Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest live album ever made!!!!!!!
This is the first i had heard of dream theater after it was recommended to me by a friend. I now own all of their work but this is without doubt their best release, and the best live album ever.
It only has 6 tracks but don't be put off by that, as they are all very long (3 in excess of 8 minutes)and every single second is pure joy.If you like dream theater and do...
Published on 4 July 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not great...
This is a CD that really only needs to be bought by fans of Dream Theater, as it contains some nice performances of early songs such as The Killing Hand and Surrounded, with James LaBrie at his best, before his throat injury later in his career.
However, with the exception of the instrumental track - Bombay Vindaloo - which itself is nothing special, all of the songs...
Published on 26 May 2009 by J. C. S. Reading


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest live album ever made!!!!!!!, 4 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
This is the first i had heard of dream theater after it was recommended to me by a friend. I now own all of their work but this is without doubt their best release, and the best live album ever.
It only has 6 tracks but don't be put off by that, as they are all very long (3 in excess of 8 minutes)and every single second is pure joy.If you like dream theater and do not own it you must buy it immediately as you won't be dissapointed. James Labrie sings outstandingly throughout, and at some moments you forget you are listening to a live CD, such is the quality of their music. John Petrucci is superb and is the world's most underrated guitarist. Don't be put off by the fact that a few songs are from the first album. I rate this very highly, but there are many who don't. Even so, the versions of killing hand and fortune in lies on this are completely different. Contains a far superior version of the DT classic 'pull me under'and brilliant versions of surrounded and metropolis 1. This is one of the best albums you will ever buy by one of the world's greatest bands. DON'T MISS IT!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute joy !!, 2 Mar 2003
By 
Philip Lewis (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
This was the first Dream Theater album I ever heard, buying it on a whim in a second hand record shop after seeing a brief clip of them on a late night heavy metal tv show (Raw Power),having been impressed. Not being a big fan of live albums I wasn't sure if I'd like it. How wrong I was!! It turned out to be the most satisfying, mind blowing heavy rock I'd ever heard, and I became an instant convert to the band. James LaBrie's vocals are perfect on this album, he could really hit those high notes back then; that is, he could scream in tune, as a proper heavy metal vocalist should. Also a fab version of "Surrounded", better than the studio version on Images and Words. Yes it's a ballad, but a wonderful track. Dream Theater are sometimes accused of being pretentious muzos who create overly long and complex songs. However, this is the very reason why they are also loved by their fans. This is the thinking man's (and woman's)heavy metal band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With a voice like a chainsaw!, 7 April 2002
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
If you are a dream theater fan, buy this album now (no i am not getting commission from Amazon:). The best metropolis i ve heard so far, a crystal clear version of surrounded better than the original one from the album and James LaBrie in a scary peak performance.. Do not miss it! State of art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not great..., 26 May 2009
By 
J. C. S. Reading "Haribo Kid" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
This is a CD that really only needs to be bought by fans of Dream Theater, as it contains some nice performances of early songs such as The Killing Hand and Surrounded, with James LaBrie at his best, before his throat injury later in his career.
However, with the exception of the instrumental track - Bombay Vindaloo - which itself is nothing special, all of the songs are available on other live albums, and with other DT live albums being 2 or 3 discs long, and this being only one, the others represent better value for money.
That said, this is a good listen, and it should be bought by fans - maybe once they have bought everything else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this album is just great! if you like d.t. buy this! now., 6 Oct 2000
By 
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
if your a fan of dream theatres other albums and haven't heard this one buy it now! tracks like the killing hand and pull me under are just amzing! you won't believe youe ears! everyone i have talked too says the album is the best they've done yet and is a true orginal! well, what do i say to that? their right!
a must get ablum! if you don't there must be something wrong with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DREAM, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
CD in very good condition. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - Bad description, 22 Feb 2010
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
As other customers reviewed already sufficiently on the album itself I want to give a warning concerning the description. The track listing given here on Amazon is incorrect. The CD included to my surprise only 6 tracks instead of 8 as stated above. The listed track "Miracle and the Sleeper" is missing and the titles "The Killing Hand" and "Another Hand" form together the 5th track on the album. "Surrounded" was to my disappointment only the normal six-minute-version and not a longer live-performance as I came across before buying this CD. Personally I also prefer the studio version of "Pull me Under" to the one on this Album. I mainly bought the CD for the track "Bombay Vindaloo" though. And this was definitely no disappointment but worth it. In summary the mistake in the track listing can be disappointing but knowing about it the album is still "Dream Theater" and therefore absolutely great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic live album, 6 Oct 2000
This review is from: Live At The Marquee (Audio CD)
This album is taken from a show at the Marquee Club, London in 1993 and is absolutely briliant. The highlight is an incredible performance of the little known 'The Killing Hand' epic from Dream Theater's first album, with James giving the best vocal performance of his career ! The album is only let down by the inclusion of 'Surrounded', a horribly cheesy track that is embarrasing to be caught listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Marquee
Live At The Marquee by Dream Theater (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews