Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rock and roll masterpiece
this is the definative chisel collection,a rollercoaster of an album. from the dulcet tones of breakfast at sweethearts and choir girl to the soft rock/pop sounds of khe sanh and cheap wine right through to the headbanging, heart thumping, mindblowing noise of you got nothing i want and goodbye astrid goodbye. theres not a song on this album i wouldnt recommend to any...
Published on 21 May 2002 by lukeconlan@hotmail.com

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aussi fabs
Honest hard rock from Cold Chisel. An australian band from the 80s with good songs that disclosed one of the best rock singers of all time, Jimmy Barnes.
Published on 12 Oct. 2010 by Gosth writer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a rock and roll masterpiece, 21 May 2002
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
this is the definative chisel collection,a rollercoaster of an album. from the dulcet tones of breakfast at sweethearts and choir girl to the soft rock/pop sounds of khe sanh and cheap wine right through to the headbanging, heart thumping, mindblowing noise of you got nothing i want and goodbye astrid goodbye. theres not a song on this album i wouldnt recommend to any body, play it loud and forget the neighbours.this is the finest band to evercome out of australia, long live mossy, barnsey, walker and the boys, long live cold chisel!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smell the sweat and beer, 13 Jun. 2007
By 
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
`Chisel` was an Aussie phenomenon and arguably the best pub band in the business - no disrespect intended by that title as they could recreate that atmosphere in the studio as well as on the `shop floor`. Perhaps being at the other end of the planet was the reason they did not become a world wide success as suggested by a previous reviewer, although Jimmy Barnes made a good job of his career, post Cold Chisel. The fact that neither Chisel or the aforementioned mighty JB are `mainstream` names is probably testament to how damn good they are, when you listen to current `mainstream`, much of which leaves one constantly amazed at how the bulk of it gets any airtime at all. Buy this album and be assured you are in good company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb - epitomises the spirit of good aussie rock!, 19 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
This album is electrifying. Cold Chisel are the greatest Australian band of all time. Contains all of Chisel's hits including 'Choir Girl' and 'Khe Sahn'. Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!, 16 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
Why oh why were Cold Chisel never successful worldwide? This album - Chisel's greatest hits - showcases the greatest rock band that Australia ever produced. Chisel had two vocalists,the rough and ready Jimmy Barnes and on fewer tracks the wonderfully melodic guitar virtuoso Ian Moss. Songwriting honours were split between the five band members but without doubt the "master" was keyboard player Don Walker - surely the best lyricist Australia has ever produced. If you're a rock fan and you want to buy an album that looks into every corner, this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 5 May 2006
By 
Anna Nasopulu "Anna" (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
You can only describe a Best Of,from Cold Chisel as a MASTERPIECE.Tho I have all thier releases,i highly recomend this to anyone who wants to hear this band for the first time,and share in awe,the eternal question of why this Band was not a World-wide phenonmenon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 8 Dec. 2010
By 
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
Greatest Hits albums don't always work but this is exceptional. It seems to sum up a lot of their work in one amazing album. To me they were first and foremost an excellent live act. Always exciting and energetic. Always edgy. They also made great records and anyone who doesn't have them all is missing out. They were a band that collectively worked so well. After they disbanded, the band members work has been sketchy and inconsistant to say the least. CHeck out this album as it shows them at their best. A great body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Special !, 28 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
I've just stumbled across this, having not looked on Amazon for Chisel CDs before. I do have this CD (two of them actually as one was a gift!) and agree it is very very good, a great all-round example of what Cold Chisel are all about. I used to agree with the comments about them not being big in the UK and how awful that was, but now actually I have come to the conclusion that that's what makes them special. The fact that they're not being played on every other stereo or iPod in England makes their music so different. I was introduced to their music in the early 90s by some Aussie friends, and have since met my best friend who is an Aussie - so every time I listen to Cold Chisel it immediately links me to either my time in Australia, or great memories of times with Aussie friends. I can whole-heartedly recommend this album to anyone who has either heard Chisel before, or who is looking for something with a bit of rocky edge to it. I don't think there's anything quite like it. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A right good listening experience, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
Chisel, tracks the developement of a band whom in my opinion are one of Australia's most infuential in there particular genre. As well as the excellent vocal range exibited by Scottish born front man Jimmy Barnes, the musicianship shown by the other band members is both accomplished and innovative. I found this CD fasinating, exciting and informative and I think it stands the test of time, as a testimony to exellence.
All-in-all I liked it very much and I now also listen to it in the car almost every day! Andra Best of Cold Chisel (Us Import)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aussi fabs, 12 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
Honest hard rock from Cold Chisel. An australian band from the 80s with good songs that disclosed one of the best rock singers of all time, Jimmy Barnes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Times Oz Style!, 2 Jun. 2009
By 
Martina Walsh (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best of Cold Chisel (Audio CD)
A fantastic album - for anyone who was in Oz a few (ahem!)years ago who enjoyed the company of the locals - you would've been introduced to Chisel! All the memories came back. Mornings on the steps of the Opera house, afternoons in the Rocks, visiting all the favorite haunts and nights in Kitty O'Shea's in Paddingon. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of Cold Chisel
Best of Cold Chisel by Cold Chisel (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews