Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underated
Surely the most underated album from the classic cooper line up.This a wonderfully varied album and not given the recognition it deserves because it is permanently overshadowed by the massive success of Billion Dollar Babies and the subsequent fuss surrounding the unpleasant break up of the band.
The concept is not as prominent as previous albums but the songs are...
Published on 3 April 2008 by Bugs

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flashes of brilliance, but a lot of mediocrity as well
The last album by the original Alice Cooper-band is a mixed bag of affairs.
The hits "Teenage Lament" and "Muscle Of Love" are great, as is the underrated rock n' roll gem "Workin' Up A Sweat", and "Hard Hearted Alice" and the slightly Zeppelin-like "Big Apple Dreamin'" work pretty well also, but to be honest, the rest is filler. Not horrible filler, just bland...
Published on 21 April 2003 by Docendo Discimus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underated, 3 April 2008
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
Surely the most underated album from the classic cooper line up.This a wonderfully varied album and not given the recognition it deserves because it is permanently overshadowed by the massive success of Billion Dollar Babies and the subsequent fuss surrounding the unpleasant break up of the band.
The concept is not as prominent as previous albums but the songs are just as strong and entertaining and basically THIS ALBUM ROCKS AND DESERVES A CHANCE.If you're new to alice have no fears about this album it stands comfortably alongside the other cooper classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you think, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
Many people have been put off listening to this album because of the slating it got from the press at the time. Following hard on the heals of Billion Dollar Babies it was always going to get a rough ride. This was made when the band were obviously overworked and in bad need of a rest but just listen to the songs and you will realise that there isn't any bad ones amongst them. Well ok the 'man with the golden gun' is a bit weak. But that aside, the rest are pretty solid rock tunes. Big apple dreamin' opens the set with superb lead guitar layered over a riff of string instruments. 'Hard hearted Alice' gives us an insight to the road weary group and 'Crazy little child' is a jazzy gangster song with great piano. Add to this straight riff rockers like 'Never been sold before', 'Muscle of love' and the best song of the piece 'Working up a sweat' and there not much to moan about here. 'Teenage lament' continues the Alice theme of Teenage angst and the great 'woman machine' leaves you wanting more. If you like Alice but don't have this album then I must ask you, WHY NOT?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still My Favourite Alice Album, 5 Nov 2009
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
I had this and several other Alice albums (most of the seventies stuff) in my youth. I loved it then and I love it still. For me it was always my favourite Alice album and it sounds even better today than it did then.

Most of Alice's offerings of the time dealt with macabre subjects whereas this album has overtly sexual overtones and clearly seems to be moving the band in a different direction. The band work behind the singing is stunning (particularly the guitar work) and the lyrics are clever and well thought out.

The previous reviewers have commented on "Man With The Golden Gun" and I agree with them it really would have made an outstanding Bond Theme. Other highlights for me are "Hard Hearted Alice", "Working Up A Sweat", the title track and although a little left field "Crazy Little Child".

