Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to Matt's music
Considering that Matt is largely forgotten these days, and is not around to remind people of his brilliance, quite a lot of his music is available on CD (at least in the UK) including a bewildering array of compilations. This one contains all the essentials.
Matt was Britain's best balladeer of the sixties. He had five UK top ten hits, these being Portrait of my...
Published on 28 Oct. 2004 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
I bought this for my mum as he is a favourite singer of hers some nice songs and a lovely mellow voice
Published 15 months ago by cleopatra


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to Matt's music, 28 Oct. 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
Considering that Matt is largely forgotten these days, and is not around to remind people of his brilliance, quite a lot of his music is available on CD (at least in the UK) including a bewildering array of compilations. This one contains all the essentials.
Matt was Britain's best balladeer of the sixties. He had five UK top ten hits, these being Portrait of my love, My kind of girl, Softly as I leave you, Walk away and Yesterday. The Beatles' own version of Yesterday was not released as a UK single at the time although it was released in the USA (where it topped the charts) and eventually got a UK release in the mid-seventies. So Matt's version competed with several others but the only other one to chart was by Marianne Faithfull. Matt recorded several other Beatles songs, of which Michelle is included in this set.
Although it was only a comparatively modest hit (just making the UK top twenty), Matt's most famous recording is probably From Russia with love, a James Bond theme song. He recorded plenty of stage and screen songs during his career and on this collection you will find Matt's versions of Born free (from Born free), On days like these (from The Italian job), Speak softly love (from The Godfather), Somewhere (from West side story) and Gonna build a mountain (from Stop the world and let me off), the last-named providing another minor UK hit for Matt.
Several minor hits are missing although two others are included, these being For Mama and My love and devotion. So this is not a definitive collection but it contains all his big hits and everything else that casual buyers need.
If you enjoy the music of Nat King Cole, Andy Williams, Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin, it is likely that you will also enjoy listening to Matt Monro. This CD provides a good sampling of his music. Do not be surprised if, once you've played it a few times, you end up buying more of his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The very best of 'the singing bus driver' !, 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
Matt Monro is probably the only British artist to have captured the true vocal essence of America's 'Rat Pack'. Most famous for his themes to 'From Russia with Love'and the Oscar winning John Barry/Don Black song 'Born Free', it is with the Quincy Jones/Don Black theme to 'The Italian Job', the quite immaculate 'On Days Like These', that Monro lures a new audience of Lounge oriented romantics. Some syruppy covers along the way are forgiven from this awesome voice with a range that, according to the previously mentioned Black, must surely have been powered by three lungs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


134 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Monro. Possibly the best male vocalist of all time., 27 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
Firstly, my musical preferences are very wide ranging. I love everything from the gritty blues of Robert Johnson, to Buddy Holly, to Led Zepellin, to the anarchic sounds of the Sex Pistols. I first learned of Matt when I was probably 12 or 13, when my mother used to wander around the house singing along to `My love and Devotion`, and `Walk away`. Even then, I was immediately taken in by Matts incredibly rich and toneful voice. Now, nearly twenty years later, I rate Matt as probably the best male vocalist of all time, certainly (in my opinion), up there with Sinatra, Cole and all the other great `crooners` from across the pond. His totally effortless style, impeccable pitch and incredibly smooth vibrato that has to be heard to be believed, make any Monro CD an absolute must for any music enthusiast. Most people will be aware of `From Russia with love`, from the film of the same name, and songs such as `Softly as I leave you`, `My kind of girl`, and the stirring `The impossible dream`, all showcase Matts talents to the full. For anybody who enjoys this kind of music, and who doesn`t actually own any of Matts material, I urge you to get yourself a copy of `The very best of Matt Monroe`. You won`t be disappointed.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `MAT MONRO` THE MASTER,, 29 July 2007
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
WHAT CAN ANY ONE REALLY SAY ABOUT MAT MONRO,THAT HAS`NT BEEN SAID.HIS VOICE, HIS MUSICAL PHRASING, THE SMART WAY HE LOOKED.AN ALL ROUND MASTER. THATS WHY `SINATRA` WAS A FAN OF MAT MONRO.STARTING FROM VERY HUMBLE BEGINNINGS,DRIVING A LONDON BUS AND SINGING AT WORK SOCIAL EVENTS. TO MAKING IT BIG IN THE USA AND ALL OVER THE WORLD.SINGING TO SELLOUT CONCERTS AND T.V SHOWS,BUT NEVER ONCE FORGETTING HIS ROOTS.ALLWAYS A SIMPLE MAN WHO LOVED HIS FAMILY,HIS HOME AND HIS MUSIC,AND THAT SHOWS ON THIS C.D.EACH AND EVERY TRACK ON THIS ALBUM IS MONUMENTAL.HE HAND PICKED THE SONGS HE SUNG.A PERFECTIONIST IN EVERY WAY.ALL HIS HITS ARE HERE.SIT BACK AND GIVE YOURSELF A TREAT.AND LISTEN TO A MASTER AT WORK.( A Five Star Rating is Not Enough For This Album )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE VERY BEST OF MATT MONRO, 2 Mar. 2006
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
I RATE THIS AS ONE OF THE BEST OF MY MANY MATT MONRO CDS,ITS A GREAT RANGE OF HIS POPULAR HITS,HIS PERFORMANCES OF ""ON A CLEAR DAY YOU CAN SEE FOREVER" AND "WE'RE GONNA CHANGE THE WORLD"ARE FIRST CLASS, NOT FORGETTING ON "DAYS LIKE THESE" AND"WHO CAN I TURN" IALSO HAVE ON DAYS LIKE THESE SUNG IN SPANISH ON ANOTHER CD HIS DICTION ON THAT PARTICULAR TRACK IS INCREDIBLE I MAKE THIS A MUST FOR MATTS ARMY OF FANS AND RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY I THANK AMAZON FOR SHIPPING THIS TO ME IN AUSTRALIA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is the best of, 29 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. R. Gleadhill (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
Matt Monro has a truly unique voice - trained, cultured, and above all, sublime. My favourite track has to be On Days Like These - I can quite happily just put that track on Repeat, and drift off to sleep. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt Monro - the best, 11 Jan. 2008
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
I can't review this particular disc as I don't have it, but it has all his best tracks. Anyone who doubts Matt's ability should listen to the way he can hold a perfect note - sometimes, at the end of a song, for up to 10 seconds. If this doesn't sound like much, try it yourself! Apparently, when he was in the forces, Matt used to enter talent contests, and was eventually told to stop entering because he kept winning! Scandalously, his title song to 'From Russia with Love' was removed from later issues of that film. Why??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of crooners, 30 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
Great voice, and what's more he actually had the confidence to sing with English vowel sounds (not an American drawl which most crooners and pop 'singers' use).

Wonderful arrangements and great musicianship; also very largely British.

Who says only the Americans can croon?!

If you only ever buy one CD of this type, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars matt monro, 23 April 2010
By 
Bambi (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
I asked for a good selection of the artist's recordings and this album delivered. A special present for a senior citizen. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it myself! Beautiful tracks evoking wonderful memories. Amazing - I'm a fan of UB40, Alexandra Burke and Matt Monro!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Matt Monro cd, 8 Nov. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Walsh "Maw." (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Matt Monro (Audio CD)
This is a very good introduction to one of Britains best balladeers, and includes the bulk of Matt's hits in the UK. All of his major hits such as "Born Free" "Walk away" "From Russia with love" "Portrait of my love" and many others are here, but I will be buying this cd for a few of the other tracks included, such as "Were gonna change the world" and "For Mama" which are two of my all time favourite recordings. The latter of these two tracks, "For Mama" in particular, is without doubt the best version of this song that I have heard, and Matt does it beautifully. I have heard other great singers cover this song, such as Connie Francis, and even Ray Charles, but in my opinion Matt's version wins hands down. This is a very good selection of Matt's recordings over the last fifty or so years, and is available on Amazon at a very modest price indeed, even if you are new to Matt's music, this is a cd that I would recommend without hesitation, if you are a fan of Matt's music, no recommendation is required. Mrs. M Walsh. "Maw".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Matt Monro
The Very Best Of Matt Monro by Matt Monro (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews