Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2003
Everyone keeps going on about Chris De Burgh as the one who had nothing else in him other than THAT song ("The Lady In Red", No1 for a month in 1986) - one very unkind letter suggested in Channel 4's music letters page The Void that Chris De Burgh were the three words that undermined the statement 'Every artist has at least one redeeming song'.
Such narrow-mindedness does not take into account that he released some excellent material prior to "The Lady In Red",(check out his earlier albums Spanish Train And Other Stories, The Getaway and Man On The Line for the proof); it seemed that for the remainder of the 1980s, however, Chris couldn't handle his new-found fame, despite hitting the Top 3 again in 1988 with "Missing You", and the standard of his albums began to deteriorate.
"Power Of Ten", released in 1992, however, changed this dramatically. The opener "Where Will We Be Going" sounds like the ballad that De Burgh's namesake Chris Rea would churn out if he took up playing the keyboard. "The Connemara Coast" and "Making The Perfect Man" maintained his earlier albums standards, while "Separate Tables" is one of the most rivetting tear-jerkers you'll ever hear.
Chris De Burgh famously commented after the new-found successs this album gave him that "There is life after The Sex Pistols". It's a pity that, unlike with the Pistols, people don't take the trouble to give Chris' music a listen before they slte him.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2003
This is one of my favorite albums. In fact I am now having to buy a second copy because I have worn the tape out on my first one. I have very few albums that I can say that I like every track but this is one. Excellent stuff keep them coming Chris.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 May 2007
This album has pretty much everything from the Chris de Burgh stable. Everything about this album spells quality songwriting and performance. From the opening track "Where We Will Be Going" all the way to the closing track, "Making The Perfect Man", there is featured the usual ballads with haunting and heart-wrenching undertones such as "Separate Tables", "She Means Everything To Me", "The Connemara Coast" and the deeply haunting "Heart of Darkness".

Every song on here is a testament to Chris de Burgh's amazing songwriting skills. I find "Brother John" a fun song as it looks at a young female worker who changes the life of a friar in an abbey with the devil and the angels of God looking on. My favourite track on this excellent cd is "She Means Everything To Me" as it features a wonderful melody and enchanting beat to it.

As far as albums from the 1990's go, this one is way up there with the best of them. That's what I think anyway.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2000
This is one of the few Chris de Burgh albums which seems to capture all his music styles. It ranges from "Don't Pay the Ferryman" style rock (Making the Perfect Man, Brother John) to "Lady in Red" style love-songs (Connemara Cost, Shine On) with the haunting Heart of Darkness and super-cheesy By My Side. While hardened fans will rate his other albums more highly, for the casual de Burgh fan, it doesn't get much better than this.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
what can anyone say about Chris De Burgh his music is ace, to say he was a backing singer in the late 1970s but in the 1980s he found his feet as he opened the door to the music world with Lady in Red even though I can't stand the song
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
very prompt delivery,this was ordered to replace old cassette of same..cd is up to a fine standed and is pnow part of a collection......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Dad has been looking for this cd to replace a old tape version, he doesn't do computers so i looked for it for him....ordered it and it arrived the next day, he was over the moon, only thing now is he keep asking me to find more stuff for him lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Forget Lady in red Chris is a great story teller and singer I like because he is so different from other solo artist saw him live at the Royal Albert Hall absolutely terrific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Great CD with some addictive tracks which is worth adding to your collection assuming you like Chris De Burgh of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2015
In my opınıon thıs ıs the best record Chrıs has made for years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)