Underrated by most who go for the more obvious offerings this one is well worth adding to your collection. Best seven quid I've spent in ages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 17 Jan 2008
By 
The Tomahawk Kid (Edenbridge, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
Falling between Billion Dollar Babies and Welcome to My Nightmare this album, the last by the original band, often seems to get overlooked. I suggest you overlook it at your peril because it is a great album - better than Billion Dollar Babies in my view. There are no weak tracks on it and many very strong tracks: Big Apple Dreamin', Hard Hearted Alice, Muscle of Love, Man With The Golden Gun and Teenage Lament. Out of the seven albums by the original band this ranks very highly in my view, possibly just behind "Killer".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds good to me and has aged well., 13 Jan 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
As a Christmas treat for myself, I purchased this album, although having previously owned it on vinyl when it was first released way back, when at that time I thought it was okay, but not great.
This is my own considered opinion how the album holds up in today by giving a breakdown of each track.
1. Big Apple Dreamin (Hippo)
Quite a slow deep sound with some awesome lyrics and fascinating string sections, a typical 70’s sound that is still appealing today. Surprised really that no one else has taken to singing this track. (9/10)
2. Never Been Sold Before.
A song with some good guitar work and very listen-able, although could now be taken up-tempo a bit, but it wears well. (6/10)
3. Hard Hearted Alice
Very soft opening vocals to a late sixties type electric organ music, a sort of Cream/Doors feel that quite nostalgic. Has a melody where the tempo builds to a crescendo, with some good bass and drum work along the way. The lyrics are skilful, having some good clichés that can still provoke a smile. This would be my favourite from the album, although when bought as a spotty kid probably not! (9/10)
4. Crazy Little Child
Piano based blues/jazz feel that wouldn’t go out of place in the film Chicago. Not a typical Cooper song, but a considered little ditty that sits well in the album. (7/10)
5. Working Up A Sweat
The tempo is taken up a bit on this track, with Alice and the band obviously working hard and enjoying their selves in the process. This is a characteristic Alice Cooper song, again with some good worked clichés, put together in an intelligent manner, with the chorus emphasising what the theme of the album is about. A good rock track that should be played in today’s Coopers tours, with my only one criticism is that it could be a bit longer! (8/10)
6. Muscle of Love
The title track of the album and worthy of being a hit single, but can you imagine this being released in the early seventies! Shame really. A good rock feel to it and one that should have been played a lot more. (9/10)
7. Man With the Golden Gun
This is another of my personal favourites. Apparently this was in the running for the James Bond film of the same title, but alas they decided on Lulu’s song!
There are two reasons I can think of that this wasn’t chosen for the film. The first being the notoriety the band had at the time and the other that the band wasn’t British! Just my opinion and only an opinion.
Anyway it starts with quite deep, slow cords with vocals complimenting every twist and turn, having backing vocals that haunt distinctively throughout, with a horns section just to provide the polish to make it that gutter cat sort of song. (9/10)
8. Teenage Lament ‘74
The hit single on the album, and still plays well today, but unfortunately isn’t played on the radio. A good inspired song that meant a lot to me as a kid.
Again having female backing vocals that could have been taken out of Motown to provide the ambience and the rhythm. (8/10)
9. Woman Machine
This is how all albums should finish. Starts a little slow and perhaps a little lazy or can even be viewed as going through the motions.
However, if you listen to it properly it’s quite a tight set that sets the mood, with a simple drumbeat that hits the spot. It builds up to a light upsurge of unusual sounds that just bubbles over the rim from about half way through spilling, hissing, grasping and distorting that truly makes it a fine track. Again could have been a bit long at today’s standard. (8/10)
Finally, probably played this CD more times this last five weeks than I have ever played the original vinyl - the best seven quid I have spent in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A forgotten classic, 9 Jan 2002
By 
Mark Goodman (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
This album really was an excellent follow up to Billion Dollar Babies.
There is a lot of diversity here from guitar driven rockers such as the title track, woman machine and never been sold before to the hit single teenage lament that has a very pop feel to it with backing vocals from Liza Minelli. The man with the golden gun has a real 'James Bond' feel to it and should have been the title track for the film.
The big stand out tracks for me are Hard hearted Alice with it's excellent slow accoustic introduction that slowly builds up to the brilliant guitar solo finale and Crazy little child a song about a young gangster set to a very 20's style piano/banjo soundtrack
All in all a very satisfying album that has really stood the test of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unheralded Classic, 10 Dec 2012
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
I have never been able to understand why some critics, and even the band itself, maligned this album as being disjointed, and indicative of the falling apart the band was experiencing at the time (it was the last of the original bands recordings and Glen Buxton took little part). It has always to me sounded very cohesive, well produced, and in my opinion is pretty much as good throughout the album as anything AC has ever put out. There is not a dull spot on the record, ans it has some nice variations , as some early AC albums did, in terms of ragtime, jazz, and popular influences, as well as the usual great AC rock tracks. Never Been Sold Before as far as i'm concerned is a bona fide Alice Cooper classic. Most of the other reviews here are pretty much in agreeance so i'll leave it up to others who havent heard it to make up their own minds. Perhaps it doesn't have a Schools Out impact in some people's opinion (and that song is a hard act to follow) but be patient and this will grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love my Muscle!, 28 April 2012
By 
John (READING, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
Tongue in cheek, naughty and very very good. All true, the title track is slick fast and oily (oh matron!) I found it in an old second hand shop years ago and have bought four differant versions of it since as I keep wearing them out! The plain cover always makes me laugh too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF COOPER's BEST, 19 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
This album contains some truly great songs. Hard hearted alice is the best. The way the song changes mood from the accoustic driven intro with soft vocal patterns to the jazzy middle section culminating in the brilliant guitar solo that concludes the song this is classy stuff. Crazy little child is a clever take on a the life of a budding young gangster all played out with a smoky bar room atmosphere complete with honky tonk piano and banjo's is brilliant. Along with the rocking title track and the pop song teenage lament. This album stands for both its billiance and it's sheer diversity. Don't believe what you hear this album is great !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten masterpiece, 22 July 2004
This review is from: Muscle of Love (Audio CD)
Muscle Of Love (1973.) Alice Cooper's seventh studio album, and the last one with the classic Alice Cooper band.
Despite rough beginnings, Alice Cooper had proven himself to be a classic hard rock genius by the time 1973 rolled around. Every major label album he had released to date with his band was nothing short of a masterpiece. Later in 1973, after releasing their wildly popular Billion Dollar Babies album, the band released the considerably less popular Muscle Of Love. Would this album be another masterpiece like Billion Dollar Babies before it, or would it be one of the band's blunders? Read on for my review.
Let me start my saying that anyone who doesn't appreciate this album is brainless. Every one of the Alice Cooper band's album's released on a major laber (with the lone exception of Schools Out) is worthy of a five-star rating, and this one is no exception. It is kicked off with Big Apple Dreamin', a Zeppelin-esque hard rocker that grabs the listener's attention and holds onto it. The follow-up track, Never Been Sold Before, is another excellent and worthwhile rocker. Next the band serves up one of their slowest and most melodic tracks, a little tune called Hard Hearted Alice. This has got to be one of the band's most underrated songs. The two big hits to emerge from this album, the title track and Teenage Lament '74, are also excellent, I especially like the latter of the two, which talks about life from a teenager's perspective. The Man With The Golden Gun is a song that the Alice Cooper Band submitted to be the theme to the James Bond film of the same name (they were all big-time James Bond fans), but sadly, it got turned down. Why? It's WAY better than Lulu's song that ended up being the theme! Woman Machine, yet another one of the band's severely underrated tracks, brings the album to a close. They couldn't have picked a better song to finish the album.
It's a shame this album is now out of print in America (as of July of 2004) and appreciated by so few fans, because it really is one of Alice Cooper's finest albums of his entire career. It was the last album to feature Alice with his classic band, and I really don't think they could have gone out on a better note. If you come across this album and you're a fan of Alice Cooper, casual or die-hard, pick it up. It may take a little more time to grow on you than the other albums, but ultimately you should end up agreeing - it's one of the band's finest efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muscle of Love
Muscle of Love by Alice Cooper (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews