Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars65
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2002
There's an old show business story about a team of TV writers sitting around in a room telling the funniest, most off-the-wall jokes that anyone had ever heard. After a few minutes, one of them says "OK, it's time to stop and actually write the show." They then proceed to sober up and turn out the usual TV fare.
The "Derek and Clive" albums are like sitting in a session like that - they're terrific if only for the stream-of-consciousness raw liquor humor they contain and which the public usually doesn't see because it fails to lend itself to conventional forms and delivery. This first album still has pieces that resemble the usual Cook & Moore sketch comedy, but there are still many great examples of how the comedic mind functions when let completely loose.
WARNING: Don't expect this to be like the Frog & Peach. It's filthy, politically incorrect, and mind corrupting but also hilarious and priceless.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2002
Listening to Derek and Clive is like eavesdropping down the pub. Best appreciated whilst inebriated. It's mysogynistic, homophobic, contains some vicious swearing and contains a fair amount of drunken abuse.
It's also possibly the funniest thing I've ever heard.
When you start listening to Derek & Clive, usually in private given the above, inevitably someone will overhear, and then shortly afterwards ask to borrow it. This is how almost everyone starts.
If you're easily offended, sensitive, or prefer your humour to be politically correct and/or sophisticated, don't bother. Otherwise, enjoy.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2004
This is the first (and best) of the Derek & Clive albums - and what an album it is!

Recorded in a studio Manhattan in 1973 during nights off from the American run of their 'Behind the Fridge' live show, & interspersed with live material recorded in front of a small audience of friends in a club in Greenwich Village, it actually remained unreleased for 3 years.

During this time 'bootlegs' of the sessions had mysteriously been surfacing, prompting this belated 'offical' release - which proved a deserved commercial success.

Kicking off in fine style with the hilarious (& now classic)tale of Clive's worst job ever (involving Jayne Mansfield & some,er, unwanted lobsters...), a swear-fest, songs, & even more obscure and hitherto unchartered topics of humor, it is guaranteed to have you in fits of laughter throughout.
Definitely not for the easily offended though!!

I can remember crying with laughter at the song that finishes the album (Jump) - and you still keep laughing, however many times you listen to it.

Basically it's a foul-mouthed version of the classic 60s Pete & Dud characters - & never have I heard people make swearing sound so funny!

I have to admit, when I first heard this album I was a child, and didn't even know who Peter Cook & Dudley Moore were!
This seems crazy now, as I know now that they are two of the unsurpassed comic geniuses of the 20th century - & this album is only one facet of their diverse collective creative canon.

But, if you've never heard this album before... what are you waiting for? Go buy it, play it to your friends & get ready for some very serious giggles!!
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2002
if you enjoy having sore ribs from laughing, then this is the CD for you. The way in which Pete and Dudely make up conversation on cue about the most outragous things is amazing. There is not a person I have let listen to this cd that has'nt had tears in their eyes from laughing. Although done in a stupid, vulgar, and quite offensive tone, those of you who love comedy in all its forms should buy this and appreciate its brilliance of making you laugh, without control.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
It's.... well.... er....rather... mm. I bought this for a male friend on his request. I think generally aimed at entertaining blokes. It's, for me, a male sense of humour. I would advise all adults to not let your children get their hands on it. More four letter words than I thought possible in one sentence, but my friend thinks it's absolutely GREAT! That's why five stars!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2000
The first of the 'Derek and Clive' albumss, this grew from Peter Cook's desire to record a comic monologue about extracting lobsters from Jayne Mansfield's bottom. Along with a bunch of other sketches featuring Dudley Moore, it was released as if by a fictitious comedy partnership called 'Derek and Clive' (Dudley and Pete, in that order).
The rest of it is summed up as Peter Cook delivering expletive-filled comic monologues, whilst Dudley Moore attempts to interrupt. The machine-fun splatter of profanity is hilariously over-the-top ('This bloke came up to me', for example), but gets boring after a short while, and Dudley Moore seems like a naughty schoolkid being goaded on. At the end there's a 'Beyond the Fringe'-style sketch about the blues, which seems worryingly tame but is still quite funny.
It's all fairly harmless, schoolboyish humour. On the next two albums the humour got darker and darker, until by the brutal 'Derek and Clive Ad Nauseum' it was basically a drunken Peter Cook constantly shouting abuse at Dudley Moore.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
I bought it for reasons of nostalgia, as I used to listen to it thirty-odd years ago. It is of course very crude, I knew that - I did still find myself wincing a few times. It is also laugh out loud funny in places. I can't say I will be playing it very often.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Bought this ages ago and only just reviewing it now, I must listen to it again. Very very funny, very inappropriate. No chance anything like this will be made and published again with the media savvy entertainers we are fed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
The original and the best. Just where did Peter Cook get all his ideas? A true master assisted by good old Dud. They truly compliment each other. You must listen to this on your own to begin with and then, perhaps, play it in the car with friends/relatives. But make sure their humour is yours!!!! Some sketches are better than others, but this simply means some are VVVV funny and others just VV funny!
If you have never heard the CD before beware it IS hard hitting stuff. If you are a fan of the 'oh so UNFUNNY' comedians of today, then perhaps you should give this a miss, but if you like Pete and Dud then get it now. PM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
Had this years ago and could still recite some of the tracks word for word. Nearly wet myself laughing when I listened to it again. Hilarious
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)