Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best single CD of Dave's music, 26 Jan 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
Dave was a brilliant musician - you might describe him as an electric guitar virtuoso - and a good singer (though some of the early tracks are instrumentals), whose records often reflected his fifties influences, but his music always sounded fresh and exciting.
His first success came with Sabre dance, an incredible cover of an old instrumental that reached the top five in the UK and was quite unlike anything else in the late sixties pop charts. He had no further success until I hear you knocking topped the British charts in 1971 and also became a huge hit in America. This song was originally written and recorded by Smiley Lewis but was also an American hit for Gale Storm. However, Dave Edmunds made the song his own with his high-energy performance. Later in the seventies, Dave had further British success with Girls talk (an Elvis Costello song) and Queen of hearts, an original song that later became a huge American hit for Juice Newton. It is ironic that his biggest success as a recording artist was with a cover version, but that when he did come up with a great original song, it was somebody else who had the American hit. Baby ride easy is a country duet with Carlene Carter that is unlike anything else here.
Some great covers are included in this anthology, often better than the original, including Born to be with you, Singing the blues, Almost Saturday night and The race is on - so there's some rock'n'roll, some blues and some country in there. Bruce Springsteen wrote From small things big things come for Dave to record.
It isn't possible to do justice to Dave's music in a single CD but of those I've looked at, this appears to be the strongest. If you really enjoy high-energy rock'n'roll music, I recommend you pay the extra for the Anthology double CD but of the single CD's I've looked at, this appears to be the strongest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think this is the best., 28 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
My knowledge of Dave Edmunds was 'I hear you knocking.' I thought he was an American and it was a one off. Then I found out that he also did 'Girls Talk' and I realised it was true; he has a powerful distinctive voice. This album probably beats the others because it has the songs that people like me remember and more. Loads of dancy stuff. Queen of Hearts, I didn't even realise that I knew this (written by Howard DeVoto of the Buzzcocks and Magazine?). Buy it because you will realise there is more stuff that you recognise than you thought you would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK AND ROLL AT ITS BEST, 3 Sep 2010
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
This 'first ever comprehensive overview of the legendary Welsh rocker's career....' as the blurb reads, dutifully as promised, contains virtually all of his career hits. Throughout his long performing life (and indeed he is still performing successfully nowadays) Dave has stayed loyal to his roots of good old 50's Rock and Roll music - simple, uncomplicated, unadulterated and dance inducing.

There isn't a weak, wishy-washy, bland song among them - all fine examples of the founding genre of music that laid the foundations and gave inspiration to the sounds and styles we hear today.

Personal favourites? Wow that's hard but if pressed would select "I Knew The Bride", "Almost Saturday Night", and "Girls Talk".

Whatever your musical likes and dislikes, it would be difficult not to really enjoy this collection from this highly talented Welsh Wizard of Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A near perfect intro to deceptively clever Dave, 6 April 2009
By 
AGC2070 (Ashford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
It is impossible to be depressed with an album such as this. Totally unpretentious, good old fashioned rock and roll with a bit of country thrown in. Personal Favourite - Crawling from the Wreckage.
Most people remember DE for one song only (I hear you Knocking) but you will recognise many others such as Queen of Hearts, Girls Talk and the two Spector-esque covers.
Sabre Dance is out on its own with DE in progressive rock mode. The guitar playing here is quite frankly stunning and my only criticism of the album is that the similarly impressive classical rendition, Farandole, is not included, making at least two tracks of each genre DE has tried.
That said, you may just want to augment this collection with an early collection containing this little gem and others such as his cover of Bob Dylan's Outlaw Blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure rock 'n' roll at its best, 30 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
Not the usual cliched rock and roll; all the songs given the Dave Edmunds treatment, but without losing the original feel and appeal. Great guitar playing, great vocals, great choice of material (except for the horrific Sabre Dance).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank Goodness I Found This CD, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
I've just retired. I have run a music business in the past and now for the first time for so many years, I have begun to catalogue and programme from my vinyl, cassette and CD collections. Have you ever looked back over your collection and realised there were / are gaps ? My research has been fabulous, listening to tracks, artists, arrangements and live gigs I'd almost forgotten ... then came the job of filling those gaps.
" Chronicles " was one such album - all the astonishingly underrated Dave Edmunds' best known tracks - bringing back terrific memories of " Rockpile " and " Nick Lowe " and " Carlene Carter ". Remember his work for The Prince's Trust Concerts in the 1980's ? Dave Edmunds was the first man the legends of the time turned to, to form a backing band of stars to support all the artists on the shows ... Magic ! I had all the vinyl, but now I have this CD for my collection and it is being programmed onto my music management system as I type.
A CLASSIC part of this countries rich legacy to world music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A legend, 19 Sep 2013
By 
A. Lowe (Northwich, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
Dave is a legend, a real "Rock 'N' Roller and they are few and far between nowadays. Keep rocking Dave and we will keep listening.
Alan Lowe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh record producing wizard, 17 July 2013
By 
Colin Cramp (Isle of Wight, U.K.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
This cd covers recordings from 1968, commencing with Dave Edmund's legendary version of "Sabre Dance" (released under the name of his band Love Sculpture) through to the 1980s. Good news - as the title of the cd indicates, the tracks are in chronological order; all the hits are here; and the cd is accompanied by an excellent 8 page booklet. My personal favourite tracks are "I Knew The Bride", and the aforementioned "Sabre Dance".
As most people probably know, Dave Edmunds is also an accomplished record producer. His work includes recordings by the Stray Cats, Status Quo, Everly Brothers, and Shakin' Stevens among many, many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dave edmunds, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
very nice cd for a very nice price. not available in belgium,so client was very happy with it.
thanks again music shop lommel belgium
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chronicles, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chronicles (Audio CD)
For me a good representation of some of Dave's classics. I like most of his music, this one doesn't disappoint if you're a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronicles
Chronicles by Dave Edmunds (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews