Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of captivating/haunting music, 25 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
This is an excellent collection of captivating/haunting music and is recommended for any modern folk/new age audience as well as Clannad fans for whom it is one of the best albums. The Lore CD comprise both English and Gaelic lyrics. The vocals blend so well with the music that is is not necessary to understand the words to appreciate the music. The Themes and Dreams CD includes well known themes from films over the last decade or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clannad's Absolute Best!!, 31 Oct. 2002
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
If you only buy one Clannad album, make it Lore. This just does not get any better!! With their mix of English and Gaelic, with haunting melodies, perfect vocals....ah, pure MAGICK!!!
I have literally worn this CD out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best, 30 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
As Deborah MacGillivray quite rightly states, this is their best album - and, in my opinion, despite some other brilliant albums, by some distance. This is the perfect Clannad album, a mixture of tracks brilliantly sung in English and Gaelic and with lovely musicianship and arrangements. For me, it takes the band back to their folk roots, but with that New Age gentleness which the Brennan sibling, Enya, would have been proud to be a part of. It was around this time that Maire/Moya Brennan's solo career was moving into top gear and albums that she released after this were of a similar New Age vein.

It would be wrong to single out individual tracks but, if push comes to shove, "A Bridge (That Carries Us Over)", "Trail Of Tears", "Dealramh Go Deo" and "Farewell Love" all do it for me but, honestly, it is the whole collection of tracks which add up to the perfection that this album is.

The bonus CD - Themes and Dreams - is a 6 track, 22 minute disk of songs which have been featured in films or TV shows. "Harry's Game" is there, as is "I Will Find You" (Last Of The Mohicans) and two vocalists featured are Bono (In A Lifetime) and Bruce Hornsby (Something to Believe In). It's a nice little bonus.

Brilliant package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Clannad album so far, 30 July 2012
By 
Karoly (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
If you want to buy a Clannad album, start with this one! The record shows the band at their peak.
The songs on this record are very strong and more cohesiative to each after than the ones on different albums. The mood can be called mystic and ethereal although the sounds are more progressive than their previous albums.Some great folk pieces, multivocal tracks, jazz and Celtic ambient tracks can be found here and I am sure these ones are soul-touching. There is no bad track on the record!

One of the best songs is 'Seanchas' ,which is an uptempo jazzy piece, sung in Irish Gaelic. it was released as the first single off this record. The majestic 'A Bridge (That Carries Us Over)' is another masterpieces alongside with 'Broken Pieces' (written by Moya). From the folk pool and the love folk ballad 'Trathnona Beag Areir' was recorded and it is one of the most wonderful tracks of Clannad.The other traditional song is 'Alasdair Macolla' is a Scottish "waulking" song.

It can be seen that with this album Clannad has created a milestone in their career towards the sky!

This album should have won the Grammy Award in 1997!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lore - Clannad, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
P. R. Phillips (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
I stopped buying Clannad's albums after Macalla and just added a best of album to my collection then picked up another best of album with tracks from Landmarks, Anam and this album. I was so impressed that I bought all three of these albums and have since added their latest album, Ndur to my collection.I thought Macalla was their best ever but Lore scores a photo finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Copy Bought as Gift, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
This particular haunting album by Clannad is beautiful and have played constantly over the years. A friend recently her the album playing and could not tear himself away from the CD. This second copy I have purchased is as a gift to him for his Birthday. A gift I know he will truly love to receive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clannad., 13 May 2014
By 
GERRY MCMENEMY (Argyll,Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
I am presently rediscovering some of my favourite acts and performers from years ago.
This double CD has a terrific range of Clannad's music including their greatest hits.
G.McMenemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
I had always wanted to collect albums by Clannad and this was now. The album is great and the service provided by the seller was excellent so I am a winner all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Although I've given it a 5 star it is because ..., 16 July 2014
By 
A. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lore (MP3 Download)
Although I've given it a 5 star it is because it appeals to me as I find it relaxing and soothing to have as background. Might not appeal to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lore (Audio CD)
brilliant album and at 5pence excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lore
Lore by Clannad (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews