Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album ever made
I tend to avoid live albums because they usually highlight deficiencies while failing to capture any of the excitement of the event. Even so, I own some superb and well-regarded examples by such as Thin Lizzy, Blue Oyster Cult, UFO and Status Quo. None are as good however as "Stupidity" by the classic original Dr Feelgood line-up.
By the time the booming bass rhythm...
Published on 24 Oct 2005 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
6 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spirit of 75
How to describe this much-praised album? You could say that it captures the UK's best pub band at the height of their powers. You could say that it's stripped down R&B from a time when the term still meant something. You could say that it laid the foundations for the punk explosion that was just around the corner, although there are quite a few claimants to that title...
Published on 2 Sep 2008 by 70s Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album ever made, 24 Oct 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
I tend to avoid live albums because they usually highlight deficiencies while failing to capture any of the excitement of the event. Even so, I own some superb and well-regarded examples by such as Thin Lizzy, Blue Oyster Cult, UFO and Status Quo. None are as good however as "Stupidity" by the classic original Dr Feelgood line-up.
By the time the booming bass rhythm of "Roxette" starts up, you almost feel as if you're in the audience marvelling at the best three-way rhythm section in British rhythm and blues. This is what the Stones started out doing, but executed with a tighter groove. It builds from a brief, relatively routine version of a Chuck Berry song into a series of classic performances. It's characterised by Wilko Johnson's distinct, choppy guitar playing against Lee Brilleaux's vocal and harmonica, yet also underlined by bass and drums. The band seem to reach a peak with "Going Back Home" from which they never come down.
"Stupidity" is unlike other acclaimed live albums of the 1970s in not being a heavy-riffing, hard rock album nor is it a double-set, though some good bonuses have been added to the CD release. But you'll never hear a better example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album - EVER, 26 April 2005
By 
John Pickering (Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
No question, this is simply the best live album you can buy. All the other reviews are spot on, this shows all four members of the band at their best - for example, who else but the great Wilko could play the one chord solo in "I'm a hog for you baby" and make it sound so good? Not a duff track on it, I've played the vinyl version regularly since it came out in 1976, and I can still picture the scene at Sheffield City Hall, May 23rd 1975, as a seventeen year old me leapt about down the front with all the other sweaty Feelgood maniacs. One listen to this and I'm straight back there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistable!, 8 July 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
Dr Feelgood was at their best playing live, and even though most of these live versions stick close to the originals, they are played with so much energy and nerve, making this one of the very best Dr Feelgood albums.
This is down and dirty R&B with crunchy stop-and-go guitar riffs. Lee Brilleaux' vocals sound even more rough and gravelly than usual, and his harp playing is sharp as shards of broken glass. The performance of the three Johns gels completely, from the less-is-more approach of guitarist John "Wilko Johnson" Wilkinson, to the rock-solid foundation of bassist John B. Sparks and drummer John "The Big Figure" Martin.
This is some of the best and juiciest rock n' roll you're ever likely to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!, 30 July 2005
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
The best Brit R&B album ever. NME made this their Album of the Year when it was released and rightly so. The original Feelgoods playing live as if their lives depended on it. Wilko's (Mick Green's willing apprentice) choppy guitar licks are a joy to hear, you'd think he was playing two guitars at the same time. If you like this kinda stuff, make sure you check out The Pirates and The Inmates who are just as awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stupidly good, 4 Aug 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
This fabulous live album went to no.1 in the album charts in 1976, which is quite remarkable if you think back to that era. Glam and Progessive Rock had happened and disco & Punk/new wave were about to be huge. So it makes no sense that a rhythm & blues band album should get to no.1.

Listen to the album though and you begin to understand why Feelgood were so successful. Its a straightahead R&B album (in the old sense) with an un-schooled and English 'lads night out on the town' feel to it. Yes they certainly were influenced by Muddy Waters, Chuck Berry etc but they brought something new the material, and of course wrote some classics themselves. 'She Does It Right' remains my favourite original with Lee Brilleaux belting out the vocals and Wilko Johnson playing incendiary guitar. Of the covers I'd pick their version of 'Riot on Cell Block No. 9'. The atmosphere on this track captures the live feel brilliantly.

Another aspect of Dr Feelgoods success was the visual element. 30 years later its easy to forget the stage presence these guys had. Remember Wilko on tram-lines skating across the stage! Its a shame they didn't film any of these shows from 1975. You can catch film of them performing on the Old Grey Whistle Test DVD, which is pretty good.

The CD runs to 47mins, has 15 tracks, with some interesting sleeve notes about the background to their success during the mid 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Feelgood at full throttle, 13 May 2000
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
This album of live performances at Southend and Sheffield, show Feelgood in their prime, with that pulsating beat and catchy guitar riffs of Wilco, Lee's brilliant vocals finishes the sound of brilliantly. The songs have so much go and zest, pure energy, is a must for oldies party nights...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best at Their Best., 16 Aug 2000
By 
S. C. Hall (Mildenhall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
Stupidity is Dr. Feelgood at their best, playing live. No other band could touch them in their day, and this should not be missed. Sadly their relative lack of success in the singles charts, masks was a great band they were on stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamental reason why this is the BEST Live Album, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Bobby D "Bob" (Windlesham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
I bought this in the late 70's a few years after it was released. The first time I played it I was totally amazed and and I am still playing it today 30 years on. This is what Rock-n-roll is all about 110% energy exuding from every track, you can feel the sweat rolling off the walls. However there is one fundamental reason why this is the best, all the tracks that were released on the original studio recordings are recorded, here, with so much guts and presence that they surpass their studio versions. This is a feat that I have never heard on ANY other live album. The boys from Canvey Island were absolutely brilliant on the night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 23 Oct 2007
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
I was still listening to this album yesterday, I have the original vinyl edition and I have decided to buy the cd. This album is raw power, not a single moment of respite, your feet will be tapping, you will sing along, whatever, this is a great album for a bad mood: 100% guarantee to make you smile and enjoy. Must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made to make you feelgood., 5 May 2009
By 
Mr. P. N. Cairns (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stupidity (Audio CD)
As other reviewers have said i also tend to steer well clear of live albums,most are filled with over long drum or guitar solo's.This cd however is an exception to the rule,it showcases Dr Feelgood at the height of their power.From the start you can feel the atmosphere build from the first cord of i'm talking about you,and the pace never lets up.It has been said that stupidity was the first live cd to go straight in at no 1 on it's release.If you only buy one live cd &you like your music with a raw edge,get this cd.It's also worth searching out the extended version,which i have this version contains 24 tracks not 15!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stupidity + 'live '76-'90
Stupidity + 'live '76-'90 by Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews