Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2013
Initially released over 20+years ago, this edition boats some quality 'add-ons'. For Mode enthusiasts this is a must have. Forget about what others say and just take the time to sit and listen to the album.
Judge for yourself and gauge how progressive it was for the time. The innovation spurred by Some Great Reward, continues here. This album marks one of the pivotal points in DM's history. Accept it for what it is. It's an electronic classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 1999
This is one of their best albums, in my opinion. Not as dark as some seem to think. The lyrics are stimulating and the synth is unbelievable, as we have come to expect from the Mode. You can't take it personally, instead you have to listen between the words and hear the insights into society as a whole. "A Question of Lust" is excellent. Thoughtful, deep lyrics on top of brilliantly mastered music. "Somebody" is also great, with an interesting twist at the end which keeps everyone guessing and is a great conversation piece at parties.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
My all time favourite DM album. Re edited to sound louder and crisper.
"Death is everywhere, There are flies on the windscreen for a start"
How could radio stations not want to play that?
The DVD is really good as well with an interesting look into the making of the album.
A shame the extra tracks are not available to play like a CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2010
Following hot on the heels of 'Singles 81-85'
which contained the sublime 'Shake The Disease'
and callipso techno 'It's Called A Heart' comes
the album BLACK CELEBRATION an progressive
evolution on 'Some Great Reward'.
The music style and production of this album
is streets ahead of their previous offerings.
'Fly On The Windscreen' formaly a B-side was
grafted into the track list and enhanced the
quality of the album completely.
It's deliciously dark funky beat conjures up
a shadowy nether world of nocturnal naughtiness.
Martin Gore expands on the theme of relationships
'A Question Of Lust' - 'Sometimes' - 'Here Is
The House' and 'It Doesn't Matter Two'.
With 'A Question Of Time' we hear a new disturbing
theme, overtones of paedophilia or maybe an
observation of a 40' something Rolling Stone
dating a 13 year old girl?
'Stripped' is a atmospheric masterpiece,
venting exhasperation as social interaction
starts to wilt in the flood of technology,
and media manipulation.
'Dressed In Black' is a stab at sexual eroticism
before Madonna jumped on the bandwagon.
'New Dress' is a critique of the dawn of 24 hour
celebrity.
Dave Gahan sings about horrific news bulletins
punctuated by the worlds obsession with Princess
Diana's fashion fetish.
Also mentioning votes can change the world, decades
before Muse thought about the idea.
The album has three bonus tracks, the best of which
is 'Breathing In Fumes', now here is a tune that
must have inspired the Chemical Brothers and
Fat Boy Slim.
Oh What A Black Celebration this album is!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
On initial release I found this album a bit too heavy to handle, although I liked a lot of the singles taken from it. As a whole it was just so darned intense! My crackly vinyl went awry many years ago and was only replaced this week with an 'unremastered' CD at budget price.

This album improves with age, and I deliberately chose the version with 3 bonus tracks just to opt for the lighter tail-end (if I wanted). The intensity is still there, and tracks like "New Dress" and "Stripped" still sound dramatic even after all this time. I'd got so used to hearing Razormaid! extended re-edit of the former that I'd forgotten how much tighter the album track is! A pivotal moment for the band, even if a inordinate amount of material is sung by Martin (3 tracks in a row on 'side A'). However I still rate "Question Of Lust" as one of his finest, but "Sometimes" as one of his weakest fillers.

So, what is good and bad about this particular release of the album, with the light-coloured emblems on the front colour and the same cat no as the 1990 release? Firstly, it occasionally distorts, or rather picks upsome distortion on source material, such as the car engine effect loop on "Stripped" on the right hand channel, and the slightly annoying digital sounding click on the left hand channel during the intro of the same. Otherwise the sound is pretty good, if a little top-heavy in places. The copy I've got came with original 11 track booklet, so I don't know if that was always the case or whether the extra tracks were listed on the artwork too.

The 3 bonus tracks are nice extras, the extended mix of "But Not Tonight" is the UK 12" EP mix, not the US remix, and isn't half bad. "Black Day" is a short experimental interpretation of snippets from the title track, which actually works quite well as a closing track, and "Breathing In Fumes" is just awesome. One of the rare decent Mode 'dub' mixes, arguably!

This still isn't a favourite of mine, but it's definitely worth adding to the collection, whether this version or one of the 2006/7 remastered issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Depeche Mode at their very best. Bleak songs about a world of pain, all to tunes that make you want to dance. Well they make me want to dance anyhow, and that's a rare thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2010
I remember purchasing this Remaster/+DVD of BC the day of release as my previous copy was scratched. The sound quality in DTS through my surround sound system brings a whole new dimension to this album, you hear sounds that don't get picked up on the original cd mix. There is also vocal seperation, you can hear Dave from one channel and Martin in another but the whole thing is blended very well.
I know alot of people point to Violator as DM's best album which to a degree I can understand however, for me this is DM at there best. A great blend of non commercial songs, which are very dark and clastrophobic. It's also the last album to be produced by Gareth Jones and Daniel Miller at Hansa Studios, Germany.
If you are looking to buy a DM album I would start with Violator (being more commercial) and then buy Black Celebration, for me they are key albums to start with not to say the others are inferior. Hope this review helps and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2001
Black celabration is my faviourite track from Black celabration the album and many other depeche modes fans true favourite album. The opening sequence reminds from it's from halloween movie, and gets you bouncing around to the rhythm of the undescribable sounds created by the modes iniative move in black celabration. Daves voice stays in your ears for many weeks after listening to this track fgor the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
The 2nd half of the 1980's is my favourite DM period. Their pop star had burnt out and they were yet to reach the massive success of Violator.
Here they are getting darker - more 'goth' almost.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
If some album can be called Depeche Mode classic, it is defitnitely Black Celebration. After 27 years (I can't even believe that number), it's still black, beautiful and up-to-date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.55

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)