Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartless and poignant - it's all here
The cover may seem naff but this inexpensive CD is indeed the best single-disc 70s compilation of Sedaka you can get, with no misleading rerecordings (the reinvention of Breaking Up ... is hardly that).

I've long had a sneaking affection for Sedaka, even though he teeters on the verge of mawkishness. Betty Grable has some toecurling lyrics (by longtime...
Published on 28 April 2006 by Pismotality

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NEIL SADAKA LAUGHTER AND TEARS
I LIKED SOME OF HIS TRACKS BUT MY MAIN GRYPE IS THE QUALITY OF THE RECORDINGS WHICH I SUSPECT HAVE JUST BEEN COPIED OVER FROM THE OLD VYNIL RECORDINGS SO I WAS DISAPPOINTED FROM THAT POINT OF VEIW
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Mr. G. Honey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartless and poignant - it's all here, 28 April 2006
By 
Pismotality (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
The cover may seem naff but this inexpensive CD is indeed the best single-disc 70s compilation of Sedaka you can get, with no misleading rerecordings (the reinvention of Breaking Up ... is hardly that).

I've long had a sneaking affection for Sedaka, even though he teeters on the verge of mawkishness. Betty Grable has some toecurling lyrics (by longtime collaborator Howard Greenfield) - "I'd eat some jam and bread / And watch her overhead" - and a bit of a gear-crunching key change, but the poignancy of that insistent, childlike melody is everything. (Love to hear Philip Goodhand-Tate or Joe Cocker wrap their gravelly tonsils around that.)

Other songs, like Laughter in the Rain, can be simply charming in capturing a moment though Queen of 1964, outrageous rhymes and all ("conquer" with "Bianca"), is as cheerfully heartless about the fate of its protagonist as Manilow's Copacabana - though funnier. It's entirely fitting that Our Last Song Together, Sedaka and Howard Greenfield's tender farewell to a collaboration which began in the 50s, closes the set.

Now if only there were a decent 50s CD which did more than recycle the hits - for the moment the expensive Bear Family box set seems the only way to go ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the seventies, 19 Oct 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
Neil had more success as a songwriter than as a singer but he was a good singer too, as this collection of his seventies music shows.
Laughter in the rain is perhaps the most famous song here and it is typical of the kind of song that Neil was so good at – a bouncy pop song that seems lightweight but has something enduring about it. Another famous song here is Solitaire, which provided a hit for both the Carpenters and Andy Williams. It has also been covered by a lot of other singers and is surely the most-covered song of those here. Love will keep us together and Lonely night were both superbly covered by Captain and Tennille who took them both to number one in America, though they didn't do much in Britain. Breaking up is hard to do is a re-recording of one of Neil's sixties classics, taken at a much slower pace than his earlier version. Bad blood was an American number one hit for Neil.
Of the other songs, The other side of me, A little loving, Sing me, The hungry years, That's when the music takes me and Our last song together are all wonderful songs, some of which you've probably heard via covers even if you haven't heard the originals.
Special mention must be made of the song Betty Grable, a tribute to one of Hollywood's all-time greats written soon after she died, and The queen of 1964, a song with a story to tell. They may be among the more obscure songs here, but they are worth hearing.
There are many Neil Sedaka compilations on the market. Some cover his whole career while others focus on particular periods. As a collection of his seventies music, this is as good as you are likely to find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs for a lifetime, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Philip Baird (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
It's great to see Neil enjoying the success and respect he so richly deserves and having bought this on CD and watching the recent BBC4 documentary, I was reminded of why he is one of my all-time favourites. I don't go much for his fifties bubble gum stuff although there's nothing wrong with it, but what you have here is real songwriting with depth and emotion that ranks up there with the very best. I'd even say that at least two or three of the songs on here are among the greatest songs ever written. I think that having gone through the hungry years when he virtually disappeared (How could we let this happen ?) he was able to tap in to this experience to re-emerge with these hard-earned and incredible songs that would relaunch his career in the 1970's. To my shame I've never seen him in concert (But if you're ever round my way again Neil I'll be first in the queue for a ticket). If you don't know how good Sedaka is then just buy this for less than three quid and prepare to be blown away by the magic that is Neil Sedaka performing his greatest ever songs. It's just a shame about the cover !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah! The memories!, 14 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
I had this on vinyl in the 70's and the songs are as good as ever. From upbeat to poignant such as The Hungry Years and The Other Side Of Me. For any " child of the 70's" this is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil is a genius, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
There are many Sedaka compilations out there. This one does not mix and match his 60's and 70's work as it is totally a representation of his best Seventies songs. With the exception of the badly dated 'Queen of 1964' every track is a gem. His slow and tender 'jazzy' re-working of 'breaking up is hard to do' is an absolute treat to my ears. The superb lyrics are better absorbed too in this ballad style. 'Bad blood', 'the other side of me' 'beautiful you' and 'the hungry years' are my other favourites. 'The hungry years' is not only Neil's best song by far it represents the pinnacle of song craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album of his later work, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
The mature Sedaka has much more subtlety than the early works, great though they were. This is an excellent companion to the "Best of" album which covers the early years with only one duplicated track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sedaka gold., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
Have seen the great man many times and this album contains his greatest songs. An entertainer par excellence who has had an undoubted impact on popular music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
One of the best singer / songwriters ever. Great music from mostly the 70's. Really will take you back to a great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars greatest hits, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
If you like Neil Sedaka you will love this compilation of his best loves songs.
Smashing value, go and order it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Laughter & Tears [Reissue] (Audio CD)
Had this album on vinal when it was first released,lost it somewhere,so was glad to get it on CD and the memories came flooding back,love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Laughter & Tears [Reissue]
Laughter & Tears [Reissue] by Neil Sedaka (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews