Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beg to differ...
I can't agree with Y.O. Barton. This CD is a useful adjunct to Piaf's studio recordings, only seven of the tracks were recorded in "some American music hall" (Carnegie Hall, actually!) the rest are from the famed Olympia in Paris, recorded betwen 1955 and 1962, and demonstrate something of her power as a live performer. The english version of "Les Amants d'un Jour" may...
Published on 30 Jun 2008 by Mr.Woods

versus
36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly
Dreadful waste of (not very much)money. Much of it is of a concert to some ghastly American music hall audience, and some songs, including the haunting Les Amants d'un Jour, are in English, sanitising them of any romance. I beg to differ: this is not the real Edith Piaf. Don't touch it.
Published on 31 May 2007 by Y. O. Barton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beg to differ..., 30 Jun 2008
By 
Mr.Woods (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
I can't agree with Y.O. Barton. This CD is a useful adjunct to Piaf's studio recordings, only seven of the tracks were recorded in "some American music hall" (Carnegie Hall, actually!) the rest are from the famed Olympia in Paris, recorded betwen 1955 and 1962, and demonstrate something of her power as a live performer. The english version of "Les Amants d'un Jour" may not quite have the subtletly of the original (how do you translate "...ce decor, banal a pleurer" using the same number of syllables? - impossible) but it still packs quite a punch, and I still play it to newcomers to Piaf who don't know French. Most are visibly moved by it, so don't knock it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique experience, 3 Sep 2005
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
for some reason I am the first to write a review. When I saw the invitation I had to accept. It can only be possible that I am the first because no-one believes a review is really necessay for such a great and well-known artist-singer. In the unlikely event that you are new to Edith - and she does obviously belong to an older generation - these recordings belong to an older school and technique and lack today's brilliant clarity, but this is all the mroe appropriate for the unique smoky voice that is Piaf. Her's is the original sound of soul, of the human spirit and the love of life even in the midst of the melancholy and tragedy of her times. She will stop - and then enspirit - any of your parties or just fill your evening with pleasure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Piaf in concert, 20 Jun 2009
By 
J. Pauley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
Ignore Y.O. Barton's review. His ignorance of the significance of these recordings is exemplified by his "...some ghastly American music hall..." comment. The "ghastly American music hall" in question is Carnegie Hall and the Carnegie Hall recordings are recognised as some the best of Piaf's career. The term "legendary" has been used on more than one occasion to describe these concerts.

This is a superb introduction to the power of Piaf's live performances, many of which are available on her numerous live CDs recorded at The Olympia and Carnegie Hall if this budget priced disc should whet your appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merveilleux, 16 July 2009
By 
C. Knowles (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
OK, the packaging of this CD is cheap and nasty (it *is* a Music For Pleasure release after all, and that imprint was never renowned for its elegant aesthetics), and it may not be apparent from a cursory glance that these are live recordings. But live they are - and also wonderful, giving some measure of indication as to why Piaf, alongside Garland, was on her day arguably the greatest live female singer and performer of the 20th century.

Virtually all of Piaf's most celebrated songs are here, providing a useful counterpoint to the recorded versions. On the subject which has already been touched on by previous reviews of the inclusion of the English version of, for me, Piaf's greatest achievement of all, 'Les Amants d'un Jour' - yes, of course the original French version is a heartbreaking masterpiece, which is also available on any number of Piaf collections. The English version is much less easily-found, and it would be the worst kind of precious musical snob who would deny that it has a beauty of its own. 'Who am I to care, one more love affair? Love is nothing new, I have work to do' somehow encapsulates a whole life in 18 words. (Interestingly, this version explicitly makes Les Amants a heterosexual couple, while the more ambiguous French lyrics make no such reference).

This album usually seems to be available for peanuts, and in my opinion wouldn't be at all a bad place to start for anyone new to Piaf who may not at first necessarily want to fork out a larger sum for a more sophisticatedly* presented and comprehensive collection. *(If this word exists, it looks kind of wrong!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly, 31 May 2007
By 
Y. O. Barton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
Dreadful waste of (not very much)money. Much of it is of a concert to some ghastly American music hall audience, and some songs, including the haunting Les Amants d'un Jour, are in English, sanitising them of any romance. I beg to differ: this is not the real Edith Piaf. Don't touch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique talent.Perhaps not of today,s tastes but we will not see her like again., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
For me a nostalgic return to past times when my late wife and I first listened to these songs.Adieu.Edith.Thanks for the memories.Adieu Edith-le petit moineau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EDITH PIAF in concert, 22 Feb 2013
By 
willywonky (Barrow-In-Furness) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
Fabulous, reminds me of when I was fighting Jerry in the resistance. Them were the days. I was a secret radio operator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Edith Piaf CD collection, 11 May 2013
By 
RC (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
Classic Piaf. I play it loudly in my car with the roof off on a sunny day. Will there ever be her match?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Old but Good, 26 Aug 2012
By 
D. R. Godwin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
For those of you new to Piaf this is a good start. The quality is not too bad bearing in mind the time and place it was recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Regrets, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF (Audio CD)
We were only really interested in one track and it was just as we expected. I am sure the CD will be played in its entirety over the next few months. It suited the occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF
THE LEGENDARY EDITH PIAF by Edith Piaf (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews