Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put-off by the atrocious cover!
'Fingers and Thumbs (Cold Summer's Day)' is the track on this album that sums it up. Far more thoughtful than the band's usual lightweight pop, it is lush and emotive and is possibly my favourite song from the synth duo. 'Rock Me Gently' is another strong track; Andy Bell has foregone the camp theatrics for once, and his maturing voice perfectly complements Vince Clarke's...
Published on 3 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
It seems as if when the nineties started to draw to a close that Erasure turned their backs on the style that had made them famous in the late eighties and early nineties and stopped making upbeat pop classics and went for a deeper, complex, more mature sound as is displayed on their self titled album from 1995. The album is filled with emotion and feelings as is...
Published on 17 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put-off by the atrocious cover!, 3 May 2009
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
'Fingers and Thumbs (Cold Summer's Day)' is the track on this album that sums it up. Far more thoughtful than the band's usual lightweight pop, it is lush and emotive and is possibly my favourite song from the synth duo. 'Rock Me Gently' is another strong track; Andy Bell has foregone the camp theatrics for once, and his maturing voice perfectly complements Vince Clarke's restrained (are we talking about Erasure here?!) keyboards.
This may have been released when the band were in danger of slipping from the public's consciousness, but it is a powerful statement that there is more to this band than frothy chart music; it also represents the point at which the band grew up. Highly recommended for those who are unfamiliar with Erasure, and a must have for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erasure's deepest (most advanced) work, 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
This is (so far) the most 'serious' work done by Erasure, but sadly also one of the most underrated albums of the 90s(!)
Most of the tracks runs 6-7 minutes (71 minutes total), and they all show how Vince Clarke can make his famous analogue synthesizer, the Oberheim Xpander, sound emotional.
The album, 'Erasure', even though many fans disliked the album, does in fact also show their well known trademark of electronic (but not necessarily techno) pop.
This album IS Erasure's most beautiful album. The opening Intro 'til the 10 minute track, "Rock Me Gently", is a complete, melodic joy. The only track I don't really appreciate is "Grace" (track #6).
"This is as close as we'll ever get to ambient", Vince Clarke commented when this album was released. I certainly hope that they'll give it yet another try, because this one is definetely an extraordinary work. It must have required a lot of effort to make some of the more complicated arrangements, such as the long synth solo on "Rock Me Gently", work.
Perhaps the reason why this album failed to "win the crowd" was that nobody expected Erasure to write long ambient tracks?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 17 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Erasure [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It seems as if when the nineties started to draw to a close that Erasure turned their backs on the style that had made them famous in the late eighties and early nineties and stopped making upbeat pop classics and went for a deeper, complex, more mature sound as is displayed on their self titled album from 1995. The album is filled with emotion and feelings as is highlighted on the ballad "Fingers And Thumbs". As a whole the album is on par with anything they have released but there are no obvious hits here. Whereas their previous albums all had definite hit singles on them but also had a couple of fillers on them, this album has a more balanced feel to it. This is also the first time that the band have toned down their dance based sound. Although it's somewhat of a change for the band it's not that bad but does take a couple of listens to get used to. The highlights of the album include "Stay With Me", "Rock Me Gently" and "Guess I'm Into Feeling", tracks which would be a welcome addition to any Erasure album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art, 25 July 2003
By 
P. Alcock "pa8682" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
This album is a fantastic sonic experience. The songs are all very strong, the arrangements gentle, rhythmic and synthetic but suit the tracks pretty much perfectly. Erasure have hit many highs over the years, but this will stand the test of time more than their other more contemporary-soundng material. Listen to it in headphones, and let each track grow on you, as they all will. I wish I could have written this stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated album, 11 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
I'm not into superlatives, so I'm not going to describe this as the best album ever - music is too personal for that. But what I can say is that in my 400+ CD collection that includes just about every musical genre, this is the album I listen to the most. It is so 'textured' that you hear new melodies and sounds underlying each song every time you listen to it, which is why I haven't tired of it.
You probably have to enjoy electronic dance music to listen through it in the first place. But if you do, you will be rewarded with one of the best produced albums in your collection. It is Vince Clarke at his best. He is the synth master, layering tones and melodies, one on top of another. Combined with one of Andy Bell's best vocal performances (excluding Rock Me Gently, in which his high pitched wailing grates somewhat), it is certainly Erasure's most underrated album.
Few albums come together as a whole as well as this one, too, where each track seems logically to follow the other. Despite many upbeat tracks its ambience makes it more of an 'easy listening' than a 'pop' album, which is no doubt the reason for its lack of commercial success and why it was disliked by many Erasure fans. But if you are a late convert to Erasure like me, you will enjoy it simply as the best showcase there is for Vince Clarke's incredible musical talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong album throughout, 25 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. A. S. Jones "andy jones" (stockton on tees uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
Been an erasure fan since the innocents and I've been through every album they've done and this is one of the stronger and more consistent albums they've put out. Doesn't have the sparkle of the circus or the innocents and shows them to have matured. Nothing new here so no suprises for us fans but overall a good strong album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Ambient Masterpiece, 27 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
I am relatively familiar with Erasure's music, although I cannot say that I know too much about their work pre-I Say I Say I Say.
That aside, though, I feel compelled to express my opinion on this, their self-titled album. To begin with, this is an album that you will probably HAVE to listen to in its entirety in one sitting (or, in my case, over and over in one sitting) in order to grasp the full impact behind this work of art. Each and every track is a beautiful, emotional, melodic journey straight to the heart. When taken as a whole, however, they form to produce one of the most cohesive "concept" albums ever (truly this album is greater than the sum of its individual parts). THIS IS WHAT MUSIC SHOULD BE. Some have expressed their discontent with the length of the album (over 70 minutes) or individual songs (the longest clocking in at nearly 10 minutes). This is an example of the attitude toward and unfortunate state of "pop" music today. True art cannot, and should not, be judged by predetermined expectations of various constraints. Certainly in some cases albums tend to ramble on with unnecessary tracks or endless vocal repetitions. This is not the case here. If you are a connoisseur of romantic ballads and are weary of the current slate of musical offerings, I HIGHLY recommend this brilliant work by arguably the most accomplished synth-popsters in recent memory. You may end up wishing the album went on for another 70 minutes....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most underrated album in the world ever!, 29 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
From the first to the last, this album lifts and lulls you and drags you around on a synthesizer ride of dramatic proportions- a real rollercoaster. As Clarke & Bell stated, it is the closest that they will get to an 'ambient' album, but they get very, very close; maybe a little too close for some, hence the poor album sales. Not many tracks stick out as Top 10 singles as they are all well produced, mixed and written- but two particular tracks 'Angel' and 'Rock Me Gently' really should have been used. 'Angel' is the rollercoaster ride that could have showcased the album and 'Rock Me Gently' (which was released in Europe) drops you into a trance-like state showing the Mr Hyde side. Overall an excellant album, well worth forking your hard earned cash out for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars johnnyphoenix, 4 Dec 2008
By 
J. Maher (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
I have been an avid fan of Erasure since they began and I love every album they have done but this one is by far my favourite. It has such a variety of music especially rock me gently which has an instrumental that I can only compare in greatness to "echoes" by pink floyd. It has some trademark erasure sounds on it but there are some very sad songs too. Overall it is not only my favourite Erasure album but one of my top ten albums EVER!!! Anyone who doesn't like this must have no soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erasure's "Oxygene", 23 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Erasure (Audio CD)
Consistently melodic, layered and sweeping, this bears and rewards repeated listening incredibly well. There are some immediately accessible and catchy songs here ("Angel", "Fingers and Thumbs"), but it's the organic development of the whole album that I really enjoy. The use of old analogue equipment adds greatly to the charm. Unlike any of Erasure's other albums (marvellous though they are) I would love to hear them pursue this direction again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Erasure
Erasure by Erasure (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews