Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great, memorable songs on this cd
Anyone who buys greatest hits albums should already be pretty clear as to what they are looking for. This cd does not disappoint - Erasure had some great songs in the eighties and all of them are here. Their sound is the smallest bit like the Pet Shop Boys - a bit synthesized, but I still like it. This also includes "Blue Savannah" which is one my all time favorite...
Published on 16 Nov 1999

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite what I expected
Described as brand new yet 3 of the songs skip, iv wiped the disk numerous times to no avail they still skip
Published 11 months ago by jen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of great, memorable songs on this cd, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
Anyone who buys greatest hits albums should already be pretty clear as to what they are looking for. This cd does not disappoint - Erasure had some great songs in the eighties and all of them are here. Their sound is the smallest bit like the Pet Shop Boys - a bit synthesized, but I still like it. This also includes "Blue Savannah" which is one my all time favorite Erasure songs. "Oh L'Amour" and "Ship of Fools" are also included. There is one song called "She Won't Be Home" that is not included here which I vaguely recall having a cassette of when I was younger - this is all that is missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proper Pop, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
I quite liked Erasure when I was in the '80s. I quite liked them when I was in the early '90s. I bought this on the strength of 2 songs: 'Stop!' and 'A little Respect'. When I stuck it in my car CD player, I remembered instantly the numerous other excellent POP songs this duo created - and there's 20 of 'em on this disc. There was a couple I wasn't familiar with, and one that I didn't like originally but now do. Quality music - whatever the genre - stands the test of time, and this is the epitome of SynthPop. Catchy as hell. Better than 'The Pet Shop Boys' fo' shiz! Prolific hit makers, Erasure were (are?) very good. Forget Kylie Minogue, get this instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't jump before you look, 27 April 2009
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
Although often noted more for vocalist Andy Bell's high camp and extravagant costumes, Erasure remain second only to Pet Shop Boys as the most successful dance/pop duo of all time. From the infectious 'Sometimes' - their first hit proper - to the sublime 'Stop' and darkly intense 'Drama', they were rarely out of the Top 10 between 1985 and 1995. This really is a Greatest Hits collection and is bursting with memorable pop songs; the fact that there is now a second 'Best of' album says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly Passionate, Romantic, and Bitter, 27 Jan 2004
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
I'm not often enthusiastic about club-dance-techno-pop bands, most of which seem determined to copy each other to the point of exhaustion. But I'll make an exception for Erasure, which has a great deal more going for it than the vast majority of music you're likely to hear the next time you hit the dance floor.
Chief among the band's assets is vocalist Andy Bell, who has a remarkably rich and passionate voice--but Erasure does not rely on Bell pure and simple. It is the combination of Bell's vocals, a bouncy beat, and the often unexpectedly thoughtful and frequently bitter lyrics that do the trick. The result is a consistent sound that crackles with a sensuous passion, and at its best creates one memorable cut after another.
POP! suffers from the usual failings of every compilation album, which is to say that it generally goes for the obvious choice even when a lesser-known selection is clearly superior. But even so, it offers a solid overview of Erasure, from the purely danceable to the disquietingly emotional playing against the dancefloor rhythm. "Ship of Fools," "Chains of Love," and "A Little Respect" are perhaps the side of Erasure that are most recognized--but when the selections turn to such intense and lyrically sharp selections as "Drama" and "Love to Hate You," you know that you've stumbled into something special.
The compilation, in my opinion, saves the best for last, running a gamut from the intensely passionate and romantic "You Surround Me," to the purely elegant "Blue Savannah," to angry "Chorus," to the moody and introspective "Am I Right"--the latter of which may well be single finest thing in this collection. As a garnish, the collection finishes up with a very enjoyable cover of Abba's "Take A Chance." But whichever you happen to prefer, it's all good stuff. Recommended.
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY POP-TASTIC!, 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pop: First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
An absolutely brilliant album by the guys. I absolutely love "Sometimes", "Oh L'Amour" and "Love To Hate You". Andy has a great voice and Vince is a brilliant man of music. I wish I was like him-playing the synthesizers. All in all, a brilliant and POP-tastic album! Deserved to get to Number 1. Let's hope they continue their succes and I wish that either "Sometimes", "Oh L'Amour" or "Love To Hate You" are re-released in the charts. it'd be brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic albulm, 4 Sep 2002
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
One of the best groups of the best decade ever for music - the 80's. Erasure recorded some fantastic tunes, and to hear Sometimes, Blue Savannah, Oh l'amour et al on the same albulm is pure bliss. It's really upbeat, feel-good music. Definatley reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got no fault with it at all, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
Yes it was FairPlay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Erasure, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
A great album that was bought to replace my vinyl copy. I would highly recommend the seller and the album. Delivery was prompt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd of Erasure, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
This cd came perfectly packed. It was to replace our old cd which didnt sound right. This one is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some unforgettable classics on here, 24 Nov 2013
By 
K. Ashton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pop! - The First 20 Hits (Audio CD)
There are several really excellent and memorable tracks which every cd collection should have. For instance "Who needs love like that ?" , "Heavenly Action", and my two favourites "A little respect" and "Stop".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pop! - The First 20 Hits
Pop! - The First 20 Hits by Erasure (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews