Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to normal standard
A great album from Chris. Plenty of varied music styles from the frantic opening track through the lilting 'This is love', the epic 'Brave Hearts', the majestic 'Up here in Heaven' to the magnificent 'Snows of New York'. I think this should be played several times to appreciate how good it actually is. Chris has an image based soley on 'The Lady in Red'; rather like Judie...
Published on 4 Jan 2001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but reasonable.
This is not classic Chris De Burgh and, to be honest, there is no track of the standard of High on Emotion, Lady in Red, A Spaceman Came Travelling or Missing You to be found on here. Nevertheless, as always with Chris De Burgh, it is an easy record to listen to but there are better Chris De Burgh albums out there, ie Power of Ten.
Published on 9 Oct 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best but reasonable., 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
This is not classic Chris De Burgh and, to be honest, there is no track of the standard of High on Emotion, Lady in Red, A Spaceman Came Travelling or Missing You to be found on here. Nevertheless, as always with Chris De Burgh, it is an easy record to listen to but there are better Chris De Burgh albums out there, ie Power of Ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like searching for diamonds in coal, 30 Jun 2005
By 
amboline (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
By most standards this is arguably Chris de Burgh's weakest album. The pressure of "what the record company wanted" - presumably dictated by the commercial success of his mega-selling romantic ballads - is writ large over this collection, with the result that de Burgh's usually sparkly, original songwriting is distinctly dumbed down in three-quarters of the material here. There's a trace of the old flair in opener "This Silent World" and in the single "Blonde Hair, Blue Jeans" (actually not one of the romantic ballads but a rather warped take on obsessive unrequited lust), and a flash of inspiration in "This Weight On Me", a wry social commentary about the power of the media which has glimmers of the classic de Burgh protest songs of old. But for the most part, I'm afraid we are stuck with distinctly sub-standard romantic ballads, ranging from the innocuous ("The Snows of New York") to the downright cringe-inducing ("This Is Love"). The one attempt to capture the past glories of the epic de Burgh song cycles ("O My Brave Hearts") somehow doesn't live up to its promise either.
So listening to this album is a little like trying to pull diamonds out from a pile of coal. Fortunately, there is at least one diamond which makes the effort worthwhile. "Up Here In Heaven" is, quite simply, one of the most powerful protest songs Chris de Burgh has ever written - and for my money, one of THE greatest anti-war songs of modern times. I defy anybody to listen to this track and not be moved. His singing voice has never sounded better, and he sings with the conviction of a man with a truth to tell the world. Why this was never a hit (or even an iconic song in the way that "The Simple Truth" was), I have no idea. Why the rest of this album isn't like this, when de Burgh clearly still has the capability of masterful songwriting, I wish I knew. The album wins its two stars on the strength of this track alone; if there had been more like it, this could have been his best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to normal standard, 4 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
A great album from Chris. Plenty of varied music styles from the frantic opening track through the lilting 'This is love', the epic 'Brave Hearts', the majestic 'Up here in Heaven' to the magnificent 'Snows of New York'. I think this should be played several times to appreciate how good it actually is. Chris has an image based soley on 'The Lady in Red'; rather like Judie Tzuke and 'Stay with me till Dawn'. If anyone actually bothered to listen to his albums they would realise what a wide range of styles this talented artist embraces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars That was the way up, 30 April 2008
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
After the disappointing recent compilation release it was time to dig out one of my favourite albums from Chris. Was it really 14 years ago this came out ? The album features four classic tracks; 'Here is your paradise' is just a wonderful piece of music with Chris playing at the piano and a very luscious orchestral accompaniment. 'Oh my brave hearts' has been a live staple for Chris and it's a majestic piece of music that creates a stirring impact. 'Up here in heaven' ? Well what can I say. One of the BEST songs Chris has EVER recorded and it's probably never played on the radio, never played live and never heard of by most. Astonishing. In contrast, the last track is quite well known; 'The snows of New York' is a rousing piece spoilt only by its somewhat abrupt fade out. Elsewhere, 'The silent world' is a typical up-tempo track from Chris to open the album followed by the catchy and mellow 'This is love'. 'Blonde hair, blue jeans' has possibly the sexiest lyric (and video) ever produced by Chris whilst there is more laid back reflection on 'The Son and the Father'. I quite like the up-tempo 'This weight on me' whereas the only other tracks I haven't mentioned 'You are the reason' and 'Loves got a hold on me' are fairly ordinary.

In summary an album of contrasting tracks with some hidden treasures if you seek them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 12 Aug 2008
By 
John Bennett (Republic of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
One of Chris de Burgh's more upbeat rock/pop albums with some gems. Fans of his earlier stuff will love Snows of New York and Up Here In Heaven, while songs like the opening track, This Silent World and Blond Hair, Blue Jeans, were obviously wrote with a live performance in mind. Overall, a good mixture of slow and fast material, an album to play to put you in a good mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lost the one i had, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
Alas i lost it somewhere, so this was a replacement. Still like it ,so i replaced it. Take better care of this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab music, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
As always his music is wonderful, inspiring lyrics and melodies that stay with you. This particular CD has wonderful memories for me too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CD, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
Fantastic CD as always. Love Chris De Burgh!
He never disappoints. This is up there with the rest of his music.
Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Form, 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
This is Chris in top form lyrically and musically. Some really strong material here and his occasional forays into the bland are mot in evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Chris ever, 23 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Way Up (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is the greatest Deburgh non compilation album. Brave Hearts, The Son and The Father, Snows of New York are wonderfully moving tracks. Great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Way Up
This Way Up by Chris De Burgh (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews