Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah the feelgoods, 22 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
Remember them from the 70's but didn't really appeciate their style nor talent. That was until I watched them performing Roxette on one of the 'Whistle test' DVDs I got for xmas - then it all came back.
Sitting, as a teenager in the 70's, watching for the exact same show live on TV, hypnotised by Wilko's robotic march and Lee's powerful voice. Purchasing the Singles - The Ua Years, confirmed what I missed all those years ago - the style, simplicity and depth of talent. This album is a must, 26 tracks and not a bad one amongst them.
Buy it soon, appreciate forgotton talent but don't leave too late, like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1970s Alternative To Led Zepplin and The Who, 20 Feb. 2008
By 
William T. Luther (NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
I've often said that "stadium rock" crap of the mid 70's spawned punk rock. I'd like to think it also spawned "pub rock", a U.K. mid 70's phenomena that incorporated a low rent, no nonsense gang of r&b loving musos who played in pubs to smaller audiences. No one better exemplifies this description than Canvey Island's Dr. Feelgood. Led by lead singer /gob iron blower Lee Brilleaux and lead string bender Wilko Johnson (who played in the choppy style of the legendary Mick Green of The Pirates), "the Feelgoods" (as they were known to fans) were balls up rock n' roll that didn't need 20 minute guitar solos, or lasers, blow in the back of your Roller or champagne and caviar. Their debut LP 1974's "Down By The Jetty" was all about stale pints of bitter, John Lee Hooker 45's, beat up guitars and crisp sharp r&b purists keeping it short, simple and (in today's vernacular) real. All in that order. One listen to "Down By the Jetty" and its opening cut "She Does It Right" and you can hear where the licks and choppy chord patterns at breakneck speed on The Jam's first two LP's came from. Their next LP, 1975's "Malpractice" follows the same seamless r&b non stop party formula with originals lodged in between covers. Their third LP, 1976's "Stupidity" was recorded live gives us an idea what the band were capable of outside the studio. Wilko Johnson moved on and was replaced by Gypie Mayo. Gypie played on the band's only UK top ten hit, "Milk And Alcohol" a rocking tale about going to see a gig by washed up, half dead r&b star. In my estimation its one of the better post Wilco Feelgoods #'s (along with "As Long As The Price Is Right", which was my first exposure to the band in the 80's). You can't go wrong with so many great Feelgoods tracks in one place!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They should have been bigger..., 28 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
I saw Dr.Feelgood live back in 1975 at their peak while many bands like Stones and artists like Clapton were busy taking drugs rather than making good music. This album is great compitalion or Feelgood's best singles. It's great music, no nonsense stuff for people who love rock'n'roll played by real instruments, no gimmicks, no dancing girls. No videos. No tv adds. Just plain good music for people who love rock'n'roll and r&b
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PROTO PUNK, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
Well... if you remember the mid 1970s... You will remember,
how BORING it really was... The music scene was dominated
by PROG-ROCK, or, Gary Glitter/Bay City Rollers pop... it
was rubbish, to say the least... And then, Dr. Feelgood came
about... a band, that didn't sing about pixies and goblins, and
looked like they could handle themselves in a fight... They
were the John the Baptist, to Punk Rock. A foretelling, as to
what would come next... A proto-punk band, who had attitude.

So many bands from the USA and UK, were influenced by them,
including Blondie. And many a punk band supported them too... I
have never heard a bad word said about them, as they open the
doors to show, how much could be done with so little. Sadly, Wilco
Johnson, was by all accounts, a pain-in-the-arse, but most genius's
are... He was sacked from the band in 1977, and they kind of lost
their MOJO, after that... Even tho, they had a massive hit, with
Milk and Alcohol later on. In Johnson's own words, he made every
mistake he could have after leaving the band... It's a pity, because
as a unit, they were s*** hot.. Dr. Feelgood, are a very important part
of the 1970s Rock music scene... don't take my word for it, just listen
to what was before and then, after them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soooooooooooo Good, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The UA Years (MP3 Download)
So laid back, so upbeat, so `feelgood'!!!! You can't keep still listening to this album - downloaded it while looking for something else - bonus!!! Excellent - can't wait to put it on to go to work!!! I'll be walking in with a smile on my face that's for sure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, 16 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
The music is almost entirely five stars of course, and the booklet is pretty good with dividing up which track was on which album, but this cd has a misleading track listing on its Amazon page.
There's a note in small letters on the reverse of the case saying "Because of time limitations this CD has two tracks less than the album and cassette versions". So if you don't mind going without tracks 25 and 26, which includes their classic 80s track Don't Wait Up and a 'new recipe' for Milk & Alcohol, which are the two reasons I bought this, then you'll be fine. I'm returning this because I already have most of the other tracks on the Feelgood albums, and it's those mid 80s ones which can be harder to find. This product is not as advertised, and the listing needs amending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars original rockers, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The UA Years (MP3 Download)
a must for wilko and brileaux fans ....a great collection of memories....down to earth,foot tappin genius!well worth the money..go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise Package, 17 April 2014
By 
Bryn "bryn" (newport south wales uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
Bought this cd after watching the excellent Oil City Confidential documentary and i have to say it is a superb cd with a version of See you later alligator to die for all round excellence at such a bargain price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good old pub rock and roll, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
Used to love this band especially with Lee as the vocalist. Shame he's not around to watch these days. Had to play this a few times over before I really enjoyed it, as it was a bit samey, but most of the tracks were good old rock and roll that got you smiling and I would thoroughly recommend it. Things date, but this guy will always stay fresh as far as I'm concerned. Brilliant band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashion rock and roll., 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Singles: the U.A. Years + (Audio CD)
Excellent album that takes me back too many years but I still remember the vitality and sheer enjoyment of the era.
If you want an uncomplicated, melodic and fun record this has too be amongst your choices. Back in the night, Hong Kong Money, Down at the Doctors abd ofcourse Milk and Alcohol will take you to days when musicians were characters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Singles: the U.A. Years +
Singles: the U.A. Years + by Dr. Feelgood (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews