Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leppard at their Best
This Album was the one before the BIG TIME!. I can remember when I was 14 and my mate showed me this Album that he'd just bought and saying they were from sheffield and when we played it were blown away and so proud!.

It shows the true talent of the lads espeacilly when you consider how old they were. I think this is best Leppard Album as it it's songs are as...
Published on 22 Mar 2007 by Seasoned Rock Fan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Deft seconds
Not an out and out triumph but a very pleasing album that feels comfortable rather than loud and in your face. Although I suppose for the early 80s this was rather edgy (ish) music. DL have gradually grown as a band and their main strengths lie in good, honest rock. Their weaknesses are forays into party-rock and whimsical melancholy. That said, High & Dry consists mainly...
Published on 8 July 2011 by ratmonkey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leppard at their Best, 22 Mar 2007
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
This Album was the one before the BIG TIME!. I can remember when I was 14 and my mate showed me this Album that he'd just bought and saying they were from sheffield and when we played it were blown away and so proud!.

It shows the true talent of the lads espeacilly when you consider how old they were. I think this is best Leppard Album as it it's songs are as good as the Hysteria /Pyromania era but more raw with more balls and Punch which Leppard slowly moved away from when the became the stadium band a few years later. Gems on this Album are Mirror-Mirror, Hit and Run and Bringing on the Heartbreak.

This is a great starting point for any potential Leppard Fan and also anyone who has only sampled the Hysteria + years. They should buy this and see why this band made it and stayed there.

Still A great Band Live But can't help feeling they've sold out in recent years.. But then again don't they all..and we're still so Proud!.

Superb Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE greatest Lep album....yes, it's better than hysteria!, 4 Jun 2009
By 
Graculus (Macclesfield, Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
Yes, you read that right. *This* is Def Leppard at their very best. It ranks alongside Diamond Head's "white" album, in my humble opinion! I guess I'm showing my age, but I bought this on vinyl originally - and wore it out. I bought it on CD when it came out. And I'm still playing it. That's not to say Pyromania (which is almost as good) and the lesser Hysteria are rubbish, they are brilliant - in their own way - they just got increasingly too polished for my tastes.

Buy this, you won't be disappointed! Now, if they'd only bring out a deluxe edition......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff !!, 24 Oct 2005
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
This album pre dates the Phil Collen era of Leppard. But don`t let that put you off. This is Leppard at there most rocky. It`s a great album full of good songs that you`ll be singing for weeks after. It was infact this album that broke Leppard in the States as the band played support slots to more established names, Stand out tracks..... The opener "Let it go" has one of the best riffs you`ll ever hear " Hit & Run " "Switch 625" " on through the night" " Bringing on the heart break" to be honest there isn`t a bad track on the album trust me go buy it now you won`t be disapointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just short of epic, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
This is pure 80's hard rock right here for you. It doesn't get anymore authentic than this.

If you love Hard Rock / Classic Rock, you must own High 'N' Dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Deft seconds, 8 July 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
Not an out and out triumph but a very pleasing album that feels comfortable rather than loud and in your face. Although I suppose for the early 80s this was rather edgy (ish) music. DL have gradually grown as a band and their main strengths lie in good, honest rock. Their weaknesses are forays into party-rock and whimsical melancholy. That said, High & Dry consists mainly of the good stuff!

'Let it Go' has an infectious riff that permeates the song. It's not a true classic but it does a rather good job of creeping into your head. 'Another Hit & Run' is rather plodding and pedestrian but has a certain charm that raises it above simply 'ok'. It's also too long as there are no real memorable hooks. It's akin to a lot of AC/DC tracks without being half as good. The title track is made of better stuff while ironically being a party tune. It's not cringeworthy like some of their later efforts and is genuinely quite fun. It's with 'Bringing on the Heartbreak' where the album finds its feet. It is a ballad but it is a hard rockin' one that is slightly cheesy without being mawkish. A quality example of early DL and a blueprint for later classics such as 'Love Bites'. 'Switch 625' is an instrumental and is a very typical, driving, semi-epic track. It chugs along with assorted solos and rhythms and is a rather nice interlude.

'You Got Me Runnin' is another winner. Great chorus and a rockin tune. Very singalongy. And 'Lady Strange' has a great swagger to it. It's just very good rock music. 'On Through the Night' is slightly reminiscent of early Iron Maiden. The rapid-fire riff and old-skool feel adds to its charm. It's not a great track but it does feel dark and perfect for an 'on-the-road' song. 'Mirror Mirror' keeps up the good work with a more serious tone. The chorus is almost chilling which is something they have never been able to recreate except on the excellent Retroactive. 'No no no' unfortunately ends the record in a very mediocre style. It's DL with no thought or finesse. The bonus tracks don't add much as 'Bringing on the Heartbreak' was good enough in its original state and 'Me & My Wine' is very similar to 'No no no'.

There are no classics as such but a great deal of very good songs can be found after a few listens. Despite this, it is still only a middling collection at best. Better was to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Leppard Album, 26 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
This is more classic Def Leppard. This their second album had to be good to follow their debut album On Through The Night, and it was. 12 tracks of great Leppard music. The track Bringin' On The Heartbreak appears twice on this album the second time the track is done as a remix. Every song on this album is good. The ones I enjoyed the most were. Let It Go, High N' Dry, Lady Strange, On Through The Night, and Me And My Wine. But the others are also very good. The strange thing about this album is that the track "On Through The Night" doesn't appear on their debut album also called On Through The Night. But a great CD all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
love this album , I have worn my old tape copy out so had to it replace with a cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
Had this on vinyl years ago. Bought the cd as it was cheaper and less time consuming than transferring from record to disc. Brought back loads of memories. Every song is fantastic, nothing was put in just as a filler. Def lep at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeeeez - this just rocks., 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
Their best by far - is there a better first 4 tracks on an LP anywhere? I remember seeing them play Lady Strange for the first time at Reading Festival - it still remains one of their classic anthems!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guessing games, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High'n'Dry (Audio CD)
After watching a documentary about the making of Hysteria, a CD I have enjoyed for years, I bought this, Pyromania and X. My husband is not a fan of Def Leppard. I put High n Dry on in the car without telling him who it was by and asked him to guess. "Erm... Whitesnake? Rainbow?" A few weeks later I did the same with Pyromania "Erm...., Sounds like Bryan Adams with Aerosmith as backing band". By the time I did the same a few months later with X, the game was rumbled. I enjoyed all 3 CDs, but they are very different. If you like rock, then go for High n Dry. X is softer. A comparison would be Genesis's Nursery Cryme versus Phil Collins Face Value. Both good. Both different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High'n'Dry
High'n'Dry by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews