Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very strong album
Richard Carpenter didn't have much time to write new songs for this album, so he only contributed three of his own songs (Saturday, Drusilla Penny, One love), but all of them are excellent. For the other tracks, Richard was able to identify some brilliant songs from outside sources and the end result was one of the strongest albums that the Carpenters ever recorded...
Published on 27 May 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget the world, sigh with the carpenters.
This albumn has a warm, genuine feel overflowing with atmosphere, music destined to tweek the nostalgia strings of even the most blinkered listener. The songs themselves are not exceptional , some taken from that unstoppable (I've tried!) creative black-hole - 'The musical', others co-written by Mr Carpenter including the catchy queesy-cheesy - 'Saturday' (my personal...
Published on 30 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very strong album, 27 May 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
Richard Carpenter didn't have much time to write new songs for this album, so he only contributed three of his own songs (Saturday, Drusilla Penny, One love), but all of them are excellent. For the other tracks, Richard was able to identify some brilliant songs from outside sources and the end result was one of the strongest albums that the Carpenters ever recorded.

The album features Superstar (which they recorded after hearing Bette Midler sing it). For all we know (from the movie Lovers and other strangers) and Rainy days and Mondays. There's also a medley of six Bacharach-Davis songs, though I don't know why they chose to include I'll never fall in love again, since they recorded a full-length version on their previous album, but that's a minor quibble. Hideaway (written by Randy Sparks, best known as the founder of the New Christy Minstrels), Let me be the one and Sometimes are other wonderful songs.

This album is a masterpiece by the Carpenters, and makes a good starting point for anybody wishing to explore their music beyond the hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpenters still cast a long shadow............, 6 Feb 2008
By 
G. P. Comber (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carpenters (Audio CD)
I don't think I could ever have called myself a Carpenters fan but their music has always been with me and it was truly astounding to see how much of it is still available , much of it (as this is) remastered. What I had forgotten was how polished their performances were and what a gob-smackingly beautiful voice Karen had . What a shame she's no longer with us.
This is one of their earlier offerings and features the Bacherach and David medley ( chunks of which turn up , slightly re-arranged on other albums)which I have a feeling may have been part of their Cabaret set from their travelling days. Other favourites are present. Rainy Days and Mondays , For All we Know , One Love and the hauntingly beautiful, Sometimes.It has been re-mastered nicely although that hasn't been over-kind to the Bacherach and David with at least one edit showing up in sharp relief ! Whatever , at this price its a steal.Interesting to see how short the tracks are compared to modern offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good but don't buy this version, 30 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
This album is a brill album but the sound quality on this version is quite bad because it is un-remastered. Particularly in track 9, there is an audiable tape-hiss type noise. The better version is the one with a peach cover and the Carpenters logo in brown in the centre. But nontheless a brilliant album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Collection of Songs, 25 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Steward "petersteward" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
read one review that claimed The Carpenters were running out of material to mine by the time they approached their third album. This is just nonsense. Once again an album of superlative songs. Today we have an ever expanding conveyor belt of female singers torturing us with their strangled vocals that masquerade as soulful.

Karen Carpenter had one of the most soulful voices of all time without ever attempting to be anything other than a superlative vocalist. Quite frankly she could sing the telephone directory and make it interesting. Rainy Days and Mondays is the kind of song that we can all relate to and once again showed how comfortably Karen and Richard could dovetail in with the work of Roger Nicholls and Paul Williams.

Other songs on this album such as For All We Know and, Superstar (the latter which brought Leon Russell into the picture) are top notch Carpenters efforts. Amongst the original material One Love is outstanding and the duo also link in an excellent Bacharach/David medley that helps to give rather than take away identity. It is here that Richard Carpenter's arrangements come to the fore to give a fresh sound to some very well known songs. The album concludes with one of my favourite songs of all times - Henry Mancini's Sometimes where the lyrics say it all - Just look them up on the internet and luxuriate in some of the most inspiring words ever put to music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent value and service, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
lovely singing voice of Karen Carpenter. Great music for driving and singing along to. Memories of the 70's. Great deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Carpenters C.D., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
Great cd's well worthy the money, I have added it to my collection on my ipad as well as being able to play it on my hi-fi with truly great sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 26 April 2013
By 
Mr. W. Chamberlain "Bill C" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this CD again. I used to have the album on anLP. Excellent reproduction too. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unique voice and good instrumentals, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
I like the songs and their settings, I don't really like the Burt Bacharach arrangements at the end, though. Thanks,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just bought this, 20 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Carpenters (Audio CD)
flippin great

and has exceeded my expectations, does unfortunately show though that todays generation of artists (and I am from that generation) have rally lost the ability to make stuff of this quality

This album is genius

I suggest you buy it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carpenters CD, 30 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Carpenters (Audio CD)
thanks to the vendor for prompt despatch. This has fast become a favourite CD of mine and I listen to it a LOT. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Carpenters
The Carpenters by Carpenters (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews