead", but every single one of them deserves a mention.
Well worth a purchase if you already have Post and Homogenic. You have to have the original trio, otherwise how will it all make sense????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest solo act of the 90's?, 20 Dec 2006
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
Bjork does seem to be one of those performers which is either loved or hated. For many years I couldn't seem to get on with her sound until getting her 'greatest hits' album a couple of years ago. I figured it's going cheap why not pick it up and have a listen. I have to admit that the remixes on the 'greatest hits' album are more to my liking than some of the original album material, but I can't argue with pop perfection such as 'Human Behaviour', 'Venus As A Boy' and 'Big Time Sensuality'. Other highlights here are 'The Anchor Song' with its weird honking horn arrangement and 'Play Dead' with that incredible widescreen sound. If you know about Bjork then this review is superfluous, if like me you are a recent convert looking to dip your toe in the water I can't think of a better place to begin than her debut solo album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every home should have one!, 3 Oct 2007
By 
no name (manchester/england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Debut (Audio CD)
being the first main stream album to be heard by the masses from bjork many wondered whom she was but few forgot her, debut is one of those albums that every one should have much like alanis morrissette's jagged little pill album, no matter how old it gets it'll allways be a favorite of mine.Venus as a boy" & human behaviour are sublime and its one of those few albums that can be played right through without the need for skipping tracks as theyre all first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Debut
Debut by Björk (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews