Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why has this been Forgotten? A call for a Second edition
Explaining Dreadzone to people is really tricky. The second you tell them it's reggae, it's like the blinkers come on & whatever you say on the subject will be ignored as most people's impression of 'Reggae' is Sean Paul & 'Mr Lover-Lover'!

This is such a pity as I just wish they would understand how awesome Dreadzone can be & how broad the church of Reggae is...
Published on 20 Dec 2009 by Magic Lemur

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Second best
Bought this after seeing Dreadzone perform an absolutely awesome set at Cropredy 2009. Live, they reminded me a little of Bob Marley and the Wailers. This CD has some good tracks on it (Life, Love and Unity, Little Britain and Captain Dread) but it doesn't quite capture the energy and depth of their live performance.
Published on 6 Oct 2009 by High Speed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why has this been Forgotten? A call for a Second edition, 20 Dec 2009
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
Explaining Dreadzone to people is really tricky. The second you tell them it's reggae, it's like the blinkers come on & whatever you say on the subject will be ignored as most people's impression of 'Reggae' is Sean Paul & 'Mr Lover-Lover'!

This is such a pity as I just wish they would understand how awesome Dreadzone can be & how broad the church of Reggae is (if it is Reggae at all...)

This album is a case in point as it is filled with excellent music which has survived the test of time. Like The Fat of the Land, Leftism or Jagged Little Pill, the content has lost none of its power & its influence seems to stretch throughout late 90's dance.

Furthermore, go to see them live (or listen to Dreadzone Live at Sunrise) & songs like 'Little Britain' & Zion Youth are up there with the best of modern times. Curiously you will also discover that songs that sound cluttered & imperfect on here (e.g. 'Captain Dread') have been evolved to become polished perfection.

And yet this album isn't celebrated with the greatest, despite its abundance of diverse sounds (e.g. A Canterbury Tale), meaning that only a select few know about it.

Originally my attitude to this was that it was good to keep the secret. This is true, but given the lame state of music nowadays, I have a better idea:

With books, authors often print new editions to keep them up to date. My suggestion on this album is that Dreadzone should publish a second edition (including the re-recorded editions of all the songs), which will take the brilliance of this album, fuse it with the gradual improvements made through the live shows & then present the finished product to a whole new generation.

In this way, people could understand how amazing this album is & see great music with a fresh, unblinkered pair of eyes. If there is any justice in the charts, then songs like 'Little Britain', Shining Path & the evolved versions of 'Captain Dread' & Zion Youth (Dreadzone Mix) should wipe the floor with anything X factor provides & us loyal fans will have the pleasure of saying "I told you so!"

Sound a good idea? If it does, then make sure you ask Dreadzone at their next Gig & if we succeed, then it will be worth all the effort...

Alternatively, you could just buy this album & experience the brilliance of what this edition has to offer. Still, it'd be good if it did happen, wouldn't it?

P.S. As I'm such a huge fan of this album, I decided to write reviews of each of my favourite MP3's off of it. In order they are:
Little Britain
A Canterbury Tale
Captain Dread
If you want to try before you buy, then I seriously recommend the 1st two (together, because of the sample at the end of 'Little Britain') for a flavour of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Album from the House of Dread, 4 Feb 2003
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
It's been said that the proof of any bands' talent is in the second album; Dreadzone had a mammoth task to just keep up with 360degrees, the first album.
But they did, albeit with a strangely effective blend of Olde English samples combined with their usual inspiring use of dub. Second Light is like a spliff - fuelled trek across the English Countryside, taking in caves, oceans and sailors (could just be me!)with Mr. Kipling at your side. Theres an even more spititual feel about this album; it is so chilled out it just fills you with a sense of peace and well being. I can't say enough good things about Dreadzone, so when i found out they would no longer be touring "as a band" (we lose money) it was something of a blow. However, if you live in London you can catch Greg at his DUBWIZER sessions at various locations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Dread Here., 25 April 2006
By 
Mr. I. D. "ID HI" (Guildford, Surrey UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
Keep going back to this CD AND IT'S FANTASTIC SOUNDSCAPES TIME AND TIME AGAIN.It is one of those albums that you just have to put on again as soon as the last track has finished. Loved the single Little Britain when I first heard it and was amazed to hear them sample a 'Neo Geo' track of Ryoichi Sakamoto(of Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence fame). If you like a bit of chilled out dub, then this is your baby!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of heaven, 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Light (MP3 Download)
I adore this album. It has a rich timeless quality to it, the joyous mix of dub reggae with english folk is inspired and wonderful.

It also holds memories for me of a good friend who passed on not too long ago, it was one of her favourite albums too (she bloody nicked it! That's why I bought the download!)

The download is good quality and doesn't distort at all, buy it, you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
Joyful, uplifting, special, unique. Play it when you're up, play it when you're down, it will always make you feel good. Ridiculously cheap too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever made, 18 Feb 2008
By 
D. Prieto "dandandan" (Bournemouth,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
This is such a classic album, which still sounds fresh 13 years after it was made. It has brilliant basslines, great production and tunes that just stick right in your head. It has a wonderful mix of upbeat folky dub madness like Little Britain and Captain Dread, alongside ambient dub excursions like Shining Light, Cave Of Angels and A Canterbury Tale. These ambient tunes are what really make this album special, taylormade for listening to when out amongst nature like walking in mountains, or sitting round a campfire at dawn. And I never get tired of them. In fact this is a perfect album for anyone who goes travelling to a strange new land, I've listened to it in Morocco and on the Inca Trail in Peru and it just seems to fit those special moments. Play it loud and go to some magic places in your body and mind heh heh "alright my hearties follow me!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second Light... oh so lush, 15 Feb 2002
By 
ColinD (Bristol / Bath UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
Lush album - lush toons with beautiful ambience, creativity, vibrance and happy-smiley-feeling:)
First heard this album when at university in the mid 1990s. Little Britain is the top toon from it, awesome - creative genious!
Buy it one and all:) :)
Love
-Bridge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sublime, 9 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best I've heard for many years, having listened and purchased Sound after hearing it at a friends I decided to buy this. My personal favourite is "A Canterbury tale", a tune of lush melodies and haunting vocals I could listen to this on repeat all day and never tire of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
I bought this when I was on a downer about life and events. Within 5 minutes of receiving it I was dancing round the kitchen!! Haven't heard it in years & bought in on a whim. Am very glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More audio bliss from Dreadzone, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Light (Audio CD)
A great album that has been missing from my collection for too long. Arrived quickly and well packaged. Little Britain is amongst my top 10 tracks. Love it, love it, love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Second Light
Second Light by Dreadzone (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews