Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are we listening to the same record?
I have this on vinyl and it is sensational. Listening to Generation Landslide live makes me look like one of the old Maxell TV ads. I was going to buy this CD to play in the car but the other reviews put me off.
I can only conclude that the transfer to CD was a rubbish job.
The LP is really really good. Trust me on this. IT IS A GOOD ALBUM!! If it doesn't sound...
Published on 7 April 2009 by Mr. John L. Ashdown

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alice is off the form - or is he?
When i first listened to this album i thought it was terrible - another dismal cut from Alice's early 80's lost period, lost cause his music was mostly rubbish in the early eighties'.
However after many plays i started to enjoy parts of this album. Vicious rumours is a highlight. However what saves this album for me is the track 'you're a movie' which is brilliant,...
Published on 8 May 2002 by andyriley2000@yahoo.co.uk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are we listening to the same record?, 7 April 2009
By 
Mr. John L. Ashdown "Lint" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
I have this on vinyl and it is sensational. Listening to Generation Landslide live makes me look like one of the old Maxell TV ads. I was going to buy this CD to play in the car but the other reviews put me off.
I can only conclude that the transfer to CD was a rubbish job.
The LP is really really good. Trust me on this. IT IS A GOOD ALBUM!! If it doesn't sound like that on CD then the sound quality has been lost in the transfer.
I think I'll wait for a remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I used to like the human league you know, 12 Sept. 2008
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
I like this album.I never even knew he had a 'new wave' period until recently.Some people say the early 80's was his worst period but I would rate this album and Flush the Fashion way above Constrictor and Trash for instance.Of course Billion Dollar Babies and Welcome To My Nightmare lop the head off this baby with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirkily Quintessential, 9 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
One of Alice's three albums from his 'black out' period - where he was in such a 'state' healthwise, that he now claims to not even remember making them! - this 1981 stripped-down-to-basics record is really, really good.

Solo Alice, from 1975 to 1983, covers fantastically eclectic musical ground - often to the bewilderment of some of the original group's fans. Here AC again taps into the new waveish zeitgeist that informed much of the previous 'Flush The Fashion', but cuts out the more overt poppy froth; instead, we are presented with a series of esoteric, quirky vignettes that, on the surface seem slight, but sustained playing reveals them to be Alice nuggets.

It all kicks off with the rocking 'Who Do You Think You Are', followed by a great snarling cover of Love's 'Seven And Seven Is'. The daftly, provocative 'Prettiest Cop On The Block' leads into the choppy, punky 'Don't Talk Old To Me' with a fake live, lyrically enhanced, 'Generation Landslide' rounding off the old side one.

'Skeletons In My Closet' - which has an air of MJ's 'Thriller' about it - kicks off the second side, followed by the very basic 'You Want It' and the rocking 'You Look Good In Rags'. Alice declaims his way through 'You're A Movie ' - which gives a taste of the direction he'd head in for the next album, the extremely quirky 'Zipper Catches Skin' - and then we're into 'Vicious Rumours', the snotty, sneering closer.

It's an album that grows on you after repeated plays, with many of the tracks becoming so memorable that they're like lost hit singles. 'Special Forces' did next to nothing chartwise at the time, which summed up the personal, and career, freefall Alice was in.

So, if you want to hear the best of 80's Alice, buy this and the other two 'forgotten' gems. They're unpolished, 'all over the place', yet stratospheres more creative than the dreadful hair-metal which, ironically, put him back at the top of the charts by the end of the decade. 'Special Forces' doesn't possess the sturm-und-drang of the original group's masterpieces, nor the vaudeville snazziness of mid-70's solo Alice, but is still great in its own quirky little way.

All three of Alice's 'lost period' albums were reissued, on Collectors Choice Music, in 2009/10; 'Dada' and 'Zipper Catches Skin' benefit from some remastering, BUT the older, bog-standard, 'Special Forces' is the better version sound-wise. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alice is off the form - or is he?, 8 May 2002
By 
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
When i first listened to this album i thought it was terrible - another dismal cut from Alice's early 80's lost period, lost cause his music was mostly rubbish in the early eighties'.
However after many plays i started to enjoy parts of this album. Vicious rumours is a highlight. However what saves this album for me is the track 'you're a movie' which is brilliant, wonderfully comic and perfectly Alice. Much of the album though is fairly poor from a music standpoint. The lyrics are actually some of Alice's best, ranging into some darkness that is his trademark. However the quality of the music lets it down.
This album is a worthwile addition to a Cooper fan's collection however it will take a long time and many, many plays to grow on you. I would not reccomend any new Alice fans to buy this, it is not a good album is you are just getting into alice. Buy something like 'Welcome to my Nightmare' or 'Trash' if you're a new fan. But long-time fans should buy this Alice cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .....This album is classic, 6 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
This album is classic Alice from the 80's period. All drums are sampled/computerised as they were with the "Flush the Fashion" (absolute corker of an album, worthy of ten stars!) and the later "DaDa" (not so hot).
Admittedly the album is a bit of a grower and will take some listening if you are only aware of Alice from School's Out/Elected era.
Listen to the lyrics however, they're really cool - more like a movie!
Can anyone explain why the track about ripping the sawdust out of your teddy bear is not included within the UK releases of this album - or was this title merely a joke?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alice sings 'The A Team', 4 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
Basically what I say in my title... Alice's concept album of a Special Forces unit more or less covers the cliche that became the A team about 3 years later...

The CD art is lack lustre but hey, who judges a book by it's cover?

Like most Alice stuff, it benefits listening to get the nuance. Even average Alice is better than more lauded artists at their best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Special Forces in an Armored Car, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
Alice with some punk attitude! Alice was inspired by his readings of "Soldier of Fortune" magazine, so it is tough, rockin', and fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper at his coolest, 10 Jan. 2011
By 
Leif Knudsen (Vedbaek Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
I have loved Alice Cooper since I was a teenager in the seventies and have stayed on for every twist and turn he made. Of all albums I love Special Forces the most. Why? Because it is void of cliches.

Every title is unique with a stern roughness while every detail is still in control. The lyrics are clearcut, totally Alice and delivered with superior class. The fine line between talking and singing gives you a feeling of Alice addressing YOU, much the same close and intense feeling you get from Leonard Cohen.

Special Forces is not for the mainstream heavy metal headbangers, it's pure rough elegance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i always been fond of this its got some clever, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
i always been fond of this its got some clever lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good cd., 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Special Forces (Audio CD)
Not Alice's strongest album , but it is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Special Forces
Special Forces by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews