Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comedian's album
There's an old show business story about a team of TV writers sitting around in a room telling the funniest, most off-the-wall jokes that anyone had ever heard. After a few minutes, one of them says "OK, it's time to stop and actually write the show." They then proceed to sober up and turn out the usual TV fare.
The "Derek and Clive" albums are...
Published on 11 Jan. 2002 by Mark A. Banash

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I remember laughing like an idiot at this 30 years ago
Arrived in the delivery window as described no hassles

It's hard to give this a review rating because it is as I remember it - sort of. I remember laughing like an idiot at this 30 years ago. But then that's what I must have been.

Now I see it as not so funny, repetitive, forced and not as much of it.

weirdly the only genuinely funny...
Published 2 months ago by tencsboc


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comedian's album, 11 Jan. 2002
By 
Mark A. Banash (Bedford, NH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
There's an old show business story about a team of TV writers sitting around in a room telling the funniest, most off-the-wall jokes that anyone had ever heard. After a few minutes, one of them says "OK, it's time to stop and actually write the show." They then proceed to sober up and turn out the usual TV fare.
The "Derek and Clive" albums are like sitting in a session like that - they're terrific if only for the stream-of-consciousness raw liquor humor they contain and which the public usually doesn't see because it fails to lend itself to conventional forms and delivery. This first album still has pieces that resemble the usual Cook & Moore sketch comedy, but there are still many great examples of how the comedic mind functions when let completely loose.
WARNING: Don't expect this to be like the Frog & Peach. It's filthy, politically incorrect, and mind corrupting but also hilarious and priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not going to change your sheets again, Mr Hastings., 29 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
Listening to Derek and Clive is like eavesdropping down the pub. Best appreciated whilst inebriated. It's mysogynistic, homophobic, contains some vicious swearing and contains a fair amount of drunken abuse.
It's also possibly the funniest thing I've ever heard.
When you start listening to Derek & Clive, usually in private given the above, inevitably someone will overhear, and then shortly afterwards ask to borrow it. This is how almost everyone starts.
If you're easily offended, sensitive, or prefer your humour to be politically correct and/or sophisticated, don't bother. Otherwise, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest album in the world... ever!!, 15 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
This is the first (and best) of the Derek & Clive albums - and what an album it is!

Recorded in a studio Manhattan in 1973 during nights off from the American run of their 'Behind the Fridge' live show, & interspersed with live material recorded in front of a small audience of friends in a club in Greenwich Village, it actually remained unreleased for 3 years.

During this time 'bootlegs' of the sessions had mysteriously been surfacing, prompting this belated 'offical' release - which proved a deserved commercial success.

Kicking off in fine style with the hilarious (& now classic)tale of Clive's worst job ever (involving Jayne Mansfield & some,er, unwanted lobsters...), a swear-fest, songs, & even more obscure and hitherto unchartered topics of humor, it is guaranteed to have you in fits of laughter throughout.
Definitely not for the easily offended though!!

I can remember crying with laughter at the song that finishes the album (Jump) - and you still keep laughing, however many times you listen to it.

Basically it's a foul-mouthed version of the classic 60s Pete & Dud characters - & never have I heard people make swearing sound so funny!

I have to admit, when I first heard this album I was a child, and didn't even know who Peter Cook & Dudley Moore were!
This seems crazy now, as I know now that they are two of the unsurpassed comic geniuses of the 20th century - & this album is only one facet of their diverse collective creative canon.

But, if you've never heard this album before... what are you waiting for? Go buy it, play it to your friends & get ready for some very serious giggles!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificentlty funny, 30 Aug. 2002
By 
Mr. Glen A. Pyper (Stirling, central Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
if you enjoy having sore ribs from laughing, then this is the CD for you. The way in which Pete and Dudely make up conversation on cue about the most outragous things is amazing. There is not a person I have let listen to this cd that has'nt had tears in their eyes from laughing. Although done in a stupid, vulgar, and quite offensive tone, those of you who love comedy in all its forms should buy this and appreciate its brilliance of making you laugh, without control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen if you don,t want to be offended, 5 Mar. 2015
By 
Janna Dean "Catgirl" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
It's.... well.... er....rather... mm. I bought this for a male friend on his request. I think generally aimed at entertaining blokes. It's, for me, a male sense of humour. I would advise all adults to not let your children get their hands on it. More four letter words than I thought possible in one sentence, but my friend thinks it's absolutely GREAT! That's why five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Semi-rude, 11 April 2000
By 
Mr. A. Pomeroy (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
The first of the 'Derek and Clive' albumss, this grew from Peter Cook's desire to record a comic monologue about extracting lobsters from Jayne Mansfield's bottom. Along with a bunch of other sketches featuring Dudley Moore, it was released as if by a fictitious comedy partnership called 'Derek and Clive' (Dudley and Pete, in that order).
The rest of it is summed up as Peter Cook delivering expletive-filled comic monologues, whilst Dudley Moore attempts to interrupt. The machine-fun splatter of profanity is hilariously over-the-top ('This bloke came up to me', for example), but gets boring after a short while, and Dudley Moore seems like a naughty schoolkid being goaded on. At the end there's a 'Beyond the Fringe'-style sketch about the blues, which seems worryingly tame but is still quite funny.
It's all fairly harmless, schoolboyish humour. On the next two albums the humour got darker and darker, until by the brutal 'Derek and Clive Ad Nauseum' it was basically a drunken Peter Cook constantly shouting abuse at Dudley Moore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it NOW, 21 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
The original and the best. Just where did Peter Cook get all his ideas? A true master assisted by good old Dud. They truly compliment each other. You must listen to this on your own to begin with and then, perhaps, play it in the car with friends/relatives. But make sure their humour is yours!!!! Some sketches are better than others, but this simply means some are VVVV funny and others just VV funny!
If you have never heard the CD before beware it IS hard hitting stuff. If you are a fan of the 'oh so UNFUNNY' comedians of today, then perhaps you should give this a miss, but if you like Pete and Dud then get it now. PM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had this years ago and could still recite some of ..., 21 Dec. 2014
By 
Jude (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
Had this years ago and could still recite some of the tracks word for word. Nearly wet myself laughing when I listened to it again. Hilarious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically foul & a constant reminiscence of growing up in the ..., 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastically foul & a constant reminiscence of growing up in the 80's. God rest their souls (assuming he's got a sense of humour).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not for the faint hearted, avoid if you are easily offended by bad language!, 22 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Derek & Clive [Live] (Audio CD)
This certainly brings back memories! Me and my mates were all about 17 when we got hold of this album. We used to take turns at each other's houses to listen to records and get as inebriated as our parents would let us, and it became a ritual that this went on the record player last. Fond memories of laughing so much we could hardly breathe!. Foul mouthed and shocking, yes. But when you're that age and drinking with the boys, just made it even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Derek & Clive [Live]
Derek & Clive [Live] by Derek & Clive (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews