Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 10 November 2002
A good intro to a very under-rated band who never quite got the chart success they deserved in the UK despite being massive in the US.
This represents the output from their three main albums ("Pyromania", "Hysteria" and "Adrenalize") and contains a variety of rock classics, heavy rock, soft rock and rock ballads.
For the collector and enthusiast, this "Limited Edition" version also contains a 2nd CD of 9 live tracks recorded at the Don Valley, Sheffield in 1993. All 9 tracks (with the exception of "Foolin") appear in their original format on the 1st CD so you also get a chance to hear how they sounded live!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2003
After the Retro Active release in 1993 with its basic attempt to showcase new member Vivian Campbell and to clear the decks of old material still lying around with some potential such as the slow, melodic ballad "two steps behind", the construction of the album "Slang" was weighing down the group's shoulders.So they thought that if they really wanted to start afresh,they should finally compile all the greatest tracks of the past six albums,then release "Slang" to begin a new era of the lep."Vault" was finally released in October of 1995 and the experimental album "Slang" was released in the spring of 1996.
"Vault" starts of with a prodigious burst of energy (supplied by the saccharin of course!!)with the anthemic and dynamic "Pour some sugar on me" from the masterclass album "Hysteria" which supplies most of the material in "Vault" to be frank! Then it continues on to the catchy and rythmic rock hit "Photograph" which is defined in a raw and powerful way, mostly thanks to one of the greatest producers ever Robert John "Mutt" Lange who stands out as the unofficial sixth member of Def Leppard. Such hits as "Animal","Rocket","Hysteria" will leave you musically aching and "When love and hate collide" is ,in my opinion, one of the best rock ballads ever. The understated guitar solo and the lyrics are sublime and will surely stand the test of time!
Even though this album is the pure article, the album is maybe just short of a classic song like "Foolin'" to keep complete interest but I'm sure people really don't mind and would rather listen to "Heaven is" instead!! The album is all about chart suceess and maybe a "Best Of" would have fitted the bill to compile the definitive material of Def Leppard.
This album still is a classic though and I am sure people will be hooked on this for the rest of their lives when ever they are in need of some SHEFFIELD STEEL!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 1999
I wasn't much of a Def Leppard fan until i bourght this album it is truly one of the best musical experience's you'll have listerning to it and if you like rock ballards this is the one for you "When love and hate collide" is one of the greats it rings through the heart every time you hear it. This album is a not to be missed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2004
Not being the world's biggest Leppard fan, I picked this up at a car boot sale for £1, just to see what all the fuss was about. That was about a year ago. However, now that I've got into them, this album just doesn't do it for me. As someone else has said, you'd be better off with "Hysteria" and "Pyromania", both of which I now have on vinyl. I tend to skip most of the tracks on this CD now that I've burned my 2 vinyls onto CD. But having said that, it did get me into Leppard, and it's an OK starting point for anyone who wants to do the same. Cool tracks include "Pour Some Sugar...", "Love Bites", "Rock of Ages" and "Bringin' On...". The liner notes are a good read, and there's a little bit about each track from members of the band.
Leppard kick ass, and from the picture in the middle of the booklet, you'll see that a good few people would agree! This is an OK compilation, but "Hysteria" and "Pyromania" will keep you up all night with the air guitar on full!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2003
The Vault album is always a joy to listen to if you're not a hardcore Def Leppard fan. I always felt though that they had so much more to offer with their hits album. Their live performances are just so vibrant and with so much energy that it should have been in the hits album. I'm guessing another hits album is being considered and that this time round a double CD will be generated. Still the Vault album is one of the best albums to have in your CD collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2001
An excellent album, which charts the success of one of Britain's most underated rock bands. Every single track is in itself a masterpiece, yet the sum total provides the listener with a brilliant collection of both ballards and rock anthems which are second to none. Worth every single penny, you will listen to it again and again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2001
This excellent CD is packed with all the greats from Def Leppard's '80-'95 career. It's got loads of excellent rockers, and some great rock-ballads. This CD is a must for anyone who likes classic rock. Best songs: 'Action', 'Love Bites' and 'Rock of Ages'
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2002
A good intro to a very under-rated band who never quite got the chart success they deserved in the UK despite being massive in the US.
This represents the output from their three main albums ("Pyromania", "Hysteria" and "Adrenalize") and contains a variety of rock classics, heavy rock, soft rock and rock ballads.
If you like this, go out and buy Hysteria next and then you'll be hooked for ever!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2002
What can be said about this album that hasn't probably already been said?!, suffice to say this whole album is a true MASTERPIECE & this compilation is second to none!!, ANYONE who likes classic rock & dosen't have this album in their collection DEFINATELY should!!,the guitar is superb throughout as are Joe Elliot's powerful vocals & Rick Allen's brilliant drumming work!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 1999
I've had this album for about one year now and boy does it rock !! This is one of their better albums and it's a MUST HAVE if you are a Def Leppard fan. Lot's of old time classics. I went to see them in concert (Wembley) recently and they played all the songs on this CD. Great to listen to over and over and.....
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)