Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This man simply doesn't deserve his eternal malignment
Everyone keeps going on about Chris De Burgh as the one who had nothing else in him other than THAT song ("The Lady In Red", No1 for a month in 1986) - one very unkind letter suggested in Channel 4's music letters page The Void that Chris De Burgh were the three words that undermined the statement 'Every artist has at least one redeeming song'.
Such narrow-mindedness...
Published on 16 Nov 2003 by shy_boy2112

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars De Burgh Revisited
I could not help feeling that I had already been where Chris de Burgh was taking me with his album Power of Ten. There was some attempt at innovation in the effects (the choral background in Brother John)but otherwise there was too much of his other songs in the music.
The lyrics are something else. Of particular note are Making the Perfect Man and Shine On,...
Published on 9 Feb 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This man simply doesn't deserve his eternal malignment, 16 Nov 2003
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
Everyone keeps going on about Chris De Burgh as the one who had nothing else in him other than THAT song ("The Lady In Red", No1 for a month in 1986) - one very unkind letter suggested in Channel 4's music letters page The Void that Chris De Burgh were the three words that undermined the statement 'Every artist has at least one redeeming song'.
Such narrow-mindedness does not take into account that he released some excellent material prior to "The Lady In Red",(check out his earlier albums Spanish Train And Other Stories, The Getaway and Man On The Line for the proof); it seemed that for the remainder of the 1980s, however, Chris couldn't handle his new-found fame, despite hitting the Top 3 again in 1988 with "Missing You", and the standard of his albums began to deteriorate.
"Power Of Ten", released in 1992, however, changed this dramatically. The opener "Where Will We Be Going" sounds like the ballad that De Burgh's namesake Chris Rea would churn out if he took up playing the keyboard. "The Connemara Coast" and "Making The Perfect Man" maintained his earlier albums standards, while "Separate Tables" is one of the most rivetting tear-jerkers you'll ever hear.
Chris De Burgh famously commented after the new-found successs this album gave him that "There is life after The Sex Pistols". It's a pity that, unlike with the Pistols, people don't take the trouble to give Chris' music a listen before they slte him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from de Burgh..., 25 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
This is one of the few Chris de Burgh albums which seems to capture all his music styles. It ranges from "Don't Pay the Ferryman" style rock (Making the Perfect Man, Brother John) to "Lady in Red" style love-songs (Connemara Cost, Shine On) with the haunting Heart of Darkness and super-cheesy By My Side. While hardened fans will rate his other albums more highly, for the casual de Burgh fan, it doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power of Ten, 10 Oct 2003
By 
Wendy Evans "Wendy Evans" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite albums. In fact I am now having to buy a second copy because I have worn the tape out on my first one. I have very few albums that I can say that I like every track but this is one. Excellent stuff keep them coming Chris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top quality album with top quality songs., 8 May 2007
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
This album has pretty much everything from the Chris de Burgh stable. Everything about this album spells quality songwriting and performance. From the opening track "Where We Will Be Going" all the way to the closing track, "Making The Perfect Man", there is featured the usual ballads with haunting and heart-wrenching undertones such as "Separate Tables", "She Means Everything To Me", "The Connemara Coast" and the deeply haunting "Heart of Darkness".

Every song on here is a testament to Chris de Burgh's amazing songwriting skills. I find "Brother John" a fun song as it looks at a young female worker who changes the life of a friar in an abbey with the devil and the angels of God looking on. My favourite track on this excellent cd is "She Means Everything To Me" as it features a wonderful melody and enchanting beat to it.

As far as albums from the 1990's go, this one is way up there with the best of them. That's what I think anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars collection, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
very prompt delivery,this was ordered to replace old cassette of same..cd is up to a fine standed and is pnow part of a collection......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chris De Burgh Power of 10, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
what can anyone say about Chris De Burgh his music is ace, to say he was a backing singer in the late 1970s but in the 1980s he found his feet as he opened the door to the music world with Lady in Red even though I can't stand the song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chris De Burgh Power of Ten, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
Great CD with some addictive tracks which is worth adding to your collection assuming you like Chris De Burgh of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dad's happy, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
Dad has been looking for this cd to replace a old tape version, he doesn't do computers so i looked for it for him....ordered it and it arrived the next day, he was over the moon, only thing now is he keep asking me to find more stuff for him lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 22 Jun 2013
By 
M. A. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Of Ten (MP3 Download)
Forget Lady in red Chris is a great story teller and singer I like because he is so different from other solo artist saw him live at the Royal Albert Hall absolutely terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars De Burgh Revisited, 9 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Power of Ten (Audio CD)
I could not help feeling that I had already been where Chris de Burgh was taking me with his album Power of Ten. There was some attempt at innovation in the effects (the choral background in Brother John)but otherwise there was too much of his other songs in the music.
The lyrics are something else. Of particular note are Making the Perfect Man and Shine On, among others.
As a follower of de Burgh's music since 1982, maybe his past records and style are too deeply etched in my memory.
Or, perhaps, it is time to move on....Is it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Power of Ten
Power of Ten by Chris De Burgh (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews