Customer Reviews
Ima


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blissed out and ambient
Marketted as trance, this is actually more at the ambient end of things. I first picked this up in 1995 - drawn to the wonderful single "Loving You More" but was hooked instantly. Sure, some of the whale sounds and sounds of crashing waves are a little clichéd but this has more than enough for any fan of relaxed, chilled out music. "Divinity" is so atmospheric that...
Published on 17 Oct 2002 by ad-infinitum

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ambient animal noises rather than blistering trance.
As an Orbital/Fluke/Underworld/Platipus fan, for me this was a largely disappointing album but if you like Loop Guru/Banco de Gaia/Transglobal Underground then this is probably for you.
"Tripping the light fantastic" is a good trance track but the rest sound clichéd and dated. "Sasha's voyage of ima" is a 40-odd minute mix of spare parts, still if you like...
Published on 12 Sep 2002 by B. Chandler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blissed out and ambient, 17 Oct 2002
This review is from: Ima (Audio CD)
Marketted as trance, this is actually more at the ambient end of things. I first picked this up in 1995 - drawn to the wonderful single "Loving You More" but was hooked instantly. Sure, some of the whale sounds and sounds of crashing waves are a little clichéd but this has more than enough for any fan of relaxed, chilled out music. "Divinity" is so atmospheric that I can almost feel the warm sun on my back everytime I hear it. Do yourself a favour, though, and checkout the import version. For a little bit more money you get the original CD interspersed with extra tracks and remixes - and for a change these actually add to the CD rather than pad it out (especially "Blue Skies" which features Tori Amos on guest vocals).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars progressive trance just doesn't get much better than this !, 30 July 2004
By 
Mr Jason J Foord (Godalming, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: IMA (Audio CD)
classic BT, and well worth going for the 2 disc version - go on this journey and you'll always keep coming back for more !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublime blend of deep house beats and magical symphonies., 4 Nov 1999
By 
J. Bateman "jus73" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ima (Audio CD)
Brian Transeau (BT) is a classically trained musician so we are truly blessed that he has concentrated his composing efforts on all things house. Ima is one of those rare albums that never seems to depreciate with repeated listenings. One of the keys to the success of the album is the variety, not only from track to track but even within the songs themselves. BT puts layer upon layer of drumbeats, guitars, piano and all manner of electronic textures which linger long in the mind.
Nocturnal Transmission sets the tone for the album, beginning with an almost ethereal intro but soon bringing in more urgent beats and a tune of seemingly neverending complexity. As you would expect from any half-decent trance track, the build-ups are immaculate and the whole nine minutes flashes past. Quark and Tripping the Light Fantastic are both rampant floorfillers, soundscapes of enormous proportion but only really serve as an appetizer for Sasha's Voyage of Ima, a 42-minute epic which mixes the singles Embracing the Future, Deeper Sunshine and Loving You More with consummate ease. It's almost as if the songs were written to be blended together so seamlessly. Again, the mixture of the hardest beats, the swaying melodies and the precision pacing makes listening an unforgettable experience.
The album finishes with Divinity, a piano-led anthem which hits all the right buttons both with its beauty and its explosiveness.
His albums since, ESCM and Movement in Still Life, are far better than most "intelligent house" available, but nothing matches the sheer brilliance of Ima. Buy it or miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need you ask? BT at his best, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ima (MP3 Download)
The album cover shows me everytime I listen to Ima, hands in the air praising the lord that graced us with the genius that is BT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album changed my life (nearly), 27 Nov 2003
By 
T. SMEDLEY "terrysmedley" (Taunton UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ima (Audio CD)
I was a student when this album appeared and bought it pretty much straight away, as I did back in those days, due to a healthy interest in clubs at the time. Many others purchased around the time, (Robert Miles to name but one), have seldom graced my CD player since those days, but BT just gets better.
I have his subsequent releases, which are all supurb, but this album holds that special something, the ability to make your spine tingle, be it with the outright euphoria of Divinity, or the subtle melodies of Tripping the Light Fantastic.
The Sasha mix is a handy way to catch up on BT's previous releases and is skillfully done, though I sometimes lose the thread if not really into it, at around the 30 minute mark! I find all the tracks have been favourites at one time or another, I always find something new in each song on this album, surely a sign of greatness. It's also good one for showing off/testing a hi-fi, I bought my last pair of speakers on the basis of hearing parts this album through them!
As an aside, apparently appaled by his imitators, BT rejected an entire follow-up album of similar material and moved on, which surely must be one of music's great losses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice surprise, 13 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ima (Audio CD)
I actually bought this album by mistake, having previously hated all trance house with a vengance. I thought I might as well listen to it anyway, and was, to my surprise, completely blown away. This is a truly beautiful album and obviously an early and original manifestation of a genre which has since decended into cliched cheesy rubbish. It is now an essential in my music collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BT IS A DANCE GOD!!, 18 July 2004
This review is from: IMA (Audio CD)
i have 2 copies of this cd the original single disc and this the import version..i bought this thinking "flaming june" was on it and it wasn't i later found out it was "escm" but that didn't matter after i'd listened to it and was amazed! it's quite a chilled cd to be honest nothing really dancefloor friendly which is a good thing cos i hate most of the sound called "trance" thats around these days i have bought the rest of bts' stuff since but this cd is perfect for summer or anytime of the year!the man is a genius!my faves are the 40 min epic that is "sashas voyage of ima" and "divinity" any one with any taste in dance music should have this cd.If you want to hear what a good singer bt is check out "love comes again" with dj tiesto.this "ima" cd is essential buy one now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BT (ima), 10 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Ima (Audio CD)
The first album by BT (Brian Transeau).This one has accompanied me on many a Saturday night well into the early hours of the morning. It opens with "Nocturnal Transmissions" a melifulous track that elevates into beautiful trance."Quark" and "Tripping the light fantastic" are complementing.Then an amazing 40 minute"Voyage of Ima" with some help from Sasha really encapsulates the albums dizzy heights.Speaking of Sasha, BT is his little pet, and not suprisingly Sasha has mixed plenty of his tunes in past and present. All in all, this is a perennial winner for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's trance..., 3 April 2002
This review is from: Ima (Audio CD)
...but wait! Its good trance, and its not the overcrowded stuff usually associated with the 6 letter word. 'Nocturnal Transmission' starts the album, swaying from organic flutes to synth melodies and monk chanting (im sure theyre saying forlorn!). Then onto 'Quark' which is a bit old-skool in ways, but from 7 years ago, it sounds a lot fresher than other stuff. 'Quark' then effortlessly launches into 'Tripping the light Fantastic' with BT's vocals and a killer bassline with melodies supporting. "Voyage of Ima" defines the album as a whole and mixes all the first 3 songs along with 'Embracing the Future', 'Deeper Sunshine' and @loving you More' which makes this 42 minute epic quite literally fantastic. Then onto 'Divinity', the beautiful piano-led track which finishes the album on a summery note. However, I only give this compilation 4 stars because its ALL trance, with not a lot of variety between songs. Still worth the money though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Item!!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ima (Audio CD)
The product is as described and will recommend this item to anyone!
Item also arrived in-time and as described without any issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ima
Ima by BT (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews