Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2001
Anyone who thinks Lady in Red is the only thing this great man has produced should listen to this album.The variety of music on offer is extremely good and has a mixture of love and rock all on one album.Chris's very powerful voice comes across in all of the songs and you will want to listen to this album over and over again.There is not a bad song on the whole CD.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Into the Light' is one of Chris De Burghs albums I love despite `Lady In Red', which made him more mainstream but gave people a false idea of what his music is really like. He manages to weave powerful, moving stories into his songs, often coupled with a great rocky feel and `LIR' is a false representation of what a good songwriter he is. This album has plenty of great tracks, but the epic interlinked songs at the end make up this album more than any other. `The Leader', `The Vision' and `What About Me?', that flow into each other to create a whole, are powerful and heartfelt and the perfect way to end this album. `For Rosanna' is a touching ballad written for his daughter and is a beautiful song with more superb lyrics. I get a sudden rush of nostalgia when I put this CD on now, I grew up on this and it has lost none of it's magic for me. It does sound dated, but it was made in the eighties and sounds of it's time and if you like that era of music you should be fine. A standout album in De Burghs fine back catalogue.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2010
Chris De Burgh will always be remembered for his chart topper during the summer of '86: 'The Lady In Red'. It's featured here - along with eleven other songs which are totally of a different style, and so if you're purchasing this as I did on the strength of that one single - then you may be disappointed...

Chris De Burgh had been around for some time before managing a hit with the aforementioned, but he really came to the fore via this and is best remembered for it. His style by nature is very different, and there have been loads of stories surrounding the composition of this hit - and its subject, and so perhaps it's best left to 'legend'!

A good album, but not what you might expect and only really features the one ballad.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 June 2007
As far as albums go, this one by Chris De Burgh is probably one of the best ones of the 1980's. Not only does it feature "The Lady In Red" but it also features some outstanding tracks. Among them are "Last Night", about a man walking through a harbour town as word spreads that their soldiers are coming home from war. Possibly one of the best opening tracks I've heard.

Also, a couple of favourites include "Fatal Hesitation", a lovely and delicate song, "The Ballroom of Romance" and "One Word (Straight To The Heart)". Although all the songs on here are of top quality and some of the finest he has written.

In my view this album is one of the finest albums that Chris De Burgh has released giving us versatility with noisy numbers like "Say Goodbye To It All" and calmer moments like "For Rosanna" and "Fatal Hesitation". A must have for all Chris De Burgh fans but also a worthy addition to any CD collection. Top drawer.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
I first bought this album when I was 16. It was on tape and sadly was over played so the tape wore out. I could not resist buying it on CD. It is a great album and I have never stopped loving it. I recommend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2009
I had this album on tape 20 years ago... but then it got chewed up... so I was really pleased to be able to buy it again on CD... now it sounds even better than first time around.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
I love this I think Chris de Burgh is great anyway. His songs are so original.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
Unfortunately many people will view this album as the one that includes the big hit Lady in Red, however the rel highlights of this album lies with superb tracks such as Last night, Into The Light and The Spirit of Man. Great production and great songs make this a real gem.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2010
Chris De Burgh will always be remembered for his chart topper during the summer of '86: 'The Lady In Red'. It's featured here - along with eleven other songs which are totally of a different style, and so if you're purchasing this as I did on the strength of that one single - then you may be disappointed...

Chris De Burgh had been around for some time before managing a hit with the aforementioned, but he really came to the fore via this and is best remembered for it. His style by nature is very different, and there have been loads of stories surrounding the composition of this hit - and its subject, and so perhaps it's best left to 'legend'!

A good album, but not what you might expect and only really features the one ballad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2010
Chris De Burgh will always be remembered for his chart topper during the summer of '86: 'The Lady In Red'. It's featured here - along with eleven other songs which are totally of a different style, and so if you're purchasing this as I did on the strength of that one single - then you may be disappointed...

Chris De Burgh had been around for some time before managing a hit with the aforementioned, but he really came to the fore via this and is best remembered for it. His style by nature is very different, and there have been loads of stories surrounding the composition of this hit - and its subject, and so perhaps it's best left to 'legend'!

A good album, but not what you might expect and only really features the one ballad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)