Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pop punk, 30 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
From the beginning to end, this album is filled with gems (TimeBomb, Homophobia and Give The Anarchist A Cigarette are classic) and while it may have one song where the sentiment outweighs the quality (Enough is enough), the rest stands up as an example of how mainstream could be done. If this CD came out after TubThumper, Chumba would be TOTP staples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album from an extremely misunderstood band (probably), 20 May 2007
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
Even though they're still alive and still touring, a lot of people are going to remember Chumbawamba as a bunch of rowdy anarchist shouters who fluked one hit record with "Tubthumping". Yet every single one of Chumbawamba's albums proves that wrong, including this one.

It is a lovely mix of catchy tunes (politics aside, they are simply great song writers) with literate and meaningful lyrics. It's not fashionable to be political in music nowadays (putting weak Live8 messages aside), but listening to this album you begin to think that there should be a lot more politics in music.

Every album of Chumbawamba's is subtly different in style from the last, and over the course of lots of albums they've shifted from being punk-rockers, to dance-pop-rockers (including "Tubthumper"), to folky dance-poppers (the brilliant "Readymades" and "Un"). Even though this album's called "Anarchy" and the cover is, erm, 'bold', this is not one of their punk-rock albums. This is a 1994 album when they have mastered pop beats, the sampler, and other slick production touches.

It's also very diverse. "Love Me" and "This Year's Thing" are quite full-on rock numbers. "Timebomb" is pure pop. "Georgina" is a doo-wop ballad about domestic abuse. MC Fusion (from Credit To The Nation) appears on some tracks, including "Enough Is Enough". "Mouthful Of S***" is the shouting frenzy that Chumbawamba now seem to be remembered for. "Rage" is a brief yet very moving Dylan Thomas-quoting outro (assuming you discount the hidden track). Many of the tracks are woven together by selected samples that suggest Chumbawamba aren't as stoically serious as they sometimes seem to be- for example the Simpsons quote "judging by his outlandish attire, he's some sort of free-thinking anarchist" "I'll call security, sir", or "I'm Danbert Nobacon, I'm the transvestite of the group." It's all got so much energy, it makes most of the other music out there at the moment sound like a passionless dirge.

It's hard to pick which Chumbawamba album is their best. I'd be tempted to say "Readymades", which came a bit later than this, as their later material does seem a bit more 'grown up'. And yet I can play this CD over and over.

The only thing missing from this album is the 'Sisters mix' of "Homophobia", which was the single version that you probably didn't hear on the radio. On the album the song is a near-acapella folk rendition, but the 'Sisters mix' (which was a complete re-recording in a different time signature at a different speed) turned it into the best Pet Shop Boys song that the Pet Shop Boys never wrote.

Chumbawamba deserve a lot more than they get, so buy this, so there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music - deserves a wider audience, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
This is a superb album. There are a few reasons why it has never reached the size of audience it deserves. Some of these reasons may be a sad reflection on the music business, the media, and perhaps even the public at large (the 'we get what we're given' approach). Unfortunately, what may be the single biggest reason is entirely the fault of band (or record company) i.e. the truly awful cover; why was any of it a good idea?

Having said that, this is my favoriate Chumbawmba (from 1994 - I don't know why Amazon says '1999' in some places)and damn good it is. At times they make producing catchy, punchy original-sounding music sound so easy.

For me, much of the bands' political views are frankly half-baked (sorry chaps! may be important to you, but they're not to me), but don't really detract from the music.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hey kids look at this!!!, 24 Aug 2012
By 
Mr B (Welsh Borders) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
In several words, Ace! Brilliant! First (Class)! oops!

As an intro to Chumber this collection is great, as a long time fan, it lacks some nice early stuff, BUT, its still great!! As time goes on I feel more dis-enfranchised from the youth...dam age.. but this album brings it all back...some crackers but too short...loved abcdefg as apurist but the slight returns to Agit Pop are much appreciated!! God on you Chumba!! No political sellout gripes from this corner!! Keep the Anarchy alive!!!

For a better appreciation of Anarchy and its beliefs see Anthony Beevor 1336-1339 Spanish Civil War, Anarchy is not all graffitti and petrol bombs just agreed co-operation! A far superior system of government!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant from start to fiinsh, 29 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
That says it all really. I bought this album when it came out, and rediscovered it on my iPod yesterday while bored on a flight. How have I forgotten it for so long ? Interestingly my 13 year old son recently commented he had been listening to it as he had found it in my MP3 collection, so you don't have to be ancient to appreciate it.
I think one of the best tracks on it among the general excellence is 'Enough is Enough', unlike the views of one other reviewer, though it's a close run thing with most of the other tracks, what an under-rated group !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FAB FAB FAB!!!!, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
Brilliant gift. The album mixes up-beat pop tunes, dance tracks and fantastic lyrics to create an amazing track list to listen to. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Georgina, 6 Feb 2008
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
I completely agree with Mr Stuart Bruce's review, except to point out that 'Georgina' is actually about the Peter Greenaway film; 'The Cook, the Thief, his Wife and her Lover'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Anarchy, 1 Jan 2004
By 
clark (Olney, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
Anarchists at their best, I love Chumbawamba and this is an excellent albumn. Its a constent mix of political satire 'big mouth' and 'give the anarchist a cigarete', but social ideas such as in 'homophobia'. Excellent albumn all the above tracks are blinding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best, 14 Feb 2001
This review is from: Anarchy (Audio CD)
This CD must go down as a classic,With songs like mouthful & love me at a time when Britain was going ga ga over a new band called Oasis this was a refreshing album.I remember seeing them at the time supporting The Levellers with each member of the band leaving the stage at different times. At the end if seemed like there were 12 people at the end for 'timebomb'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anarchy
Anarchy by Chumbawamba (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews