Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars208
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

You cannot fit all of Marvin's hits on a single CD but this collection has most of the essentials. From a British perspective, one advantage that this has over the double CD (Very best of, which was compiled in America but released in both the UK and USA) is that it includes three UK top ten hits that are not on the double CD, these being Onion song (supposedly with Tammi Terrell, though Tammi was too ill to record the song and a sound-alike substituted), You are everything (with Diana Ross) and Abraham Martin and John (which was an American hit for Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, not Marvin Gaye).

There is no room on this CD to explore Marvin's career in depth, but it does contain all his important British hits (some minor hits have been omitted) and on that basis, it provides an excellent overview of Marvin's career. Nevertheless, before buying this, you may wish to compare it with the double CD, Very best of.
0Comment|49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2000
This album brings us the type of music which has inspired a whole generation of HIP-HOP and R&B stars, you can tell as oon as you hear this album that Marvin Gaye was one of the greatest performers to ever grace the music scene! it includes clasics like Mercy Mercy Me and also some inspiring duets. This is an album for all ages and i doubt that no one who listens to it will say otherwise a truly clisic album bringing together some of the great man's biggest hits.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
You can't get more soul or a sweeter sound than Marvin Gaye's voice. This is a real must if you want something to touch your heart and soul and relax into some amazing feelings. Buy it or you're a fool missing out on some legendary songwriting...!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2012
there's no perfect 'best of' or 'greatest hits' for any artist as everyone's tastes differ... a 'greatest hits' is more straightforward as it contains mainly the hit singles - a 'best of' is more open to debate... all the Marvin Gaye compilation albums look excellent and contain all the obvious hits and choice album cuts -there's not much to choose between them - but for me this is the one i'm going for as it's the only one that contains 'abraham martin and john' which is a beautiful and incredibly moving song (a hit in 1970 and first heard by me from my brother's motown chartbusters vol 5 album).....i guess there must be legal reasons why this fantastic song is not on the other best ofs, as surely for those who have heard it must love it.......
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Good quality sound, lots of tracks, just what I was hoping for. It has been played a lot since the purchase. This now sits amongst my current most played albums. Received quickly etc. Ticks all the boxes and another reason why internet shopping is taking over!! When you live in the Western Isles of Scotland... this process is all to easy and makes it such that the shops are now on your doorstep. Thanks.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
I was pleased to get a fast delivery. The CD was of a very good quality. Didn't keep it long though my son soon borrowed it! Haven't seen it since.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Excellent selection that reminds you how dominant Gaye was in his era and confirms him as one of the great, poetic lyricists. He hasn't got Otis Redding's voice and the music doesn't quite have the durability you want it to have - but nostalgia would be a poorer emotion without him!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
A great collection of songs. I mainly bought it for "You're all I need to get By" following the recent fantastic advert using the song. But Marvin Gaye is a great talent and there are some wonderful tunes to revisit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
This was a replacement Cd as I had my entire collection of CDs covering a period of 30 years Stolen! one of my all time favourites just love Marvin Gaye , took me back to when I was a young woman and to happier times x:)))
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Brilliant CD for all Marvin fans buy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)