Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'DR HOOK - 'THE LOVE SONGS'
'Doctor Hook' and The Medicine Show' formed as a group in the late Sixties calling themselves
'The Chocolate Papers' hailed from 'New Jersey' U.S
They changed their name to 'Doctor Hook and the Medicine Show' a couple of years down the
line, here in the U.K the group first entered the Charts back in 1972 with 'Sylvia's Mother' which
charted at number...
Published 4 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the songs jumps and the case was smashed ...
One of the songs jumps and the case was smashed to bits but what do you expect for such a small price
Published 2 months ago by kim powell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'DR HOOK - 'THE LOVE SONGS', 15 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
'Doctor Hook' and The Medicine Show' formed as a group in the late Sixties calling themselves
'The Chocolate Papers' hailed from 'New Jersey' U.S
They changed their name to 'Doctor Hook and the Medicine Show' a couple of years down the
line, here in the U.K the group first entered the Charts back in 1972 with 'Sylvia's Mother' which
charted at number two, they didn't surface again in the Charts again until 1976, now calling
themselves 'Dr Hook' with another number two - 'A Little Bit More' I guess this is really when the
Group really arrived Chart-Wise.
The follow-up song also in 75' and yes also a love song -'If Not You' which peaked here in the
U.K at Number Five.
The group really did have a knack of producing some of the best love songs from that era, for me,
at least, the group reappeared in our Charts in 79' with one of my all-time-favourites -'More Like
The Movies' which peaked at number Fourteen,, the Group achieved a U.K Number One the same
year -'When Your In Love With a Beautiful Woman' ( a favourite with many)
The following year 1980 the group had two more U.K Top-Ten-Hits with 'Better Love Next Time'
(Chart '8') and 'Sexy Eyes' (Chart '4') after which the Hits tended to dry up, they did have three or
four lower order successes.
Except for 'Sylvia's Mother' all other hits mentioned are on-board this Twenty-Song Album, among
my other favourites of the group's songs on-board - 'Years From Now' and 'A Couple More Years'
The group disbanded in 1985, leaving behind many memorable Love-Songs which are reflected
upon this release.....Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
Good quality sound from the CD, arrived quickly, would recommend this CD if you like the group, all the hits are on this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the Dr. Hook Classics, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. D. J. Gentry "David J. G." (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
Certainly the very best of Dr. Hook. All the classics. Great music for the car or relaxing at home. Every track is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOOKED ON DR. HOOK, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Alexander Bryce (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
My old 1970s cassettes of this band ,after years of faithful service, sadly died and I was looking for a CD representing the best of their work. I found it in Sharing The Night Together [The Best of Dr. Hook]. Nearly all the hits are here plus "A Little Bit More". Ray Sawyer [the one with the patch] and Dennis Locorriere interpret beautifully some of the best love/pop songs of this era and indeed also wrote several of them. You can't help but be moved by the sad More Like The Movies, ponder the implications of being In Love With A Beautiful Woman or laugh out loud at the clever/risque lyrics when Everybody Is Making It Big But Me. I nearly docked a star as Cover Of The Rolling Stone and Sylvia's Mother are conspicuously absent, but why be nit picking as there are 20 crackers on this budget priced, but fine sounding album.For any old fans this is a good compilation of most of their best loved songs and for anyone new to Doctor Hook this is a good place to start.
A quality album from a top quality band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
very good pleased with purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Hook, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
Iv always loved their albums now have them all on cd and in my car so i can play them all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good old classic must get some more of them in the future. Love Dr Hook! What more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One of the songs jumps and the case was smashed ..., 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
One of the songs jumps and the case was smashed to bits but what do you expect for such a small price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CD, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
i bought the CD as a present for my mother who really likes Dr hook. the quality of the product was excellent and i am really imprest with how fast it was delivered. i recommend Amazon to other members of the public as i find it easier that eBaY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dr. hook at his best, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sharing the Night Together - The Best of Dr. Hook (Audio CD)
seller very good as was cd very pleased indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews