Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CRIMINALLY OVERLOOKED MASTERPIECE
This is dream theaters' most overlooked album, which in my opinion is a terrible oversight. As most of the other reviews have mentioned, the production is much more primitive sounding than later releases, but for me this is a positive thing as it allows the listener to hear the sound of a legendary band in their infancy. Everyone has to start somewhere!
The signiture...
Published on 5 Oct. 2005 by J. M. Worthington

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not great
Unfortunately i first got to listen to WDADU after the awake release. Production is very raw. I don't mind dominici's voice but the most embarrassing moment has got to be when he sings the very last killing hand lyrics. He just can't reach that last note so he turns to false setto. Just listen to La brie on the marquee version, he screams it out as if to say i can do it...
Published on 21 Mar. 2005 by justin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CRIMINALLY OVERLOOKED MASTERPIECE, 5 Oct. 2005
By 
J. M. Worthington "johnnyfox5" (Aberdeen, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Dream & Day Unite (Audio CD)
This is dream theaters' most overlooked album, which in my opinion is a terrible oversight. As most of the other reviews have mentioned, the production is much more primitive sounding than later releases, but for me this is a positive thing as it allows the listener to hear the sound of a legendary band in their infancy. Everyone has to start somewhere!
The signiture sound of the band is evident from the very beginning and what the album lacks in polish it more than makes up for in quality, as it contains some of DT's finest songs to date such as "a fortune in lies", "the killing hand" and the wonderfully epic combination of "afterlife" and "only a matter of time". Origional vocalist Charlie Dominici really shines on this album, hitting notes in places that James LaBrie could only dream of, and turning in performances of the songs that LaBrie has yet to equal on the live stage.
This album laid the foundations for the classic follow up album "images and words", and stands head and shoulders above laclucstre subsequent albums by the band such as "awake", "train of thought" and "falling into infinity".
If you are a Dream Theater fan then this is an ESSENTIAL PURCHASE.
Dont make the mistake that many have made before you and overlook this little beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, completely defines Dream Theater., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dream Theater's first album, the only one with Charles D on vocals, but they really work on this album and it's quite incredible to think that this was their first album. Reglardless of all the aesthetic reasons to buy this album it is my favourite because all of the tracks keep me locked in with loads of melodic vocals and instrumentation. Quality of recordings is not the best as this was recorded when things were a little less advanced, but takes nothing away from the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dream theatre,, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Dream And Day Unite (Audio CD)
I now have all dream theatre albums,When dream and day unite,being the final album added to it.This is one of their earliest,but not one of their best.It does not detract from it the pleasure
of the quality of the overall album. A good 4 out of 5 stars..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Dream And Day Unite (Audio CD)
Brilliant album! As a hardcore Dream Theater fan, it is amazing to here them when they first started out, firstly to compare how much they have evolved as a band, and also because its just brilliant to here what amazing musicians they were all the way back then aswell as now!
Would definitely recommend to any Dream heater fan, and also to anyone who is a fan of music in general. If you want to here to technical skill and awesome musicianship, these guys are who you want to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked? Well, it's all too easy to do so., 29 Dec. 2009
By 
J. Paul (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Dream And Day Unite (Audio CD)
Let's face it, this album is by far Dream Theater's worst recorded. As such, many of the parts are lost in a hazy mix of soaring keyboards, fluctuating guitars and little or no bass. Personally, I think that many overlook this album because of the lack of Labrie. Charlie Dominici is simply not of the same calibre as the current man. Therefore, this album just doesn't sound quite...right.

Firstly, there are some songs which are pure class. A Fortune In Lies, Ytse Jam, The Killing Hand and Afterlife are like some of Dream Theater's more well known songs; they are excellent, which means 50% of the album is excellent. However, it's from there where things start to go downhill. Status Seeker was meant to be the band's first ever shot at mainstream hit. So what do they do? Give it one of the most complicated intros on the album, which at its simplest is in a 5/4, 6/4 time. Oh dear. Light Fuse and Getaway is very forgettable, as is The Ones Who Help To Set The Sun, which has a simply weird keyboard intro. Only A Matter Time is...meh. Essentially good, but repetitive and does get lost at some points.

In a nutshell, if you're a diehard fan, you'll want this album, as it does have some great songs on it. It is a better album than most, but if you're new to DT, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars High Standards, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Dream And Day Unite (Audio CD)
Not the best of DT's output by a long way. Better than some band's best however, the group continues to amaze and improve. if you are a completist, you will not be diappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it was bought as a present so can't tell you my opinion on it but the person I bought it for loves this group so I am sure he wi, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Dream And Day Unite (Audio CD)
Arrived before the due date, it was bought as a present so can't tell you my opinion on it but the person I bought it for loves this group so I am sure he will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is nothing like as good as their latest stuff but you often ..., 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Dream And Day Unite (Audio CD)
I'm an ardent DT fan. This is nothing like as good as their latest stuff but you often find this with rock bands. Still good virtuoso musicianship though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insight to dream theaters apprenticeship for DT Anoraks, 7 Dec. 2000
This review is from: When Dream & Day Unite (Audio CD)
Although this album is not the most succesful recordings DT ever endeavoured to produce it still has all the mental prog outs that you may have come to expect. A product of their early years it features Vocalist Charlie Dominici on vocals. Although Dominici is obviously a highly trained singer his style is a little wailing. Some tracks on here can also be found on live albums with James Labrie on the Mic and this proves that if you can get past the vocals the Music Is still DT. The sound is also unusual with the guitar and bass highly compressed and focused to the mid frequencies. When all is said an done, however, this albumn did spawn classic tunes such as YTSE jam, The Killing hand and A Fortune in Lies (the latter two featured on Live at the Marquee with Labrie). Other personal faves of mine are Light fuse and get away (with a great intro) and Afterlife. A must buy to complete the collection of the Avid DT fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but not great, 21 Mar. 2005
By 
justin (Pontypool, Gwent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Dream & Day Unite (Audio CD)
Unfortunately i first got to listen to WDADU after the awake release. Production is very raw. I don't mind dominici's voice but the most embarrassing moment has got to be when he sings the very last killing hand lyrics. He just can't reach that last note so he turns to false setto. Just listen to La brie on the marquee version, he screams it out as if to say i can do it much better than you charlie. Highlights for me on WDADU is the killing hand, YTSE JAM (majesty backwards)fortune in lies and afterlife. I think the others drag on too much, due probably because i haven't played this cd as often as the recent classics of dream theater. Althought the production is bad, Dream Theater did re-release this a couple of yrs ago with a better mix. I can't commentate on that as i haven't heard it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Dream And Day Unite
When Dream And Day Unite by Dream Theater (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews